We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for the Gay Traveller”
Review of The Ambiance

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ambiance
Ranked #335 of 447 Hotels in Pattaya
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ideal for the Gay Traveller”
Reviewed November 27, 2009

Have been staying here since 1985, and still love everyday I spend there. Yes there are cheaper places but you gets what you pay for. A previous reviewer must have forgotten to take his tablets, there is a lift and I travel with the maximum allowance and have never moved my cases after landing at Bangkok until I get back there.
The hotel is central for all gay visitors and the helpful staff ensure you get everything you may want out of your holiday.
If you want any details, contact me with pleasure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    42
    10
    14
    11
See reviews for
1
17
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Vermont
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2009

Mixed feelings here. Hotel that is priced more for location than amenities, even with an offered discount at booking. Only hotel I have stayed in in Asia without an included breakfast at this price. Around 100 USD per night. Did not quite understand this, since they have an attached 24 hour coffee shop with great food and service, so they have all the facilities to offer breakfast easily. Room fairly basic for Thailand. 9 stations on the TV, two TV's in the room, separate living area, but no bath tub. No shampoo in shower which was a shocker, so had to go and buy some. This would be so easy to fix with dispensers in the shower for gel and shampoo which I offer in my hotel and costs pennies a month. Owner is very nice, but very busy in meetings and such. Front desk staff wonderful and freindly, speak perfect English, and well dressed and groomed. The selling point for this hotel is it's location right in Boyztown in Gay Pattaya. Two wonderful caberet bars compete for business across the street from each other, and their shows were wonderful. Beautiful costumes, charming Drag Queen "Katoey" performers. Oscars bar down the street has charming waiters, food very good at Cafe Royal. Rowdy at night, but the touts here are not as aggressive as Bangkok, and drink prices are one half the price. Overall, I had a wonderful stay, and even with problems, would consider staying in this hotel again. But, with so much competition, they should consider these suggestions to improve. Pattaya is a wonderful place for a gay person or couple to visit whether for beach and relaxation or nightlife, your choice. Jay Kerch, Vermont

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rgehring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2009

I loved this hotel. Its right in Boys Town so avoid it if you are uncomfortable about that. Still many women travelling alone stat here because its safe, after all NONE of the guys are interested.
The massages are great. Boys are hot as can be.
Rooms and service very good but careful of slippery floors after showering . The only thing is the price is a bit steep and its a shame that guests dont get a discount for coffee etc late at night. Be good to include breakfast.
Still I recomend it even to families. A great way for kids to learn about the gay community.
Not for square and homophobes but lets face it they should not travel any way.
The show is great.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petersj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2008

I stayed in this hotel mid April 2008 and did not encounter any of the problems the first reviewer claims to have suffered.

The staff was extremely friendly and very helpful, including the owner.

Not overpriced, actually for what I paid, around 1500 baht/night, the rooms were quite nice and modern. Clean and well maintained.

I'm not sure what nomad84 considers basic, but the room was supplied with a set of bath towels, hand towels, face cloths, soap, shampoo, linen, pillows, comforter, TV, dvd, minibar (reasonable charge for items consumed), FREE WIFI, room service, menus to local eateries at no charge.

The first room I was in did have bugs, not cockroaches. I brought this to the attention of the staff and I was upgraded to a bigger room. They fogged the room I moved out of and fogged the room I moved into after I went out for dinner.

The stairs are narrow, but not maze like and I understand a lift has been installed now.

The Ambiance is situated in the Boyztown, the commercial gay scene, but much of the area surrounding Boyztown has hetero bars offering similar services and after 2am it goes to sleep.

I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Liked — Restaurant Patio
  • Disliked — No Pool
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank frg_2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2008

I have been going to the Ambiance on and off for about 20 years (ever since it opened) and am there again in November 2008 - I saw a very negative review on this website and felt I had to put the record straight:
The area is not seedy, it is in a side street but the local business owners have worked hard to make it a classy area, there are several nice outside terraces and non go-go bars, a Piano bar with nightly entertainment and 2 very nice restaurants. It is only minutes walk from 2 big new retail malls and about 10 minutes from the gay beach. The best gay bars are right in the same street and the other main gay area Sunny Plaza is only 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel coridoors are not air conditioned but the rest of the building is and unless you are planning to sleep in the coridoor it should not be a problem.
The rooms are good standard with good facilities including fridges, DVD players Satelite TV including english language and services including 24 hour room service although some rooms can be a bit noisy they will give you a quiet room if you ask.
The rooms are not all $100 you can get a nice mid range room for about $50 which is normally the one I stay in.
You dont have to drag your bags anywhere the staff will move them for you and I understand they are fitting a lift this year.
Not ony have I never received poor customer service as with most places in Thailand if you treat the staff well and give them some small tips they will treat you well and make you feel welcome.
I am a frequent travelor and reqularly stay in 4 and 5 star hotels and I wouldnt stay anywhere else in Pattaya

  • Liked — Gay run accomodation in the main gay area
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank francoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worldwide
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2008

Shame we can't use negative indicators.

I would STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST staying at the Ambiance Hotel in Patayaland after mine and my partner's very disappointing recent experience there.

I wanted to treat my partner to a really good room in a beautiful hotel, but near to where the nightlife is so we can go out easily at night. Having never been to Pattaya before, I looked on the internet and somehow managed to thing that The Ambiance Hotel would be the place for us.

How wrong I was, the hotel is extremely overpriced for what you get, and especially for what you don't.
The whole building's laid out like a maze and it feels cramped with a cheap guest-house like feel to it.
The tight owner refuses to turn on the air-conditioning in the corridors so it's really stuffy and smells like old sweat, not a lot of fun when you have to drag your heavy bags all the way up the stairs and down the halls to your room on the upper floors since there's no lift and there are no staff on hand to help.

It doesn't have the basics you'd expect to find in a hotel charging $100 per night and if you ask for them, they get added as extras to the bill making you wonder what it is you're actually paying for.

The staff were rude and unfriendly, we felt like we were intruding just by being there, the room was ugly and the whole experience has given us both a really bad impression of the place, especially as we got back and found we'd been charged for some 'miscellaneous things' on our credit card, which we've yet to find out what they were. . .

Plus, The Ambiance Hotel is set right in the seediest part of Pattaya, and everyone has their ideas about how seedy the place is anyway right?
My advice, stay 5/10 minutes down the street, many many bigger, nicer hotels which are cheaper, many have hotel pools, gym, sauna, friendly service, better facilities and also guarantee a quiet night's sleep. Don't get fooled into thinking if you don't stay right in the heart of the action, you won't get to go out and see any, you'll only be paying for the area, the hotels are no better than squats.

Helpful?
4 Thank nomad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pattaya hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
0.0 mi away
New Cafe Royal Hotel
New Cafe Royal Hotel
#245 of 447 in Pattaya
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Galaxy Suites
Galaxy Suites
#102 of 447 in Pattaya
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Pattaya
Grand Hotel Pattaya
#106 of 447 in Pattaya
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sawasdee Pattaya
Sawasdee Pattaya
#391 of 447 in Pattaya
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
P.72 Hotel
P.72 Hotel
#163 of 447 in Pattaya
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Copa Pattaya
Copa Pattaya
#26 of 539 in Pattaya
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambiance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambiance

Property: The Ambiance
Address: 325 / 89, Pattayaland Soi 3 | South Pattaya, Pattaya 20260, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ambiance 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ambiance is located just around the corner from Pattaya’s famous Walking Street, near the beach, shopping malls and cinema, and right in the middle of the gay and straight nightlife. You’ll find sumptuous accommodation, great service and a relaxing, professional atmosphere waiting for you at The Ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Ambiance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambiance Hotel Pattaya

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing