We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desperately needs renovating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Diamond Beach Hotel
Ranked #390 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The best aspect of this hotel is the location, probably the best in Pattaya in my opionion. Reception area is nice but the restaurant is terrible. I couldn't eat that awful food. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. But the rooms are in terrible need of renovation. Amazingly not noisy even though it is so close to walking street and all the action. Even if they could just upgrade the noisy old airconditioning with quieter newer models I would give it an extra star. The bed was a very good size and comfortable. TV too small. Shower and toilet ok but the entire room had really old paint that had become "dirty" over the years. This would be a fantastic hotel if only they would renovate it. Stayed Sept 2012 but had to tag August 2013 (sorry about that I only got around to reviewing it now).

Room Tip: The higher the floor the quieter it is. Not worth paying the extra to get a sea view room in my opi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rohan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 38 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2014

ok i was 4 or 5 time in thais hote it is very cheap and in center of walking that i love it.i sit every day on a chair near the hotel door and see people and nice beutifull lady.
thats important that this hotel has soapy massaje inside.and you can call to come lady come in room for massage.very lovely.i come backe to hotel again

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank saman1089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I've been visiting Pattaya for past 20 years and have stayed at several different hotels. At present Dimond Beach is the best for that price. Plus their staff is extremely friendly and cooperative. No need to pre-book (unless during high season) just walk-in and get the best deal. The building and furniture etc are old but still worth the money you save. Breakfast till noon lets you sleep more before coming down. This hotel is ideally located and through my long experience in Pattaya, is considered quite safe. Their VIP message is quite a fun but when I last stayed it was closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Always insist on seeing a room first before deciding. If do not like the one ask to show you anothe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Issac S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked a hotel for the Pattaya New Year Countdown at the last minute and Diamond Beach was the only conveniently located one that did not have an outrageous room rate. The fairly low room rate made us expect a run-down dump with awful noise problems, but we were very pleasantly surprised: Diamond Beach turned out to be a good three-star hotel.

The location at the Soi 16 (Soi Diamond) of Walking Street is brilliant for access to the nightlife. It is also not bad for other activities since after walking a few hundred meters to Pattaya Saisoong Road you are on the baht bus route and can get cheaply either to Central Pattaya and Beach Road, or to Jomtien Beach. Some people may find it unsettling to stay in a hotel that is facing a multitude of agogo bars with more or less unclad dancers, though. On the other, daytime everything is inoffensively closed apart from a couple of restaurants right next to the hotel.

The biggest drawback of the location is that access by car is impossible in the evenings when only pedestrians are allowed on Walking Street. Daytime a sedan taxi can barely drive all the way to the hotel. However, if you are using a shared transfer service like Bell Travel, the easiest choice is asking the van to drop you off at Soi 16 on Pattaya Saisoong Road.

The entrance lobby is quite spacious and fairly stylishly decorated in an antiquated style. There is a small Internet corner with public use computers and a rather small coffee shop. The front desk operation looked rather old-fashioned starting with a mechanical typewriter and lack of a photocopier for capturing your passport details. The check-in procedure was still quite efficient enough. It might bog down with large numbers of guests but the hotel looked pretty quiet despite it being the high season. The front desk has a set of quite small safety deposit lockers. You won't be able to secure your laptop in them and at least Superior rooms had no in-room safe.

The atrium next to the coffee shop had an indoor swimming pool. It is fine for a refreshing dip but rather too small for serious exercise. Being in full view of the coffee shop customers through a window is also a bit awkward.

The hotel has a couple of elevators - one next to the front desk and another one in the atrium.

We had a Superior room on the 6th floor. The windows were facing the back of Soi 16 with a large number of agogo bars and night clubs but surprisingly noise was not an issue. Sleep quality was very good especially with the nicely bouncy king-size bed in contrast to many Thai hotels that provide way too hard mattresses.

In addition to the bed the furnishings included two small nightstands, a dressing table with a mirror and stool, a small table and two chairs, a small stand for a suitcase, a minibar and a rather old CRT television. There was also a built-in cupboard with some drawers and coat hangers.

The bathroom provided a bathtub, washbasin with mirror, a Western toilet seat with a shower gun and a small amenity kit with soap and shampoo.

The air-conditioning unit looked a bit antiquated but seemed to work well enough without disturbing noise. On the other hand, the weather was quite cool during our visit so it did not have to work hard at all.

The television worked and seemed to have a reasonable selection of channels but we did not really pay attention, since we did not came to Pattaya to watch TV.

The minibar prices were pretty reasonable and a bit lower than in the coffee shop. On the other hand, you can get all the same products and much more at much cheaper prices by walking 100 meters to the 7-ELEVEN at the corner of Soi 16. The bellboy who took us to our room actually told that 'seven' would be a much better deal. In the end we used some items from the minibar and had no issues with incorrect bills.

Overall my impression of the room was that it had once been close to four star hotel quality but was now quite old and tired. However, nothing was very shabby or obviously dirty and the bathroom was in quite good condition. Right now the room was at a three star hotel level.

The hotel has a rooftop terrace above the 8th floor. The view over Pattaya Bay is very nice. Sunbathing up there seemed like a very pleasant proposition. There was a small Jacuzzi pool that was not operating and the weather had made the water too cool for a dip to be pleasant, anyway.

Our room rate included breakfast in the coffee shop. Breakfast choices were American, Asian, and Arabic. The breakfast was served to your table after you selected your choices from the menu. Don't expect the actually listed items to be available, for instance the bread choices for American breakfast are a croissant, a soft roll and toast, but only toast ever was available. Otherwise the breakfast quality seemed quite good with tasty coffee and reasonably quick delivery, so I could not be bothered to make a fuss over not being able to get exactly what I wanted. The breakfast is served until 11am which is convenient for party animals and the coffee shop never looked very busy.

At night the hotel has at the lifts a security guard who will want to register overnight guests. They do not seem to be awfully strict since they took me on my word without any further proof when I told that my Thai wife accompanying me was my wife.

We decided to extend our stay by one day, and the front desk had no problem with providing us with an extra night at a 1200 baht/night rate which was actually cheaper than the one we originally got through a booking site.

Overall this seemed to be a hotel which has a very good location and provides good value for money without any overt problems. We will be returning in a few days to get away from Bangkok during the January 13th protest action.

Room Tip: Get rooms as high as possible to avoid noise from nightlife. 6th floor was already fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank the_goodsoil_family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Was there for 2 night and found the hotel to be average. My room rate was 1200/ bath.Thankfully got a room on the 5th floor as otherwise the rooms in the front side and lower floor could be quiet noisy as the hotel is located in the middle of the night clubs and go go bars.The room was of decent size but the bathroom was not big. The beach is 5 min walk from the hotel. The rooms are clean though old and the staff were average. Best suited for people who want to enjoy night life to fullest and of course Walking Street. People looking for beach pleasure and also a bit of night life may go for soi 11 and 12. Not recommended for conservative thinking family. My stay there was not bad.

Room Tip: Top floors but not on front side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kashyap_ghy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

I'm surprised this resort isn't raved about more. Certainly exceeded our expectations and is beautifully appointed. Surprisingly low rates considering the work that has gone into the resort, nice staff and we will be back

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phakboung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2012

This place is old yes, it is a little dirty yes is it located on one of the best plots of land on Walking Street yes. You stay at this hotel for the location. The rooms are ok at best. They are clean and the A/C is usually pretty cold. They are updating the back wing and I have been told it will be open in a few months so that is something to look forward to. The price and the location makes this hotel worth a visit if you are coming for the fun on Walking Street and South Pattaya.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inthefareast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Pattaya
Grand Hotel Pattaya
#96 of 456 in Pattaya
140 reviews
0.0 mi away
Galaxy Suites
Galaxy Suites
#97 of 456 in Pattaya
96 reviews
0.0 mi away
P.72 Hotel
P.72 Hotel
#151 of 456 in Pattaya
74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Beverly Plaza Pattaya
Hotel Beverly Plaza Pattaya
#294 of 456 in Pattaya
308 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Cafe Royal Hotel
New Cafe Royal Hotel
#250 of 456 in Pattaya
61 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunshine One Hotel
Sunshine One Hotel
#153 of 456 in Pattaya
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Beach Hotel

Address: 499 Beach Rd. | Walking Street, Pattaya, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 456 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range: $34 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Diamond Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Diamond Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing