We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 star hotel prentending to be more and failing”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Intimate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Intimate Hotel
Ranked #72 of 442 Hotels in Pattaya
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“2 star hotel prentending to be more and failing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

I cannot believe the high ratings users give this place. See my other reviews and you will see I am very easy going on my hotel reviews. It gives me no pleasure to give a poor review but this hotel earned it. From finding blood stains on my bed upon arrival, broken door jams, moldy tub, broken shower drain, ripped sheets, dusty shelves, dirty floors and so much more!

Sure the reception area is very nice but once you get past that open your eyes! The elevator was a mess, the hallways were hot and dirty and I had a smell coming up from the drain in the room.

The staff was for the most part friendly enough but when I asked for a manager to come to my room and showed them blood stains on my bed they acted like it was nothing. Sure they changed the mattress cover but never even apologized for this disgusting site. I can assure you if this happened in the U.S. I would have had the manager bending over backwards apologizing for this.

after I found the blood I looked around more and found nothing but dirt and broken items.

See the photos as they speak for themselves

I ended up cutting my stay here in 1/2 as I was so disappointed.

The food is sub par for Thailand and overpriced.

For the price you can do MUCH better staying elsewhere. Please look around before you book here as it is not what you think it will be.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a quality room here worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tahitisteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    341
    63
    16
    18
See reviews for
22
85
128
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
325 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel many times and have reviewed this hotel before, but I felt an update was needed as the hotel has changed names. It was previously known as Tim boutique hotel (named after the owner: Tim), but she decided to rename it the intimate hotel in the past few months. Not sure why as nothing has really changed. Ownership and staff remain the same. I guess she wants to rebrand the hotel. None of the staff could tell me why.
Since my last stay, the renovations to the lobby have been completed and they now have an outdoor deck area on the soi where you can have dinner. I didn't see a single person eating there. So it probably won't last long. The breakfast buffet is average and is not included in the room rate unless you purchase that specific package. One drawback to breakfast is that it now shuts down at 10 AM, a half hour earlier than before. If you are a late riser, just get the room only rate. There are plenty of places nearby that have breakfasts going much later than that.
Rooftop swimming pool is great and lots of guests take advantage of it. They also have a swim up bar.
Positives for this hotel are big clean rooms, some with jacuzzi baths. Also, the staff is very friendly and it's not an act. I always feel very welcome there. Another positive is the location. It's within walking distance of all the major shopping centers, the beach, walking street, etc. taxis are always waiting at a stand a block away. Plus you have the 10 baht buses on second road.
Negatives are noise from the row of beer bars behind the hotel. If you go to bed early, the bands playing at these places may bother you well into the late hours. Also, rooms are not well insulated, so if you have noisy neighbors, you will likely hear them. This also applies to traffic on the hallway. You will likely hear a lot of doors slamming, etc.
However, the positives outweigh the negatives in my opinion. I have stayed there many times before and have never had a problem that couldn't be quickly resolved. I would stay there again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Intimate Hotel, also known as Tim's Boutique, is one of the more popular hotel choices for guests to Pattaya. As such, I decided to book a jacuzzi suite through Agoda for 5 days. The cost savings booking through Agoda was significant over booking directly on the hotel website, with the caveat being no refunds will be given if the booking is cancelled.

The staff is very friendly and professional during check in, and readily available if you have any issues.

The room itself, while not very big, was clean and bright, with modern appliances and feel. Location is very good and close to major areas by foot and other areas easily reached via the blue baht buses.

Overall I felt room and hotel was good value for money I paid and service was excellent.

Things I liked about Intimate Hotel:

- Staff was friendly and professional
- Jacuzzi was a nice feature, with cool lighting options and powerful water jet options
- Bathroom water pressure was decent, and hot water was actually hot and stayed hot when filling up the jacuzzi tub
- No guest fees
- I liked the hotel location off Second Road and tend to pick hotels in this area. To the left of the hotel is The Avenue complex which has various restaurants, a movie theater, stores, and a pool hall. About a quarter mile away is the Royal Garden Plaza mall. Multiple stores, restaurants, and beer bars line the areas around the hotel. Walking Street is a little over half a mile away. And of course the blue baht buses can easily take you around Pattaya city.
- Breakfast is good quality with choices for western style and asian dishes, and even eggs to order.
- Hotel laundry had some of the cheapest prices I've seen for a hotel of this class, and well worth not having to walk around outside looking for cleaners.
- Room flooring was hard marble type which I prefer
- My 6th floor room had a nice view of The Avenue complex next door

Things I did not like:

- wifi is only free for guests that book directly through the Intimate Hotel website. However, booking through another site like agoda and purchasing internet on your own may still be much cheaper than booking through the hotel. For example, the jacuzzi suite I booked through Agoda was almost half the price that was offered from the hotel website. I purchased 24 hours of wifi time for 350 baht (24 hours means you get 24 hours so don't forget to log off). This lasted me the whole 5 days.
- wifi speed was slow, a little over 1 mbps download speed when I was using it.
- Even though the room was called a jacuzzi suite, it was one of the smallest suites I have ever stayed in.

As you can see only a few minor things I did not like. Overall I liked this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_sick08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whittier, ca
Level Contributor
177 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Great hotel in a very central location. The rooms are large, with nice bathrooms and bedding. The front staff is top notch, always friendly and helpful. They serve a very good breakfast and have a nice outdoor grill for dinner. You get a very good room rate but with that comes a charge for just about everything. Don't like the fact you have to pay for WiFi but even then it's not much. They have a very nice roof top pool with a swim up bar but show up early as they don't have enough umbrellas. The hotel just remodeled the lobby it's very nice. The only negative I can say is the housekeeping is hit and miss. Some day is is was great, others not so much.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the front are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edward v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have stayed here more times than I can remember and always come away with a good feeling.This is not a 5 or 4 star hotel nor do they make believe they are but they do market a secure clean room in a pleasant environment in the middle of Pattaya, on a quiet side street just steps away from the chaotic night life. On value I would rate this hotel as Excellant but on condition and facilities VERY GOOD.

The Hotel has changed its name from Tim Boutique to Intimate Hotel but is still owned and operated by the same friendly folks that also run the Billiard Hall and Bar across the street.

1. Check in: easy, mostly new staff since my last visit however one or two familiar faces. You will receive a breakfast voucher for each days stay if your booking includes it.

2. Room: This is the first time I stayed in the new section which was really just an extension on the building and you can tell no difference in the furnishings or fixtures. Room is clean, only exception I find bothersome is a slight mold around the tub sealant where it meet the wall in corners (Chlorox diluted with water spray would kill this).
- Doors use a key card system (chirps if you leave it ajar).
- Mini Safe in Closet, Small but adequate.
- Mini Bar, Fridge with reasonably priced snacks, beer and liquor.
- Storage: plenty, loads of counter space to spread out. There are several large drawers as well that you can just throw stuff from the suitcase into.
- Balcony: yes but better on the front side of building, rear side they are cramped because of the double sound insulating doors.
-Power Outlets: Plenty, no problem plugging in two mobile phone, an iPad and Laptop simultaneously.
- Bed: Comfortable, great sleep and Pillows smell fresh and clean. Nice duvet and King Size made sleeping very pleasurable.

3. Bath: Clean with the exception of the aforementioned mold in corner at tub but otherwise not worried about walking around barefoot in the shower etc.
- Sink: okay but not enough flat counter around it for spreading out toiletries for two.
- Toilet: Worked every time!
- Shower: Hot and Cold, good pressure, a bit tight for two people.

4. Air Conditioning: Cold, Quiet, Digital Thermostat,

5. Wi-Fi: you pay using prepaid cards from the from front desk. Signal was a bit weak on the pool deck this past visit, worked well elsewhere.

6. Breakfast: GOOD. they will cook an egg to order.

7. Room Service: Good.

8. Pool: On roof, nice, need more umbrellas for remaining lounge chairs.

9. Location: EXCELLANT, on a quiet street just off the 2nd road.

10. Parking: yes. limited to 10-12 cars.

11. Staff: Outstanding, never fail to provide customer service at highest standard.

Room Tip: High Floor on Front side of building, rear has extra sound proofing that takes away some balcony sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorboy4real
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed at Tim's Boutique Hotel in June 2012 . The Horel was nice and clean just as the rooms. I did have an Issue with the AC not working properly but that problem was fixed. The staff was very friendly.
The Pros: I loved the Roof-top swimming pool with swim-up bar, the location was great close to everything but still quiet enough, breakfast was o.k. the rooms were spacious and the mattress was good.
The Cons: During the last 2 days our floor was invaded by a horde of Middle-eastern youngsters which blasted music until morning time with total disregard of the other guests and even though I complained nothing was done. Fazit: I would probably not go back there as it seemed to me they were scared to confront their "Guests" from the Middle East.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningback22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay and approximately 250 metres from the beach. Pricing can be negotiated if you have a group.It is centrally located being near Mikes shopping mall and within 100 metres of 2nd road. Baht taxis costing 10 baht are easy to acsess along 2nd road if you wish to go to central shops or markets. Walking street is an easy 15 minute walk and baht taxis can get you home. The rooms are of reasonable size with an extra large very comfortable bed. 2 bottles of water are provided free each day. An inroom safe is provided for your valuables. The rooms have good flatscreen TV's, reception was good with an Australian channel for us Aussies. The bathroom is good with there being a separate shower and bath which makes life easier. The breakfast on the air conditioned 2nd floor was good with a choice of Western and Asian foods . The rooftop pool with a swimup bar was very nice. Pricing for food and drinks from the pool bar was good. Service from the front desk was friendly and efficient. Doormen and security people were always helpful and cleaning staff nice. A dissapointment here is having to purchase wi fi connection and log out each time after use. The cost was not expensive , approx 60 baht ( Aussie $2)for 30 mins but in a hotel of this quality one would expect this to be free. Overall a nice place to stay!

Room Tip: Possibly staying on the road side may be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craig1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.2 mi away
LK The Empress
LK The Empress
#48 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.1 mi away
LK Renaissance
LK Renaissance
#126 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Areca Lodge
Areca Lodge
#28 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Pattaya
Premier Inn Pattaya
#23 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Page 10 Hotel
Page 10 Hotel
#56 of 442 in Pattaya
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Intimate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Intimate Hotel

Property: Intimate Hotel
Address: 397/42 Moo 10, Soi 14, Pattaya 2nd Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20150, Thailand (Formerly Tim Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Intimate Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The INTIMATE HOTEL is an outstanding boutique hotel located in Pattaya city area, adjacent to the 2nd Pattaya Road, only 5 minutes away from the Pattaya Beach, near pubs, restaurants, shopping and entertainment complexes, and popular public areas. INTIMATE HOTEL's spacious, well-equipped rooms, all with adjustable air-conditioning and en-suite bathrooms with extra-large bathtub and separate shower in every room, are ideal for individual travelers, groups and business travelers alike. There are non-smoking rooms. The hotel has enclosed secure parking facilities for guests arriving by car. The popularity of the INTIMATE HOTEL, is due to the highest level of service, homely atmosphere, central location in Pattaya, as well as our competitive prices. The staff's goal is to satisfy our guests? needs and we sincerely hope to win your approval, and welcome you at the INTIMATE HOTEL Pattaya in the near future. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Intimate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tim Boutique

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing