We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Moonhut Bungalows
Nearby Hotels
$162
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Banyan Tree Samui(Lamai Beach)
$679
$523
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$932
$718
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amari Koh Samui(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$116
$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dara Samui Beach Resort(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$111
$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$300
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort(Choeng Mon)(Great Value!)
$299
$193
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nora Buri Resort & Spa(Chaweng)(Great Value!)
$154
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bo Phut Resort & Spa(Bophut)(Great Value!)
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tongsai Bay(Bophut)
$435
$217
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (320)
Filter reviews
320 results
Traveler rating
163
88
37
15
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
163
88
37
15
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfan bungalowfamily bungalowmaenam beachair conbeachfront bungalowthe main roadhot waterdouble bedbeach locationfive nightsmae nam beachnice beachstayed here for nightsbeach barsun loungershappy hourfisherman's village
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 320 reviews
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We booked a basic bungalow for two nights for a stopover en route to Koh Tao. It was a good size and kept very clean. The bed and linen were fresh and the bathroom was spotless. The bungalow was set in a lush well kept garden and really peaceful considering there were resorts either side and the main road was close by. There was a play area and plenty of shade provided as well as free sunloungers and chairs on the beach itself.

The hotel restaurant had a good range of food - thai and western - and everything we ate there was tasty. There were plenty of shops and food outlets close by too.

The resort was based around a fairly small piece of beach and we were disappointed that the beach was divided by rivers so you couldnt really walk along it. Also the water didnt appear that clear. For us the location wasn't what we wanted but I couldnt fault the resort.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2011

Amazing locations, our bungalow was literally on the beach....staff very nice, food very nice and very reasonable, only problem was with the beds, they seemed a bit old and matress needs to be replaced asap.

Very good location, nice and quiet on lovely beach and still close to Fishermans Village.
Great place for families

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Local-Lad-Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had bungalow nr 2, verry nice view, clean room and nice clean beach.

They have a vew dogs, so if you do not like dogs, don't go!!
The dogs sometimes come in you bungalow.
Also lots of kids, if you do not like kids, and want a quit vacation, do not go.
Restaurant is nothing special, walk a vew meters right and you will see a verry good and cheap restaurant.

It is treu, the beds are hard as rocks no comfortable beds...

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2011

Although we had a "beach-front" bungalow and paid extra for this, we couldn't see the water. The towels were ripped and when we asked for better ones we were given news ones and we suggested they get rid of the ripped ones. The next day we got ripped ones again. Their price for bike rentals is too high and ask for an exact quote for laundry. We got ripped off. The beds are hard as rocks and the wifi internet was very expensive. There are many other moderately priced bungalows on Samui so do yourself a favor, looks elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fringegirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2010

Before I say anything more - Moonhuts does have a great location. Great stretch of beach with nice views of Ko Pha Ngan. It's nice that they provide beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.

HOWEVER - there are so many cons to this place. The biggest one was the bedbugs - I thought it was something else until my partner woke up with obvious bites after our last night there. This is completely unacceptable, but given the terrible quality of the mattress and the paper-thin, well-worn sheets, I suppose it's not surprising. We paid for a fan room because the cheapest air conditioned room was double the price, but I have never slept in a fan room (even in Africa) that was so useless. The fan was mounted on a wall shared by one side of the bed, meaning that only the person on the far side of the bed received any "benefit." I say "benefit" because even with the fan on high, you could barely feel it. Time to upgrade to free-standing or ceiling fans, please! Sleeping was almost impossible, not only because of the useless fan but because of noise from other guests and from the resident dogs. I am a huge dog person but the dogs need to be put inside when people are trying to sleep.

Other drawbacks? We stayed for a week, and the staff is clearly on for 10+ hours a day, seven days a week. This is completely unacceptable for a (partially) foreign-owned establishment, and unfortunately, it shows in their service and attitudes. Only one staff member smiled during our entire stay, and service was lackadaisical - you almost felt like you were burdening them with your presence. The staff spends a lot of time sitting around and watching TV.

Despite its wonderful location, one gets the impression that Moonhuts is trying to nickel-and-dime you out of every baht. The hotel doesn't provide beach towels - threatening messages posted in your bungalow warn that you will be charged for dirtying the bathroom towels and that they are NOT to be taken to the beach - of course, you are welcome to buy a beach towel from the desk. What kind of beach hotel doesn't provide beach towels? There is also a threatening message hanging in the bathroom warning that you will have to pay should the toilet in your bungalow become blocked. Wi-fi is available, but at a completely ludicrous price (you have to purchase an access card - what year is this? Why can't they just give out a password like everyone else?). 180 baht for one hour is a complete scam - save your money and go to the internet cafe at the end of the road. The owner is friendly and the dog is adorable! Some menu items are also ridiculously priced, clearly intended to wring the most money out of families. Snack-y items are very expensive and basically thrown on a plate, served to you without a smile. There are a few great places to eat in town just a short walk away - Samon's can't be missed, and Angela's is great for lunch.

The atmosphere at Moonhuts is just ok. The foreign owners were around during our stay but only seemed interested in the older travelers and entertaining their personal guests (whose children were beyond entitled and obnoxious). We are relatively young and saw a few other younger couples there during our stay, but it is clear that you are at the bottom of the hotel's guest hierarchy, so expect a minimum of respect and service. The families staying here can be annoying, treating the staff and restaurant as their personal babysitters and daycare. Letting your child go naked on the beach is one thing, but they should be clothed in the restaurant area during mealtimes when other guests are present.

One last bit of advice - make your own arrangements for onward travel. We were given the runaround while using the transportation the hotel helped us arrange. One would think an establishment would not want to associate themselves with the bus scams that are all too common in Thailand.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nvnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews