We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For special occasions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mantra Restaurant & Bar

Mantra Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #6 of 911 Restaurants in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Mantra Restaurant & Bar is a chic and stylish culinary experience unlike any other. Located on Pattaya Beach Road in Amari Pattaya, Mantra features seven open kitchens serving up incredible Asian, Western and Mediterranean cuisine. Dramatic, eclectic, unique - Mantra features two levels of awe-inspiring architecture and unique décor while the towering treasure walls create focal points with artfully placed collection of artefacts. Hedonist Harlem, Opium Den, the Sultan's Table, Opera Seats or Main Theatre, you choose your corner. DRESS CODE Mantra is chic, smart and stylish - and that's how we like our patrons to dress. Gentleman - no shorts, tank tops or sandals please. During the weekends the dress code is relaxed to Smart Casual. The Mantra Team reserves the right to refuse entry. Mantra Bar Open Daily, 17:00 to 01:00 Mantra Restaurant Open Daily, 18:00 to 01:00 (last kitchen order at 11:30) Fabulous Sunday brunch from 11:00 to 15:00
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“For special occasions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

When Mantra first opened several years ago it was a regular dinner spot for us. Then they started to do the " sorry, you need to go to the bar as your table is not ready and enjoy one of our New York priced cocktails" we decided to cut it out as there are now considerable selections in Pattaya. The food is still great but the subtle scam is tiring and the prices, after all is said and done, approach those of a four star restaurant in Tokyo. I can appreciate the need to make a buck but there is a huge expat community here in Pattaya perhaps a bit of consideration is in order.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stew-san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    233
    69
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very Expensive but very high standards and great service staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

Good food, Good wine, very nice establishment, great customer care, very expensive. Recommend treating yourself here but could never make it a regular hangout due to the prices.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMAmariPattaya, Manager at Mantra Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valuable feedback and for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.com.

We would like to thank you for choosing Mantra Restaurant & Bar. Your positive notes about our food, wine selection and services are very much appreciated.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to Mantra hopefully soon.

Kind regards

Richard Margo
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Nice treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to treat a friend to mantra experience menu for their birthday.

The deal starts with a cocktail at the lovely bar and then you are shown to your table. I agree with other reviews, that due to it's size, the place lacks atmosphere, but it would be ideal for a romantic meal.

The service is excellent and the food a real treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leethomaswales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Big, Expensive, Formal, but good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Decided to give it a go the other night. The food, wine and service were pretty good but I would not have expected any less at a restaurant of that level. I have no complaints, but personally I felt that the venue was a little too large and lacked the ambience and character I prefer in a restaurant. I may go back again, but not in a hurry. It may be better suited to large groups, rather than couples.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinnyvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager58, General Manager at Mantra Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments about the quality of the food and I am happy to learn that you are indeed a repeat customer. I also appreciate your comments on the levels of intimacy and I am delighted to tell you that early next year we will be carrying out a number of changes to Mantra, one which will indeed make the whole restaurant less open and more intimate. This should help to enhance the whole meal experience and I look forward to your comments once this is completed. Although we do have small and large groups from time to time, Mantra is and will very much remain a restaurant for smaller tables, be it for business or pleasure. I look forward to meeting you on a future visit. Thank you for your support. Kind regards, David Cumming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

A bit expensive but great food. The buffet is good value and the staff are very attentive for an establishment in Pattaya.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank AsianTravelExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager58, General Manager at Mantra Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review about your recent Sunday Brunch at Mantra restaurant and bar. Sunday Brunch is no normal experience and I am happy to learn you loved the range of food available. Thank you for your support. Kind regards, David Cumming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mantra Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
Pattaya, Chonburi Province
 

Been to Mantra Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing