We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal at a greater price”
Review of Froggy's French Bistro - CLOSED

Froggy's French Bistro
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
lisbonne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great meal at a greater price”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I agree with some comments on T.A, the restaurant wasn't so easy to find. My advise is not to trust the google map but the one from froggy's web site. My familly of four arrived around 7.30, the place wasn't too busy. 3 tables outside and 2 tables in the air conditionned room in which we had our dinner ( A small cosy room, decorated with old thai puppets very cut) . We were agreably surprised by the warm welcome of the french owner and chef. We took the 300 b menu with a selection of ten appetizers and ten main courses to choose from and desserts . Each of us ordered a different dish shared among us. Gratined mussel, warm livers salad, pate du chef and Salmon cake with a garlic lemon cold sauce, delicious.. We licked the plates. Beef bourguignon, duck leg confit, seafood casserole and french parmentier was excellent. Came the desserts two cream brully warm on the outside cold on the inside, a delight as were the meringue royal and the crepe susette. Water for the kids two glasses of wine and the total bill was 1420 b, the cheapest restaurant bill and the best meals since we arrived in pattaya. We came back for our last night, the meals were as great so was the service. We may not come back to pattaya which is not a family destination as advertised by the Thai O.T but we'll recommend froggy to our friends.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chantal o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ravenglass, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great evening”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A table of 17 hungry and thirsty golfers. The owner and chef gave us two tables in the inside A/C dinning room which was perfect after a day on the course. We ordered of few local beers and water then the house red wine by the carafe to go with the 300 b set menu that included an appetizer, main course and dessert that you could choose from a list of ten delicious "entree" et "plat chaud" . everyone was served at the same time which didn't happen in the most restaurant we went prior the Froggy. All plates were nicely presented, everyone enjoyed their starter. the main course came as nice and tasty. Extra potatoes which were sauteed and delicious without extra charge. thank you again chef. the dessert was as good, I loved the mering royal. The total bill came to less than 700 b per person. We came back the following week.I recommend this restaurant for his food, service and warm welcome from the friendly owner and chef.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rayong
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nice evening”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Great food, nice atmosphere choice of outside and inside dinning with A/C. I had the salmon cake with aioli lemon sauce, then the coq au vin cooked to perfection to finish with a delicious meringue royal with a home made raspberry sauce. My guest started with the rock lobster special nicely done with shallots and creamy white wine followed by the crepe suzette. The wines prices are very reasonable we went for the carafe of rose de Provence only 450 b which was very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rayan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Four of us ate here after reading some great reviews but were not overly impressed. The 3-course meal at 300B offered many options but there were problems with nearly every course. My starter had undercooked potatoes, the main course beef bourgignon had a congealing sauce and too much salt on the accompaniments, the dessert was a tasty chocolate tart but the raspberry coulis was way too sharp. I don't think a top-class 3-course meal can be prepared at that price - corners have to be cut. My friends ranged in opinion from reasonably satisfied to totally dissatisfied. The French owner seemed initially very friendly but it soon became tiresome when he kept reappearing at the table every five minutes. I would give this restaurant an average rating considering the relatively low prices, but I think that might be a bit generous and I won't be returning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
230 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Great french restaurant in Pattaya”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We have been here now many times and everytime we enjoy it very much. The menu has been changed some now and some new great dishes has been added. There is also now for a while an airco dining room, for quests who donot like to sit outside. Giles,the owner/cook is an easygoing very friendly guy who makes you feel at home. He is an excellent cook and enjoys his job. Wines and the three course menu are still a bargain for the excellent quality you get.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lentravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Froggy's French Bistro also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing