We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lord, could the staff be any less interested...and the Thai dancing was tragic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruen Thai

Ruen Thai
Ranked #175 of 911 Restaurants in Pattaya
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Lord, could the staff be any less interested...and the Thai dancing was tragic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Ok so food was tourist fare and priced to the high end......no basic problems with that as that comes with the territory , but come on the staff could be somewhat enthused even if faking it. They could not be bothered and then when you pay and they bring the change the just hover despite 7% standard Thai service charge. They should take off given how awful they were. I would say just don't bother it is plain hokey and fine for Russians who seemed to think it was exotic judging the one's there ...but it was really not worth the visit

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Arsenal14_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    85
    59
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Agains one of the typical case at Pattaya!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Just expecting to have dinner at Thai ambient......too disipointed! Thai food name could be original...but not the taste and service! Price high above what it should be, and very poor service!

Helpful?
Thank mikeleong88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Give this a miss”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

Having visited here many times before on previous visits to Pattaya I decided to take some friends. The restaurant itself is very authentic with a nice Thai atmosphere and Thai dancing. However as we ordered our food it was noted by all that the staff were less than helpful, one of our party asked ' what would you recommend' it was almost like she just pointed to anything on the menu with no interest at all, our order was placed and 2 of our starters arrived which as far as flavor and taste goes they were quite nice, when the main meals arrived they were Luke warm at the best with the rice for some dishes arriving well before the meal, the overall service we received from the staff was very rude with none of the friendly service we have experienced every where else. Then just to make matters worse we then started to received meals we had not ordered. After speaking to the manager we paid for our drinks and the starters we had eaten and went to dine else where. I do remember this restaurant being good, unfortunately not any more .

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wonderwoman2198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

we ate hear twice in may food was good thai food and very resonable £22.00 for two with drinks
will go back in october.
stunning thai dancers. a great evening to be had

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank tcampbellbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“thai ambience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Restaurant in the center of Pattaya with an excellent selection of Thai food , fresh fish and seafood from the grill with a traditional Thai music and dance. Great atmosphere , very good quality food and service . The only small complaint is that the restaurant does not have air conditioning (fans nearly every table above ) and it is difficult for the hot days dine outside. If you have guests for the first time in Pattaya a great place for dinner .

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marko K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruen Thai also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Ruen Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing