We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but....”
Review of Ruen Thai

Ruen Thai
Ranked #145 of 957 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good but....”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This restaurant was very difficult to find, but worth the effort. Food was great, the show was ok, clean toilets, but. The service was absolutely appalling. We had entire courses missed out Hal the food delivered then a long wait for the rest, and an incorrect bill. Wouldn't have minded if we'd had an apology, but nothing. That said, we ate there three times as the food is so good, just take a sense of humour with you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WildwomanLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    92
    65
    25
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
380 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A tourist trap!”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

As a resident in Thailand for over 2 years, I am fond of Thai food and as I was on business in Pattaya, last night I asked the hotel where I was staying what was the best Thai Restaurant in the city. I was directed to Ruen Thai and this place is for Tourists.
The service is terrible, the waitresses never smile and behave as they are making you a favour to serve you.
I ordered a very simple Thai dish. Fried chicken with cashewnuts which was completely bland and maybe 5 pieces of chicken consisting more of skin and cartilage than meat! The coconut ice cream was very good though I have to admit but overall a big letdown. The place was busy with tourists, mostly russians, koreans etc... There is a live thai dance show which I did not wait to see perform as the place is truly for tourists. Give it a miss!! that is if you know about thai food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TequilaPepita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Food excellent but the service?”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were given details of this restaurant by the holiday rep but glad we tried it early in the holiday so we could go again. Situated just off second street it can be hard to find, there is a sign on Second street but the map we were given was not the greatest however it is basically across the road from the Marriott down a little side street. I would describe it as an oasis and head and shoulders above the setting of other restaurants. The food is excellent and easily the best we encountered in Pattaya, good spicy curries and tasty seafood. Beer was reasonably priced at B100 for a large Chang and the food not too expensive for a restaurant of its type. The show was decent although we have seen better in Bangkok, certainly they are well coordinated and it adds to the quality of your visit. It is a busy restaurant and one we visited a few times. It's only downfall is the service. Our first visit we ordered appetisers and mains each, the mains arrived, well only one main without having had the appetiser. When pointing it out they brought back one appetiser and not the other. We got it right in the end but didn't let it put us off and went back. There were more service errors but the food and the setting meant we put up with the service. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelMoose_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyons, France
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service leaves a lot to be desired”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We went here as a party of 6 on St Valentines day and this is my personal review.

The restaurant itself is mainly open-air and is nicely laid out and down a small street just far enough away from the busy 2nd road. We had booked a table and were shown to it very quickly on our arrival. Menus were brought to our table and drink orders taken 5-10 minutes later.

Food orders were taken within a reasonable timescale and we waited. The food started to arrive some time later in a very fragmented manner which meant we couldn't start our meal as rice dishes arrived around 10 minutes after main dishes. This meant that food was almost cold by the time we started eating. One of the party ordered spare ribs and an eternity later a member of staff came to the table to say they had none left. He had to re-order and wait again.
the service staff seemed very inexperienced and were being led by the hand by the more experienced senior staff which slowed everything down.
The food was mediocre at best although the Irish coffee I had was excellent and worth the 240 baht it cost for the entertaining way it is made at the table side.

On the plus side, the traditional Thai dancers and musicians were very good and made the visit worthwhile.

To summarise:

Poor service, mediocre food, good entertainment. Prices were reasonable for such nice surroundings.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Traditional Thai”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We went their for dinner, and had such a lovely experiance. the setting seemed very traditional. They played tradional music live and live dancers. We really enjoyed our night here. Food as nice to but like all restaurants in Pattaya food comes when its cooked not in order. If you want a traditional experiance this is a must.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doonutt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Ruen Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing