We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel my 3 and 8-years old kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Ranked #12 of 466 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Location : nice and quieter part of pattaya, away from the infamous night life and flea markets. But there are sufficient alternative food options, a 24-hour convenience store and massages outside the hotel within walking distance.
Room : stayed in the deluxe family residence. Really big in terms of size with a huge balcony surrounding the living area n master bedroom. But decor is rather old.
Facilities : this is really the highlight of the hotel with lots of water slides for all ages, rock-wall and playground. My 3-years old boy jumped from a 4-metres "ciff" into the plunge pool! Kids room is quite pathetic so don't bother. One downside is the beach, disappointing in this aspect.
Service : a tad disappointing. We were quite shocked the waiters didn't quite understand English well. Breakfast buffet is decent and wide selection of restaurants. As hotel is usually quite packed, you can almost tell the staff are forcing a smile on their faces.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to families with children. As long as you don't expect a 5-star experience, you are ok.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MPLai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear MPLai,

You are right, it is nice and quiet in this part of Pattaya, and the hotel is just a short tuk tuk ride away from the more lively parts of town including markets and shopping malls.

The hotel is four years old and is the first truly themed hotel in Thailand. The 80 square meter deluxe family rooms are big enough to accommodate a family of four comfortably, and yes, we agree the balconies are huge and all rooms do face the ocean.

We are glad you mentioned our famous water park and other facilities. The Lost World theme includes an extensive water park with swimming pools and a children’s pool, lazy river (opens again on Friday June 28), waterslides, waterfalls and other aquatic activities. Children can enjoy the Kid’s Club and Daily activity program while teenage guests have a separate E-zone games and meeting area.

We are sorry that you felt the level of English of our wait staff was not adequate. We do provide our staff on site English classes which they enjoy going to.

We are glad you liked the variety of food & beverage options at our ten outlets but both management and staff were disappointed to read your comment about forced smiles. Remember, we are in the land of a thousand smiles, all genuine!

Thanks so much for your detailed review.

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,309)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,305 - 2,311 of 4,309 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just returned from a 2 week holiday with a group of 10 family members, we all had a lovely holiday. No complaints to be heard from any of us, Room was cleaned daily, even the beds changed daily if we wanted. Ice brought to your room when asked for, staff were very accomodating. always with a smile. Breakfast had a wide variety from cereal, boiled eggs to curry and rice, also a good choice of pastries, pancakes etc. The hotel is beautiful, the detail of work that has gone into it is something else. The waterpark is closed from 12 June to 27th for major work, which I think is understandable. I knew this before departure, it is on the hotels website also and letters posted in hotel. The waterpark consists of the lazy river where one can float on a big ring around, also has 2 slides. The men were actually working on it at daytime. don't be put off as you do not hear a noise from them. The swimming pool and infinity pool is always open. Access to the beach is down a few steps, lovely. The hotel is situated back from all the noise of the bars approx 5 minutes drive to Pattaya Beach Rd, where you will find malls, shops, restaurants,bars, etc. just jump on the baht bus. just at the hotel there are shops,marts restaurants also, up on the hotels main rd you will find all this too. The hotel has a Karaoke room but you have to pay hourly to use it, which I think is wrong. hotel does ot offer free Wi-fi, which they urgently need to change. As the little massage shop and cafe etc outside the hotel gives free wi-fi. All in all a lovely hotel, you have to try this hotel for yourself and don't Listen to previous reviews as honestly there are nothing to complain about. Exchange rate here was 43 .4 at asda. In bangkok airport 45.6 , on the street bureau exchange is 47.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank LondonMags40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 23, 2013

Dear LondonMags40,

We all really enjoyed reading your review and thank you for taking the time to provide a variety of perspective for readers. We have a dedicated team of nearly 700 staff that come to work in a magnificent environment ready to serve our guests everyday. All of them are true hospitality professionals and we are very proud of them.

Your comments about our location are spot on. You need to cross busy Beach Road from most hotels in Pattaya to get to the beach. Well, our own stretch of beach is right at our door step and you could say, part of our extensive water park. The Lazy River feature maintenance is progressing well and our Water Park will be back in full operation on June 28.

Your comments about wifi and the karaoke rooms are well noted and we appreciate the extra information on exchange rates.

We are glad you had a wonderful two week holiday with us and that everything you needed was catered for within the hotel. We will look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Kind regards

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked this hotel despite the horrible reputation of Pattaya exclusively because of the onsite water park and kid friendly amenities. We were not informed until check in that the entire water park - every water slide - would be closed for our entire stay. The hotel refused to do anything at all to make up for this. We and our kids were extremely disappointed. We would have left early, but we booked through Agoda and could not get a refund.

I addition, the restaurant service at breakfast was nonexistent. The room shower had no door/no privacy. I could go on and on...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mandie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Amanda M,

We do sincerely apologise that the Lazy River feature were unavailable during your stay. It is important for us to close some areas for maintenance at certain times of year to keep our product at its best. While some of the features are closed all other water park facilities are still operational as usual, including the main pool with the jumping point and the kid’s pool, as well as the infinity pool and the lap pool. And of course there is always the beach, right at our door step. The Lazy River reopens on June 28.

In preparing for the closure of our Lazy River feature, a letter was sent to all our business partners including your travel agent, Agoda. They have advised us that an important notice is posted at the booking stage, and it is impossible to book without acknowledging that this notice has been read and understood. If Agoda have not passed this information on to you, we cannot be held responsible for that. In addition, our website and all correspondence has detailed the closure for some months. Agoda really needs to provide you with a reason why you were not informed and we will be following this up with them. Our apologies on their behalf.

Thanks again for your review.

Kind regards

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was told that the water park will be closed from 12 to 27 june. Is is not accepted by any customer planning to stay in the hotel and booked before a 2 month in advace and suddenly discover that the water park will be closed. And if what they replay that they inform the agents and but all the blames on them I will dis agree with that becouse I have checked the hotel site and other booking sites and there where no massege written. There for any decient and respectfully hotel who care about his reputation will compensate his customers specially with kids becouse the only reason I booked it is for my kids. Finally I hope that what was written is not true and I hope that a clarification will be writen by the hotels top management. And please keep my kids good memories about the hotel and its water park.

Stayed: June 2013
2  Thank bis74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Dear bis74,

Our water park is open and has always been open. The lazy river feature of the water park which includes waterslides and aquaplay had to be closed for a period in June for maintenance. It is regrettable that this has incovenienced our guests and we are truly sorry for this, however we do need to keep the hotel in top condition and closing certain areas during the low season is a must.

We did communicate this closure to all of our business partners and to anyone that booked to the hotel directly. We did this more than two months before the closure. There was also information posted on the front page of our website. As well as this, we installed many signs around the hotel and information letters were given to all guests on arrival.

Once again our sincere apologies.

Kind regards

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is a very disappointed hotel and totally don't worth 5 stars (the 3 star hotel that i stayed in Pattaya just now has a much better service that this one).

First, I was informed by the front desk during check-in that most of the water facilities (lazy river, waterslides etc) are under maintenance from 12 Jun to 27 Jun. I selected this hotel solely for the water facilities and they said they have informed all the agents on this maintenance. My agent have been so helpful throughout all my booking and i doubt this message from the front desk.

Second, the front desk also mentioned that inter-connected rooms is not guaranteed and not available. I travel with 2 young kids and request connected rooms start from beginning. Also i paid a higher charge for the connected room type (Deluxe Family) and I was extremely upset for this. I only able to get the connected rooms after several rounds negotiation and still waiting the rooms in the lobby right now for 2 hours waiting time with my kids and family.

Third, the front desk officer (her name is Boom) give me very rude attitude and i don't think a hotel guest is deserved such a bad service.

Not talking about a 5 star hotel, this is totally unacceptable for any hotel service like this. This is a hotel that no worth to try for any guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Fayemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Fayemom,

Thank you for your review.

We have investigated the points you have raised and would like to explain.

We do sincerely apologise that the Lazy River feature which includes waterslides and aquaplay were unavailable during your stay. It is simply a must that we close some areas for maintenance as we strive to provide the very best facilities.

In preparing for this closure, a letter was sent to all our business partners including your travel agent. I do have a copy of the letter sent to them and their acknowledgement! They have not passed this information on to you and we cannot be held responsible for that. In addition, our website and all correspondence has detailed the closure for some months.

Regrettably, but for very good reason, some of the features are closed however all other water park facilities are still operational as usual, including the main pool with the jumping point and the kid’s pool, as well as the infinity pool and the lap pool. And of course there is always the beach, right at our door step.

Regarding your room reservation, your agent booked a two deluxe rooms with a request for interconnecting. Unfortunately this was not possible for the category you booked due to high occupancy. We did however upgrade you free of charge to our Premium Deluxe category and you agreed to wait for the interconnecting. You were also offered a complimentary late checkout in an effort to appease you.

We take it personally that you feel our service was so poor and will use your comments to work with the team to ensure we improve.

Thanks again for your review

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

This was a good photo presentation hotel. I was excited on my arrival. However, staffs didnt friendly and provide necessary information eg. pool towel card (to be used to exchange for towel at pool) until I asked for. Front office staffs are not helpful at all since I asked for an special privilege for Centara Platinum member, he told me to walk to the beachfront restaurant and ask their staff by myself. I had to ask him to call the restaurant for me.
Cleanliness were poor all over public area.
SECURITY were UNSAFE, it was actually my mistake to enter the wrong room BUT, my room key card CAN use to access ANOTHER ROOM!!!!!!
Incomparable with same rank hotel near by.

Room Tip: Make sure no other room key card can access to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Chananant J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2013

Dear Kuhn Chananant,

The team are very disappointed to read your review. We are sorry that our front office team did not provide you with details of necessary information when you checked in and that you were not given an appropriate response regarding our Platinum card privileges.

Your comment regarding security and safety is of great concern. As an international five star hotel we do take the safety and security of our guests very seriously and as such we have thoroughly tested our key lock system and checked with the supplier of the system. It is impossible for a guest room key to access multiple rooms, the key can only access the room registered to the guest.

We would have liked to have discussed the above with you personally while you were here, however we will call you in an effort to put your mind at ease.

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just come back on June 9-10.
First time with the Centara hotel, Nice hotel with good location, view and facilities. Baby cot provided by hotel is very good with the little baby useful cream.(Like it!).
Pool and slider is so much fun and with my son(3 yrs).
Seafood at Oasis restaurant on Sat night is fantastic.
Only problem on Sat evening that pool have to be close early around 6.00 PM. Staffs told us that pool need to be clean but we know that it was closed for special guest(too bad).
Sunday early morning(5.30 AM), we get knocking the door by mistake.

but overall is good, and we will go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pisite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamroom, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Dear Pisite,

Thanks for your review and we hope you have told your son that you will be back!

Our Lost World theme includes an extensive water park with swimming pools and a children’s pool, lazy river, water slides, waterfalls and other aquatic activities. Due to the nature of the Lazy River and water slide facilities they need to close a little earlier at 6.00pm before it gets dark, but our other pools are open until 8.00pm. Sorry, but not even special guests will be allowed to use the Lazy River and Water Slides after 6.00pm. Besides, all of our guests are special!

Thanks again.

Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#15 of 466 in Pattaya
2,501 reviews
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
0.2 mi away
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
Pullman Pattaya Hotel G
#17 of 466 in Pattaya
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#10 of 466 in Pattaya
1,688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#22 of 466 in Pattaya
2,214 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#7 of 466 in Pattaya
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya

Address: 277 Moo 5 | Naklua, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#8 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#9 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#11 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#12 Business Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range: $129 - $1,088 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is an exciting Lost World themed resort set on Wong Amat Beach, is a destination in its own right. As a retreat for couples or as a fun place for families, guests will enjoy the resort’s 555 spacious ocean-facing rooms, suites and family residences (from 42 to 326 square metres), eight dining venues including COAST Beach Club & Bistro, an award-winning spa, and a gigantic water park. The resort has fun, action and relaxation for everyone. The Lost World, at the very heart of the resort, is a world to explore: a freeform swimming pool, a meandering lazy river, 12 water slides, an adult’s pool, Jacuzzis, cliff jumping platforms, and Monson Island, a children’s water playground featuring water guns, miniature geysers, and jumbo water buckets. Children can also enjoy two kids clubs, a club lounge dedicated to families, and a plethora of activities. The 230-metre beach is perfect for water sports, such as sailing and kayaking, and a PADI dive centre is also available. If this sounds too intense, Spa Cenvaree is a true refuge for the senses and has 24 treatment rooms and a yoga and meditation pavilion. Other facilities include a state-of-the-art fitness centre, two tennis courts and rock climbing facilities. A shuttle service connects to Central Festival Pattaya shopping and lifestyle centre on an hourly basis and Bangkok’s Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 90 minutes away from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing