We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very basic” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
18 Coins Cafe & Hostel
Ranked #259 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Chicago Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very basic”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I had booked for a superior room. When I get there they gave me a superior room at the ground floor. Room was nice but it smelled a bit. But the window locker was broken. They show me another room without safe box, I said no. Finally they gave me a standard room but I had pay for a superior.
Ground floor smelled from the kitchen and it was very warm. I found a much better room 50m away with half baht.

Too expensive for what it offers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray_Abruzzese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    32
    15
    20
See reviews for
6
15
62
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had the daily special, Cornish pastie,chips and beans. The chips came with that much salt on, they were uneatable.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waldo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I didn't stay in this hotel , instead i opted for a hotel near by.

I visited here a few times for meals and I have to say the food was fantastic.

The portion sizes and the quality of the food is very good. i would also say that the english breakfast is the best quality and most realistic I've had in Thailand.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank terry2009Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udon Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

Good value for money, rooms quite basic but everything you need and very clean. The rooms are cleaned every day to a high standard. Stayed one week and had 10% discount on the room price which made it even better value. Have stayed in Pattaya many time and will definitely stay here again. Food in the restaurant was really good, first class breakfast and good service.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulandnid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

We booked this hotel through Agoda and knew of its location after friends recomended the restaurant downstairs. Excellent value & tasty western & Thai food. The accomodation itself is basic but clean and the staff are all really friendly. The photo's on the Agoda site sell the rooms. There is no swimming pool here but its only a 15 minute walk to Pattaya beach. Great location for all nightlife choices and on a busy main soi (road) so you can catch a baht bus to anywhere you want to go. It served us great while we were in town. Thanks to all the great staff at 18 Coins.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear as the soi to the front is busy 'all' night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentNick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

stayed there in aug for 3 days.. Room was clean n hygine. Also has 24x7 resto bar. Also staff is very cooperative. Breakfast was also good and at reasonable price. It is very good in terms of price for money. Will definetly book if I visit again.

Room Tip: Street facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shox54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have been going to Pattaya for 20 years and stayed in a lot of cheap places in this price range, A good all round deal is my priority, for the last 6 stays of 1month each the 18 coins has been my choice, a discount of 15% for one month is given,preferably a 4th floor room on the right hand side without view is my choice ,they are usually quiet rooms and can be changed should the other guests be noisy,best to tip the maids early and be polite and you will receive new linen,there is no wifi at this level and can only be used in the reception area,the cafe on the ground floor is well run by a Scot,there are good special price meals daily

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ray096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.0 mi away
A.a. Pattaya Ville Hotel
A.a. Pattaya Ville Hotel
#219 of 441 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
B2 The View Pattaya
B2 The View Pattaya
#297 of 441 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Sabai
Sawasdee Sabai
#230 of 441 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Chatkaew Hill Hotel and Residence
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Pattaya
Sawasdee Pattaya
#385 of 441 in Pattaya
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
2.6 mi away
Navin Mansion 2
Navin Mansion 2
#330 of 441 in Pattaya
3.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel

Property: 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel
Address: 198/20 Moo 9, Soi Buakhao, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly 18 Coins Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 441 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the 18 Coins Café & Hostel. We are located in the famous tourist resort Pattaya in Thailand. The hostel has a total of 66 well furnished private rooms and 80 beds in our new dormitory. On the ground floor is a well equipped restaurant serving food all day and offering room service for the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your 18 Coins Cafe & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing