We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great for (family) vacation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort
Ranked #11 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great for (family) vacation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Massive complex with great atmosphere. Stayed there 6 nights in Nov 2012 with my family (2+2) together with our friends (also 2+2). All our kids are 2-5 years and they loved the place and so did we. Excellent facilities to do sports, swim (pools are great) and eat.
Also rooms were good, nothing special but nice and clean. Breakfast was very good with wide selection.
The location of the hotel is quite good as well, it's close to the city, but still having some distance to "Pattaya downtown" which is good with family travelers. However, it is easy to take a tour in downtown as well (appr. 15 min tuk-tuk to Central Festival Shopping mall).

Our only complaint was that there were soooo many russians with their nice not-queuing-habits. However, this seems to be the case everywhere nowadays...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Petteri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,701 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,250
    956
    305
    100
    90
See reviews for
2,208
641
46
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (637)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in November 2012. I travelled by myself and felt quite comfortable in the hotel and surrounding areas (I didn't venture out much in the evenings, mostly just during the day). The hotel is lovely. My room was very large, with a very big double bed and chaize longue. The balcony overlooked the pool and sea (some websites say all rooms have sea views but some companies seem to charge more for a sea view - as far as I could tell, all the rooms would have a sea view) and had two very comfortable sunloungers.

The bathroom was separated from the main room area by a curtain, with the shower being behind a wall. This was fine for me but might be a bit awkward if you are sharing a room with teenagers for example. The furnishings in the room were lovely, the decor was very nice and the towels and sheets were changed more often than necessary.

There was a fruit bowl in the room, which was refilled each day. Local bottled water is provided for free in your room, along with branded water which you have to pay for and is very expensive. I found the local bottled water tasted a bit strange so tended to buy water from the shop just opposite the hotel where it was much cheaper.

The pool areas are very nice. There is a lazy river and several sections of the main pool. There is also a lap pool for adults only, although it is situated quite close to the children's water slides, so wasn't necessarily completely quiet. There is an infinity pool, which overlooks the beach but I was never able to get a sunbed in that area (which is also adults only) as the beds were often reserved (but not always occupied). The hotel guide in the rooms says you're not allowed to reserve beds but people often did. I was still always able to find a bed in a nice spot, but it would be better if the hotel enforced their own rules. There was also some smoking in the non-smoking areas, such as near the pool bars, but this wasn't a huge problem.

My room was quite close to the lifts but I didn't experience any noise from other guests. I was on the fifth floor which was fine - great views but not too high. There were only two lifts for each half of the hotel but you never had to wait too long for them.

The food was nice, lots of choice for breakfast. I ate all of my evening meals in the hotel and found the restaurants to be very good but expensive and often very quiet. I think a lot of the guests went into town to eat. The food at the Italian was lovely and the resident chef was attentive and friendly. There was also a steak house and an asian buffet (with very attentive staff, although on the first night I went there the staff nearly outnumbered the guests so I guess they can be attentive!). To give an idea of price, the asian restaurant was an all you can eat buffet for around 700 baht, which was about £15. You went up to choose what you wanted and they cooked it fresh for you - you could ask for a certain dish to have an ingredient left out, or something extra put in - whatever you wanted - and the portions were generous. The drinks weren't cheap but the cocktails were nice - they often served them up in a coconut or pineapple too, which was a nice touch.

The gym is well equipped - you can even hire a pair of trainers! I visited the hotel spa three times and it was really nice and relaxing. It wasn't cheap but I also tried the local Savannah spa, which was much cheaper and the difference in quality was clearly apparent. (At the Savannah the therapist didn't speak any English at all so it was hard to discuss the treatments - you pointed at what you wanted on the price list.)

The beach is quite small and there are people selling things, although if you lay back on your sunbed or stick your nose in a book they don't bother you that much. I didn't notice any bad smells or rubbish on the beach, although I didn't go into the sea.

The weather was a little disappointing. It was always very hot, even late at night but we had a fair amount of rain an cloud, which stopped you from lying by the pool.

There wasn't any evening entertainment, apart from a couple of dancers who did a 10 minute mini show in reception in the early evening. There was a sports bar and karaoke rooms, which I didn't use.

The bar behind the lobby was a nice place to sit on an evening, with nice cocktails and a lovely view out towards the sea.

Pattaya itself is very built up and touristy - this is not the place to go for seclusion and natural beauty. You can get taxis or "baht buses" into the town centre - the baht buses are excellent value. I walked down the sea front road one day and it took a little over an hour from the hotel to the middle of the resort, at a slow pace.

There are a few big shopping malls, with a mix of brands and market stalls. Walking Street is the home of the "go-go" bars. I wasn't going to go there on my own but was told it was ok to do so. I ended up going with a lady I met at the hotel and we felt quite comfortable walking down the road amongst the girls trying to get you to go into their bars - I guess two single women probably aren't their target market! There were groups of tourists and families there at around 9pm, so it's not seen as a place to be avoided.

I went on trips to an elephant park, the tiger zoo (you can hold a baby tiger, which was amazing, but I'm not certain of how good the animal welfare is on the whole), the botanical gardens (which were beautiful but I'm not sure why they felt the need to put plastic animals in the lovely gardens - the giant wooly mammoths didn't really add much in my opinion), Bangkok (lots of buddhas!) and the sanctuary of truth (an amazing wooden carved building, which is beautiful but is not a place of calm reflection as advertised - you have to wear a hard hat and there is music played through speakers and people working on the building with power tools). I also went to the Tiffany lady boy show, which was entertaining in it's own way!

There were a couple of places by the pool where you could get food at lunchtime an they ha a very good range of food, although again, it wasn't cheap. The hotel also has a small shop for crisps, drinks etc, plus a couple of shops selling clothes and jewellery.

As I was planning on eating in the hotel restaurants, I took advantage of the "baht bonanza" whereby you pay a set amount at the start of your holiday and the hotel add extra to your balance. The more you pay in the more the hotel add as a bonus. This saved me quite a lot of money - you can spend your balance in the bars, restaurants and spa - but make sure you do want to eat in the hotel or visit their spa before committing (but note you have to make your payment within a day or so of arrival, so don't be too slow).

The hotel internet seemed expensive but there were some internet and phone places on the main street nearby (10 minutes walk) which were very cheap, so I would suggest using those instead.

I didn't see many insects. I usually get bitten a lot on foreign holidays and I did get a few bites in Thailand but they didn't seem to itch too much. I saw a lizard one evening but if insects and creepy crawlies bother you, I don't think there is much to worry about here.

Overall, I would recommend this hotel, as long as you're not expecting quiet, unspoilt Thai beauty. It's a good base for trips, is not too far from Bangkok (my airort transfer took less than the advertised two hours) and the hotel was lovely - spotlessly clean, well maintained and with excellent staff.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
14 Thank Amanda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloret de Mar, España
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2012

The hotel is ok, the problem was that my expectatives were more high, I've been in other Centara Grand and I had a great memory of them. This one was too big, but the rooms weren't so big and luxurios as it should be for the big amount of money that cost.

The swimming pools were great but the beach was very dirty and smells so bad...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Xivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamrooms, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Xivas,

Thank you for your time to comment on tripadvisor.com on your stay in our resort. Your comments now been shared with our management and department heads concerned and will be a valuable contribution to help us to continuously improve and maintain the quality of services and comfort, we provide to our guests.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We first stayed here 2 years back when near new and amenities, service was great. Returning for 3 nights recently, rather sad to see that room & resort maintenance have all slipped backwards. In addition, the hotel now seems to be setup to cater for the mass market tourist segment. I still recommend the place to those with kids - the water park & pools are fantastic. Negatives were- not enough towels for poolside guests, kids games room needs an update, some games not even working. In room, disappointing to find bathrobes so old they had holes, emergency torches corroded, loose taps, electrical switches taped up as a fix. Not good enough for the price being paid here! Staff trying their best and always polite.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank dmclean1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamrooms, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear dmclean1,

Thank you for your time to comment on tripadvisor.com on your stay in our resort. Your comments about our services and facilities have been shared with our management and department heads concerned and will be a valuable contribution to help us to continuously improve and maintain the quality of services and comfort, we provide to our guests.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

The hotel has a beautiful sunset scene at their doorstep & sunrise is on the other side. It has a decent water recreation for relaxing & for children. A short 5-10 minutes walk you reached a street for alternative street food. Try to get a good deal because everything else, you need to pay for it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adiwsusanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were only able to check in after 3pm. There were no welcoming exotic fruit basket in the room. We paid for 3 persons, but were half treated like as if we snuck the third one in.

This was the 'Club Mirage' class rooms! The reception scolded us because we were, according to them supposed to check out at noon. But when we did check in, they told us that we could check out at one.

Besides that the key card didn't work after 12.....talking about wanted to telax in a 5 Star Hotel......does really upset our family. Their only compensation was, we could check out at two......after all the hustle we had to check out at two anyways.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Treborikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eamrooms, Manager at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Dear Treborikki,

Thank you for your time to comment on tripadvisor.com on your stay in our resort. Your comments about our services and facilities have now been shared with our management and department heads concerned and will be a valuable contribution to help us to continuously improve and maintain the quality of services and comfort, we provide to our guests.

We look forward welcoming you soon again at Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort.

Cordially,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
72 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

It my second time in Pattaya

In Pattaya we flew to celebrate the birthday day of my girlfriend and to the wedding ceremony of my friends , in the low season and were afraid to frequent rains. The rains have been, but only 1.5 - 2 hours. At night or after six in the evening.

Hotel.
The hotel is located near the center.
It is the only such hotel with private beach and a huge water attractions park in Pattaya.

Really 5***** level and huge territory.
Large rooms. The style of the hotel reminiscent a lost world in South America. with Thai-style rooms. All with a view of the bay.

The rooms are spacious and bright. Balcony with deck chairs and tables.
Good breakfast with a choice of European and Thai cuisine.

Special words about the water park and spa.
Many of pools, waterfalls, a lazy river. While the hotel is very big, you can simply find free sunbeds and umbrellas at the pool and on the beach.

Wonderful time in Pattaya.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vladislav K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
2.8 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
4.1 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#3 of 441 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#18 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
Royal Cliff Beach Hotel
#19 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,033 reviews
3.0 mi away
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
Royal Cliff Grand Hotel
#10 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 441 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort

Property: Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort
Address: 277 Moo 5 | Naklua Subdistrict, Pattaya 20150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#7 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#10 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#10 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
#13 Business Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 555
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is located on Wong Amat Beach & Naklua Beach, North Pattaya, and is actually built on the original beach front land of the former Central Wong Amat Beach Resort.Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is a 5-star beach resort designed to be the first truly themed hotel in Thailand, this stunning 18-story property features 555 rooms and suites, all facing the ocean. Unlike other hotels & resorts in Pattaya, Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is the only 5-star themed resort that has a direct beach access to the stretch of 230 meters of white sand beach complete with an extensive beachfront water park.This unique and exciting Lost World themed hotel is a true destination in its own right and will offer several specialty restaurants, a trendy bar, Asian restaurant, all day dining, large and versatile convention and meeting facilities, SPA Cenvaree, and a great variety of facilities for all members of the family including several swimming pools and water play areas in the exciting water park.The Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya is set to become one of Thailand’s most talked about resort hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Fastbooking, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing