We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality
Ranked #186 of 445 Hotels in Pattaya
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“bad experience”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I spent just a few days in Pattaya for business.
I don't like Pattaya at all, but this hotel was even the worse experience I could have in staying in Pattaya.
Bad location, bad service, old structure, breakfast was uneatable.
Any extra service had to be paid cash! And they charged 5% for credit cards... any!
Hope Tripadvisor will reconsider the Certificate of Excellence given on 2012!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vincenzo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear Mr. Vincenzo Dubla,
With Reference to the comments and feedback please note that the hotel has gone to a complete refurbishment taking into consideration of the concept of maintaining the Thai traditional concept which made may have given you the impression of “Old Structure” as many of our repeated guest has loved it. 2. Reference to the Credit card charges it is a standard policy to charge 3% and not 5 % as mentioned as request was from you for transportation by taxi to airport and advised by our front desk staff which can be paid by cash or credit card and the charges which will be levied as it is not part of the Hotel as the Tour Counter is outsourced.
Once again, please accept our sincere apology on the unpleasant incident.We look forward to welcoming you back to Citin Garden Resort again.
Very truly yours,
Sathian P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    149
    68
    26
    26
See reviews for
94
113
39
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Samutsakhon
1 review
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Me and my colleagues stayed at their Penthouse. Wow! It is so good. Nice and clean rooms, bathrooms, kitchen/dining and Sala.

Very courteous and nice staff especially Pang and Nam at the reception. They are so cheerful and friendly.

Room service is very good. We ordered food and requested towels/additional blankets and pillows, and it was delivered to our room immediately.

Nice job! keep it up!

Definitely this is our favorite place to stay in Pattaya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rinna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Khun Rinna C,
Thank you very much for your time to write and sharing your experience during your stay at Citin Garden Resort.
As a well traveled guest, your comments are valuable in helping us to maintain a high level of service and ensure that your expectations are met each visit. On this occasion, we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our Penthouse Suite included bathrooms, kitchen/dining and Sala.Your kind compliments will be shared to our valuable staffs who will appreciate the recognition that you have given and will always be delighted to be of your service.
We certainly hope that your future plans to Pattaya will include Citin Garden Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.
Warm regards,
Sathian P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloocan, Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here at Citin, given that its away from the busy area of Pattaya. Service was very good, staff were friendly. They also provide shuttle for guest to the Beach/Restaurant/Mall area on an hourly basis. Overall this is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Mr. James T.
Thank you very much for your time to write and sharing your experience during your stay at Citin Garden Resort.
Your kind compliments will be shared to our valuable staffs who will appreciate the recognition that you have given and will always be delighted to be of your service.
We certainly hope that your future plans to Pattaya will include Citin Garden Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality
Thank you once again for your taking the time for posting the reviews.
Yours sincerely,
Sathian P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and it was the worst hotel I've ever been to... room was smelling so much, the staff is not at all cooperative... the property is small and the pool is like a dirty duck pond.... food I can't even comment on it. I called for room service for which they charged me 150baht extra just because the person came to my room. please don't even think of booking this hotel.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DelhiBaweja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write and sharing your experience during you’re stayed at Citin Garden Resort last November 2011. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced last November 2011, we do appreciate your time and effort in review. At Citin Garden Resort, we take pride in ensuring our customer’s satisfaction. Unfortunately, we did not meet your—or our own—expectations. Upon through review of the situation we will take immediate actions and at Citin Garden Resort we are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our customers deserve the very best.
Yours sincerely,
Sathian P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A flying Kiwi
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I enjoyed my stay here. Although my room didn't face the pool, I think that is a good thing. The pool area and the resturant below can get noisy in the morning.

room was huge, bed was nice but I like a bigger pillow. Room was serviced daily, 2 free drinks of water and enough room to put your items in too. They will empty the fridge on request.
There is a tea/coffee making area as well. I had free wifi and it worked all the time.

I enjoyed the buffet breakfast which was part of the room rate. I didn't enjoy the wasps that like to hang around the spreads. I filled up on breakfast and it would last all day. I also like the cocktails and would have liked them more if they had happy hour!

Service was great and you can order -note order not expect, a Tuk Tuk from the hotel on the hour. What I couldn't figure out is why the Hotel just didn't give you 20Baht and let you get your own from the street. Hotel has to pay 150baht and I was the only person in it.

My only down point was the pool tiles - all the grout has come away from between the tiles, which meant sitting on the steps was done carefully esp when getting off the steps.

There were 'visitors' which meant one noisy night/morning/afternoon for me but that only happend once.

Room Tip: I had my A/c serviced and then ran it on low. back side of the hotel gets sun and has a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for yourtime to write and sharing your experience during your stay at Citin Garden Resort,we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our overall services included room and our Free WI FI except noisy in the morning and we would like to recommend city view room which cozy and quiet for your next trip . Your comments on Tuk Tuk service during that time was unfortunately had broken down as alternative for temporary measures we had to order local taxi for the services but we have now a 12seaters van providing the same service.
Your kind compliments will be shared to our valuable staffs who will appreciate the recognition that you have given and will always be delighted to be of your service. We certainly hope that your future plans to Pattaya will include Citin Garden Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.
Warmest regards,
Sathian P
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world nomad
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel has a potential but some things could definitely be improved.
a. The rooms we got were smelling badly of mold.
b. The WiFi most of the time did not work.
c. We ordered room with city view which meant a view to the next building which was not very clean. The rooms facing the pool are much better.
d. The rooms facing the building have a balcony that is useless space since they do not have chair and a table so actual room size is smaller.
e. In the menu the breakfast included yogurt and cereals. We did not get none of that (I asked for yogurt and it was not available). There could be much more fruits as we got only pineaple and watermelon.
f. We like walking bare foot and our legs got so black so I assume the corridors are not cleaned often.
g. I asked for a map of Pattaya but it was available only in Russian.

As we were disappointed we complained and got 10% discount so at least the hotel took responsibility which is good.
On the good side the hotel staff were nice. the pool and the gardens are nice and peaceful. The location which is a bit far from the noisy beach was good for us. The beds were huge and the room was nice,

Room Tip: only take rooms facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyNomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write and sharing your experience during you’re stayed at Citin Garden Resort. We are sorry to have learned of the regrettable service regarding room , WIFI and breakfast which to us serious and rest ensured that we rectify with immediate affect with all concern. Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointments.
Your feedbacks have been most valuable and informative to immediate improvement for guest service standards and to ensure that such mistakes will not occurred again in the future.
Once again, please accept our apology on unpleasant incident and we would like to recommend you to book for Pool View Room.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Citin Garden Resort again.
Very truly yours,
Sathian P.
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at the Citin Garden Resort for five nights and enjoyed a relaxing and very comfortable stay. The hotel is largely well maintained and attractive and is surrounded by a relatively small, yet very well manicured, garden. The hotel is let down slightly by its elevator- it looks somewhat beaten up, the doors seem to barely move and the whole thing clanks while in operation. A minor detail yet I found myself opting for the stairs just in case!

The room was of a good size (spacious yet cosy), simply yet tastefully decorated and was in a good state of cleanliness upon arrival. The bed is large and comfortable.

The room was equipped with aircon, a flat screen TV (many channels although few in English-admittedly in a foreign country this is to be expected), fridge, tea and coffee making facilities plus en suite bathroom. The bathroom was tastefully decorated and featured a "rain" plus standard shower. Wifi in the rooms is excellent.

The pool area is comfortable and features many reclining chairs. Very clean and tidy. There is a seating area adjacent to a bar and the kitchens which prepare a wide range of dishes which were very reasonably priced and very tasty.

Service in general was very good with a friendly welcome. However in this respect the hotel is somewhat let down by inconsistency- occasionally service was somewhat frosty and the staff seemed confused or surprised at the fact that they were being spoken to/asked something. This was rare however and we received excellent service, particularly from those in the poolside bar/restaurant. Unfortunately our last night at the hotel was spoiled slightly as the restaurant and pool area had been let out to a private function preventing other guests from using it. This completely dashed our plans for a relaxing evening in the pool followed by dinner in the restaurant and no notice was provided either when booking, in the meantime or in the days leading up to the function.

The location may be considered by some to be far from the main attractions of Pattaya but this is really no issue as a songthaew can be hailed almost directly outside the hotel and is a very short drive to the beach area/Walking Street. I'm unable to comment on the "free tuk tuk" service advertised by the hotel as I have no idea if it even exists.

Despite the few shortcomings, our stay at the Citin Garden was very enjoyable and the hotel provides excellent value for money. If the few drawbacks were addressed this hotel would be an incredibly strong contender for best value in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SJJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prathumsri, General Manager at Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your time to write and sharing your experience during your stay at Citin Garden Resort and we are delighted to learn that you really enjoyed our overall services including room, garden and LCD TV.As for the TUK TUK service which unfortunately had broken down just before your visit as alternative we had to temporary ones for the services but we now have a 12 seaters van service instead of Tuk Tuk.
Your kind compliments will be shared to our valuable staffs who will appreciate the recognition that you have given and will always be delighted to be of your service. We certainly hope that your future plans to Pattaya will include Citin Garden Resort and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.
Yours sincerely,
Sathian P.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
2.4 mi away
Green Park Resort
Green Park Resort
#58 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
1.4 mi away
Flipper House Hotel
Flipper House Hotel
#106 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.9 mi away
Red Planet Pattaya
Red Planet Pattaya
#30 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Nova Platinum Hotel Pattaya
Nova Platinum Hotel Pattaya
#239 of 445 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
1.5 mi away
Nova Gold Hotel
Nova Gold Hotel
#62 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
1.6 mi away
Centara Pattaya Hotel
Centara Pattaya Hotel
#29 of 445 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality

Property: Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality
Address: 148 / 232, South Pattaya Soi 2 | South Pattaya Road, Pattaya 20150 , Thailand (Formerly Citin Garden Resort)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#29 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Citin Garden Resort - set amongst a lush Tropical garden - is noted for its tranquility. Yet it lies in the heart of Pattaya on the South Pattaya Road just minutes away from shopping centers such as Central Festival Pattaya, Royal Garden Plaza (home to Ripley's Believe It or Not Museum), Walking Street and more. Our 70 roomed, 5 floored hotel offers 4 spacious types of rooms; the Superior room, Deluxe room, 2 Bedroomed Garden Suite and a 2 Bedroomed Suite. Our rooms are intimate with their dark wood panelling with discreet Thai motif patterns. The swimming pool set amongst the lush tropical garden beckons. For dining, there is the Gazebo Cafe overlooking the pool. Additional facilities include a meeting room that can cater to up to 200 persons, free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and a free shuttle service with scheduled trips to Tops Supermarket, Pattaya beach, Walking Street and Central Festival Pattaya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Citin Garden Resort by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citin Garden Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing