We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place at a good price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jomtien-Morningstar Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 571 Pattaya B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My wife are senior citizens from Canada and just returned from spending three days at the Morningstar Guesthouse in Jomtien Beach, Thailand, which is just south of Pattaya. This is our second stay there. We plan to stay there again if we return to that area of Thailand in the future.

The guesthouse is a little hard to find, but worth the effort of looking. It is located on a side street just north of Soi 12 and is roughly 250-300 meters from the beach. To find it, take the side street on the north side of the Sarita Hotel, which is on Jomtien Road. Go some 200-250 meters, turn left, and it is on the right hand side.

The beach, which is across the street from the Sarita Hotel, is clean and has not been crowded the times we have been here. Beach chairs with an umbrella overhead run 30 baht (about $1.05 US) per person per day. Beach towels are available at the guesthouse.

The husband and wife owners of the hotel are very friendly and helpful. The husband is Thai, but lived in the US for many years and is fluent in English. His wife is Chinese (or Chinese Thai) and also speaks English well.

The hotel is well kept and spic-n-span clean. It has no lift, so access to all floors above the first is by stairs that are not the easiest to climb, but provide good exercise. It is on a quiet side street, and the times we were there, the residents were very quiet.

The hotel is about a 20 minute walk from the busiest part of Jomtien Beach, but numerous songtau taxis (small pickup trucks with a cap over the top) are available for only 10 baht (about 35 cents US) per person. Many songtaus go on to Pattaya for those who are interested. Hotel doors are locked at 10:00 p.m. but guests are given a keypad card and can enter whenever they wish.

If you are looking for a good inexpensive place to stay at a reasonable price, check out the Morningstar Guesthouse. We are happy to recommend it.

Ron & Anne

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RONALD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 141 reviews

Reviewed April 6, 2013

Very Clean, friendly owner and staff, huge and comfortable room, free coffe and tea 24/7 at the lobby. Very close to the beach (100mt). You can also rent a scooter for 200 bahts a day to go anywhere you want in Pattaya! If I will come back in Pattaya I will definitely come back back here! Great job Mr. Suvat and Team.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank albertomDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I found this place through the internet and it met all my expectations of a guest house. The rooms were clean and big with attached bathrooms.
The location was very good, just near the beach.
A special mention - the owner Asuwat, was very helpful and welcoming.
There was free tea, coffee and hot water ( free bottles in the room and lobby). Also the internet speed was very good. No disturbing noises from the other rooms or outside.
Added bonus- Asuwat helped me pick up some Thai words, and yes he is fluent in English!!!
The only thing I missed there was early morning breakfast- but Asuwat helped me find a place for that too.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Santosh30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Found this nice guesthouse by shear coincidence. We stayed for nearly two weeks - and this was a very pleasant stay. Big clean well quipped rooms with lots of closets, full sized refrigerator and a safety box.Everything looks almost like new and unused, private balcony and a superb staff. The view from the balcony is not great looking into other buildings, but what can you expect when it is located in a moo (soi). Short distance to the beach and several restaurants and public transport. Free coffee and tea in the lobby. Also two computers connected to internet. The sleeping quality is great with no disturbing noise from the busy main street along the beach. The staff was all the time cheerful and extremely service minded which gave the place a friendly and homely atmosphere. If I ever go back to Jomptien I know where to stay!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sverre Magnus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Great Guesthouse in Jomtien. I was three weeks in this place. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was good size and very clean. In the lobby there was free tea and coffee every day. Also free and fast internet.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pekka S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Very frendly hosts. You feel like special guest and never cause any trouble to thé staff though you ask for this and that all the time. Close to the Beach and restaurants. A place I would like to visit again. Though accident åt the beach causted lots of trouble Morningstar Guest House helped us with everything we asked for.

Room Tip: Strength and kondition accuires för living at floor 4 cause ofta steep staircase..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrsGunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We were two nights there. First booked one night and then another one. Staff moved our things to another rooms, which was bigger than the first room! They care about condition of the rooms. Everywhere is clean, very clean. Staff were very friendly and you can trust on them. Location was good and peaceful. You can walk to mainroad and take taxi to other places. Many restaurants near of this guest house.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissBogey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.2 mi away
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
D Varee Jomtien Beach, Pattaya
#3 of 18 in Jomtien Beach
683 reviews
1.8 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 458 in Pattaya
1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Jomtien Palace
Grand Jomtien Palace
#111 of 458 in Pattaya
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Zing Resort & Spa
Zing Resort & Spa
#32 of 458 in Pattaya
468 reviews
0.9 mi away
Natural Park Resort
Natural Park Resort
#78 of 458 in Pattaya
166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jomtien Palm Beach Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jomtien-Morningstar Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jomtien-Morningstar Guesthouse

Address: 279/229-231 Somprasong Plaza, Jomtien Beach | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in Pattaya
Price Range: $25 - $34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Jomtien-Morningstar Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Jomtien Morningstar Guesthouse located on a calm side road 50m before Jomtien Soi 12 and approximately 150m from Jomtien beach road. We provide 23 deluxe rooms. For family traveler with kids or group traveling who would like to stay connect together but still individual, there are connecting rooms available to apply your requirement. Every room offer an ambience of elegant which emphasizes on comfortable and is now one of the best accommodation in the area where it located. The guesthouse also provides a large deluxe ground floor room which is comfortable and very suitable for those who have health problem or eldery. We would like to invite and welcome you to the quality of holiday staying experience at an affordable and reasonable prices. Your pleasantness is our goal. We look forward to welcoming you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Jomtien-Morningstar Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing