We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, basic, value for money bungalows. Location not for us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moonhut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Moonhut Bungalows
Ranked #20 of 429 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good food and service, basic, value for money bungalows. Location not for us.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

We booked a basic bungalow for two nights for a stopover en route to Koh Tao. It was a good size and kept very clean. The bed and linen were fresh and the bathroom was spotless. The bungalow was set in a lush well kept garden and really peaceful considering there were resorts either side and the main road was close by. There was a play area and plenty of shade provided as well as free sunloungers and chairs on the beach itself.

The hotel restaurant had a good range of food - thai and western - and everything we ate there was tasty. There were plenty of shops and food outlets close by too.

The resort was based around a fairly small piece of beach and we were disappointed that the beach was divided by rivers so you couldnt really walk along it. Also the water didnt appear that clear. For us the location wasn't what we wanted but I couldnt fault the resort.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomi83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    81
    27
    14
    17
See reviews for
59
119
41
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

Amazing locations, our bungalow was literally on the beach....staff very nice, food very nice and very reasonable, only problem was with the beds, they seemed a bit old and matress needs to be replaced asap.

Very good location, nice and quiet on lovely beach and still close to Fishermans Village.
Great place for families

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Local-Lad-Limerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenzaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

We had bungalow nr 2, verry nice view, clean room and nice clean beach.

They have a vew dogs, so if you do not like dogs, don't go!!
The dogs sometimes come in you bungalow.
Also lots of kids, if you do not like kids, and want a quit vacation, do not go.
Restaurant is nothing special, walk a vew meters right and you will see a verry good and cheap restaurant.

It is treu, the beds are hard as rocks no comfortable beds...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2011

Although we had a "beach-front" bungalow and paid extra for this, we couldn't see the water. The towels were ripped and when we asked for better ones we were given news ones and we suggested they get rid of the ripped ones. The next day we got ripped ones again. Their price for bike rentals is too high and ask for an exact quote for laundry. We got ripped off. The beds are hard as rocks and the wifi internet was very expensive. There are many other moderately priced bungalows on Samui so do yourself a favor, looks elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fringegirl2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Before I say anything more - Moonhuts does have a great location. Great stretch of beach with nice views of Ko Pha Ngan. It's nice that they provide beach chairs, umbrellas, etc.

HOWEVER - there are so many cons to this place. The biggest one was the bedbugs - I thought it was something else until my partner woke up with obvious bites after our last night there. This is completely unacceptable, but given the terrible quality of the mattress and the paper-thin, well-worn sheets, I suppose it's not surprising. We paid for a fan room because the cheapest air conditioned room was double the price, but I have never slept in a fan room (even in Africa) that was so useless. The fan was mounted on a wall shared by one side of the bed, meaning that only the person on the far side of the bed received any "benefit." I say "benefit" because even with the fan on high, you could barely feel it. Time to upgrade to free-standing or ceiling fans, please! Sleeping was almost impossible, not only because of the useless fan but because of noise from other guests and from the resident dogs. I am a huge dog person but the dogs need to be put inside when people are trying to sleep.

Other drawbacks? We stayed for a week, and the staff is clearly on for 10+ hours a day, seven days a week. This is completely unacceptable for a (partially) foreign-owned establishment, and unfortunately, it shows in their service and attitudes. Only one staff member smiled during our entire stay, and service was lackadaisical - you almost felt like you were burdening them with your presence. The staff spends a lot of time sitting around and watching TV.

Despite its wonderful location, one gets the impression that Moonhuts is trying to nickel-and-dime you out of every baht. The hotel doesn't provide beach towels - threatening messages posted in your bungalow warn that you will be charged for dirtying the bathroom towels and that they are NOT to be taken to the beach - of course, you are welcome to buy a beach towel from the desk. What kind of beach hotel doesn't provide beach towels? There is also a threatening message hanging in the bathroom warning that you will have to pay should the toilet in your bungalow become blocked. Wi-fi is available, but at a completely ludicrous price (you have to purchase an access card - what year is this? Why can't they just give out a password like everyone else?). 180 baht for one hour is a complete scam - save your money and go to the internet cafe at the end of the road. The owner is friendly and the dog is adorable! Some menu items are also ridiculously priced, clearly intended to wring the most money out of families. Snack-y items are very expensive and basically thrown on a plate, served to you without a smile. There are a few great places to eat in town just a short walk away - Samon's can't be missed, and Angela's is great for lunch.

The atmosphere at Moonhuts is just ok. The foreign owners were around during our stay but only seemed interested in the older travelers and entertaining their personal guests (whose children were beyond entitled and obnoxious). We are relatively young and saw a few other younger couples there during our stay, but it is clear that you are at the bottom of the hotel's guest hierarchy, so expect a minimum of respect and service. The families staying here can be annoying, treating the staff and restaurant as their personal babysitters and daycare. Letting your child go naked on the beach is one thing, but they should be clothed in the restaurant area during mealtimes when other guests are present.

One last bit of advice - make your own arrangements for onward travel. We were given the runaround while using the transportation the hotel helped us arrange. One would think an establishment would not want to associate themselves with the bus scams that are all too common in Thailand.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nvnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

A mixed party of Thai/English age range from 19 months to 78 years, we enjoyed 5 nights at Moonhut relaxing on the beach, but the place is a bit run down and would benefit from a good clean/tidy up.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandaUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

. . . which is what we liked about them. Oh, and they're immediately next to the Gulf of Thailand which meant that morning swim was only moments away from bed.

We stayed in an A/C hut for one night and a fan cooled one for three nights - because I'd messed up the reservation - and both were just fine, the bathrooms were simple but more than adequate and our rooms were serviced daily. Wifi was available (chargeable) in the huts which was unexpected and handy. The place is just about the right size so as not to be crowded

We hired a scooter via the reception to explore the island and had some of our meals at moonhuts, everything was smoothly dealt with and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timpaws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.5 mi away
Paradise Beach Resort
Paradise Beach Resort
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
1.0 mi away
Escape Beach Resort
Escape Beach Resort
#8 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
1.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Khwan Beach Resort
Khwan Beach Resort
#5 of 30 in Mae Nam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
1.2 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,475 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonhut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonhut Bungalows

Property: Moonhut Bungalows
Address: 67/2 Moo1 | Maenam Beach, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 429 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moonhut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonhut Bungalows is an idyllic Thai / European family operated resort with twenty two bungalows & three houses, built in the traditional style of a Samui beach resort. All rooms have private balconies with views across the sea towards the neighboring island Koh Phangan and all have their own, clean, western style bathroom with shower. Personal safety boxes are installed in all rooms. Guests have a choice of air-conditioned bungalows or standard rooms with fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Moonhut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonhut Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing