We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“central and stylish location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #7 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“central and stylish location”
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

this is already the forth stay at the d2 pattaya. still a great place to be. service level, contemporary rooms, rooftop bar, central location, price/quality. after 6 years running that hotel, some things should be improved: air con regulation, rather bad smell in the rooms, high humidity. wooden floors in the lobby. some dark spots in the shower area. $120 still a great price. new stylish hotels pop up quickly at pattaya, the competition is high. even that i will come back to the d2.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank mrbright67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    243
    74
    21
    12
See reviews for
99
276
222
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ogden, Utah, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Nice hotel and sweet staff, good location especially when you want to see the beachs for a couple day.. i would visit this hotel again. comfortable enough that you almost never want to leave your hotel room..

Room Tip: the suites are bigger but, if your on a budget the basic rooms are very clean, and very nice i wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camille B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2baraquda, Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Camille B,

All of us at dusitD2 baraquda pattaya would like to thank you for your kind comments and do hope that you stay was a very pleasant one.

Rest assure that whenever you return to Thailand; especially Pattaya, dusit D2 baraquda pattaya will be the place for you to relax , unwind, enjoy the jazz musician on the roof top restaurant -sunset lounge, as always.

Kindly contact us directly on your next trip to pattaya city to see how can we make your vacation a memorable one.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to dusitD2 baraquda pattaya, we ramain.


Kind regards,

Jack Nakamadee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Very chic modern hotel in Pattaya. Free fast wifi. Nice rooftop bar. Close to Boystown. They don't hassle you or charge extra fees if you brings guests to you room (unlike many hotels in Pattaya). Great pool for swimming laps. My only complaint is that the pool closes early (an inconvenience for those who like to swim at night, like me). But overall this and the Hilton are my top 2 choices in Pattaya.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AntiGravity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2baraquda, Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Anti Gravity,

Thank you very much for your kind comment for our services and facilities.
Yes, our Wifi is free and fast ! Not to mentioned "Sunset Lounge" on the roof top of the building is one- of a- kind restaurant. This year, we luanched another of great jazz performance featuring a top-class saxophonist of Thailand , Khun Aht Gunlayanukupt.

For the operating time of the pool, we would like to kindly point out that it was for the safety for the guest that we closed at eight pm rather than late .

We are looking forward to be of service to you again in the future.


Kind regards,

Jack Nakamadee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I had a last minute business trip to Pattaya and as unable to check in to my usual hotel, so after watching a Managing Asia documentary on the Dusit Hotel chain thought I would give the Dusit D2 Pattaya a go.... So pleased I did.

Location:
Is on 2nd road directly behind the Beach road and about 10minutes from the entertainment area of walking street (or 2 minutes on a baht bus / motorbike taxi). Directly across the road from the Garden Plaza shopping mall. Overall a great location. The hotel rooms are set to the back of the complex overlooking the pool, so no outside noise at all.

Facilities:
I think they have been recently refurbished because my room was simply spectacular. I was given a free upgrade upon my arrival and ended up in a suite which would have been approx 50-60Sq mtrs. The rooms were very impressively laid out with top class fittings and furnishings throughout. Even a pod coffee machine (with a selection of complimentary coffee pods) was provided! I didn't get a chance to use the in-room very large Jacuzzi but that will be on th elist for next trip.

The swimming pool was lovely, and due the fact it wasn't peak season, I had the pool to myself most of the time! For those internet addicts, WiFi coverage was great throughout the hotel including the pool area.

Service:
Up there with the best service I have received in 5 star hotels anywhere in the world. These guys have got it absolutely nailed, and I can understand why the Dusit chain has a reputation for good service. I usually stay at the Holiday Inn, Intercontinental chain of hotels, and I would say the service here surpasses 90% of that hotel chain (which is generally also very good).

Summary:
I got a good deal thru Agoda, and decided to stay an extra stay. Had to book thru agoda again to get the same rate, however Dusit staff made it easy and weren't on my case about. Great hotel. 5 Star service, 4.5-5 star facilities... You really cannot go wrong with this Hotel.

One final thing. I had an issue with the water in my room, and when I raised it with the hotel they were very apologetic and put things right more than my expectations....

Keep up Dusit you are doing it right!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dajayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2baraquda, Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear dajayman,


Thank you very much for your kind comments concerning our location, facilities, and above all our services. All of us are willingly to provide only the best hospitality and services to every single guest who really needs something different from normal.

Please contact me directly for your next trip to Pattaya , Thailand. Looking forward to be of service to you again in the future, we all remain.

Kind regards,

Jack Nakamadee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stay in Pattaya about 20 nights a year. I have always looked a staying in the D2 because of its TripAdvisor ratings and the reputation of Dusit hotels. This was my first booking and I was greatly disappointed. I stayed in a deluxe king for 2 nights. Room was below average size with a modern design but very impractical. Bed was in middle of room with not much clearance on either side. Bed had wrap around head board that went half way down the bed. Had to climb in bed from bottom. No side tables provided. One small closet but no drawers or shelves for unpacking clothes. Sink area was almost next to bed between entrance way and bed. Shower was large with good pressure, control and temperature. Balcony was non-existent and unusable. Only one swivel chair (office) and a small half recliner couch jammed in corner. Furniture was badly stained. Room was contemporary design with a lot of concrete, and glass bathroom. Obviously shower leakage was a problem as everything was heavily re-calked. Fixtures were worn and poorly maintained. Air-con condensation leaked on to floor all night. All this gave the room a "grubby" feeling. Common areas were also modern contemporary design but showing their age. Staff was all very pleasant and professional. Overall sense was a 3 star hotel because of basic design problems. Pricing did not reflect quality. I will definitely not stay in this hotel again even if renovated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FirstClassPax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in the studio suite for 3 nights.

The overall experience was very good. I really appreciated the quality of service and the staff of this hotel.

Unfortunately the first room I was given needed renovation so I have to move to another room that was far better. During my stay I noticed that the hotel in general could be one of the best in Pattaya with some renovation works, because everything else was perfect (staff, spa treatments, breakfast quality, level of service, laundry etc.).

Overall a great expericence: great staff and spa, spacious rooms but some need renovation to reach a 5 star hotel standard (used floor, door knobs and other details).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr_Luca_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

A great hotel to stay at. From the friendly staff to the excellent designed rooms and great location where you don't hear the noise at night. Even down to little things like the quality of the bedding and toilet paper you can just notice the difference from other hotels in the area. Will most defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Budgescfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dusitD2baraquda, Manager at Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Budgescfc,

Thank you for your kind comments concerning the hotel facilities and services.

We all are delighted to learn that our guests have enjoyed their stay and taking the time to give us an valuable feedback.

Looking forward to welcome you back to Pattaya and DusitD2 baraquda pattaya, we remain.


Kind regards,

Jack Nakamadee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 449 in Pattaya
1,563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 449 in Pattaya
1,662 reviews
2.1 mi away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#17 of 449 in Pattaya
2,298 reviews
1.3 mi away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
1.5 mi away
Dusit Thani Pattaya
Dusit Thani Pattaya
#20 of 449 in Pattaya
1,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
Address: 485/1 Moo 10, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Dusit D2 Baraquda Pattaya Hotel)
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 449 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya, a hip boutique hotel located in the heart of Thailand's bustling Pattaya City, is joining Accor's MGallery Collection of unique hotels. This hotel is dedicated to the lifestyle of modern travelers with a signature design of "modern nautical cool". Located on Pattaya's colorful 2nd Road, Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is a calm sanctuary with an easy access to the beach, shopping and entertainment centers. The facade and interior of the hotel reflects a devotion to bold and contemporary designs, while unique personalized services are provided to enhance each individual stay. Hotel Baraquda Pattaya is comprised of 72 thoughtfully-designed guest rooms and suites, each with a balcony overlooking the unique fish-like, blue mosaic pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing