We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Ranked #44 of 450 Hotels in Pattaya
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Avoid this hotel like the plague. I pre-paid for a stay here in September, 2011, and picked a specific suite facing southwest closest to the beach. When I arrived I was 'upgraded' a northeast facing suite at the end of the hall furthest away from the beach, exactly the opposite of what I booked.

I took the issue up at reception with no satisfaction. I later took it up with Asia Travel with whom I had booked. They just passed my complaint to the hotel and passed me back a managers reply. The reply totally failed to acknowledge there was anything wrong with accepting advance payment for a specific suite and delivering something else. The manager insisted I was upgraded, a clear case of the manager knows best and who cares what the customer wants and paid for.

The suite I was given had a balcony covered in bird droppings which staff said they would clean up but never did. The included buffet breakfast was low quality.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SEFlyerOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    479
    145
    36
    35
See reviews for
166
264
82
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Howrah, West Bengal, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for two days . Superior rooms were clean but there was no view of the sea from the room. Breakfast was good and the staffs were also helpful. We visited the coral island from Pattya by speed boat,but it was very crowed and badly managed.

Room Tip: better to choose a sea facing deluxe room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanchita_1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Stay at this Hotel with confidence. It is smart comfortable and the right price. The staff are all very helpful. The layout is excellent with a good sized pool and the front dining areas (inside or out) are good with evening entertainment. Business room with three free computers and one with a printer was very welcome. We liked this hotel very much and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Room quite spacious with King size bed. Balcony with sea view. however room service standard is disappointing, food served was cold. located within walking distance to beach, shops and restaurants nearby. Swimming pool available.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BabyPanda81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed here for three nights, and it was really lovely. I can't understand the other two poor reviews recently posted - my husband and I were delighted with the service and the cleanliness. Breakfast was great, location good, away from the general noise and would stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ellefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coimbatore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Excellent location. Our room on the 12th floor had very good view of sea, land and pool of the next hotel. We landed at 7 a.m. and were given a room immediately, though the check-in time is 4.00 p.m. Room is large, spacious and clean. Though the staff do not speak english, they were friendly. Hotel is not very suitable for vegetarians hence breakfast was a poor show. Indian restaurant adjacent to the hotel (Dilli Hath) serves very good indian veg and non-veg food, hence lunch and dinner no problem. I recommend this hotel for Indians to stay.

Room Tip: Please ask for sea facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarasa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The staff doesn't speak english( is hilarious to order room service) but they argue with you for no good reason, the manager barely knows a few words and they seem to cover for each other mistakes and rudeness. You will pay extra for every little thing, no tourist friendly hotel, and the rooms need urgent repairs, also the sheets on the bad are mostly torn. Breakfast is very poor and the same for 6 days, no european food but some hard rock and burned bacon.
No way a 4 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josephinetheangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.7 mi away
The Bayview Hotel
The Bayview Hotel
#25 of 450 in Pattaya
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
A-One The Royal Cruise Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 450 in Pattaya
1,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Siam@Siam Design Hotel Pattaya
0.8 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#51 of 450 in Pattaya
528 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
Mercure Pattaya Hotel
#29 of 450 in Pattaya
1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel

Property: Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel
Address: 489 Soi 6/1, North Pattaya, Pattaya Beach Road, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 450 Hotels in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 295
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pattaya Discovery Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing