We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place for peaceful time at Samui+great swimming water/ Лучшее место для спокойного отдыха на Самуи для пары”
Review of Moonhut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Moonhut Bungalows
Ranked #26 of 462 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

At moonhut you can find separate one-room bungalows for short stay, one-floor houses 50 m from the sea for long-time rent, and more upper-class two-floor houses for same purpose. No swimming pool, but there is one at the hotel 25 meters away. Unlimited access to a comfortable beach, which is not long though, 20-25 meters. The water is clear and calm, very nice swimming.
Great food variety at the restaurant, prices not high, 80-100 for fried rice, drinks 100 baht. Laundry services available, free library, kayaks for rent, etc.
7/11 nearby and local cafees.
NIce location if you are planning to rent a bike - 7-8 minutes ride to the Chaweng where the party and nightlife is, if you need it.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Koshkinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 310 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed in AC2 for 3 nights, and our friends got AC1. The rooms were large and comfortable, and right on the beach. Our AC worked fine, but our friends had some trouble in AC1. The bathrooms were not my favorite, but they were clean and worked fine. The upsides were the sunbathing lounge chairs, the adorable pets, and the beachfront location. The downs were that breakfast was not included and they charge for beach towels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichalleR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Very nice jungle-like surrounding within the resort area. the bungalows aren´t built right next to each other, so you can have your private space. Clean room, bed and bathroom, nice balcony. good room rates (also affordable for backpackers) for Maenam Beach. The restaurant however... we weren´t alright with the food-quality (no good taste and way too expensive) and the service.....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomas g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in AC1 on the 8th, 9th and 10th August and can confirm that the air conditioning was certainly working. Didn't get any noise from the bar next door, yes the doors were sticky but we did not bring this to the attention of the staff. Perhaps 2000 bht without breakfast is a bit expensive as we certainly found cheaper places on great beaches which included breakfast and I would agree it is unnecessary to charge for beach towels. The upside of AC1 is that it is right on the beach, Maenam has a fantastic swimming beach and you have many options along the beach to dine out in the evenings. We particularly enjoyed Café Tolay. Would certainly rate this rate over Bophut. beach

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrycNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the beach bungalow AC1, the location directly on the beach is lovely however that's where the positives stop. Before I go on I have travelled Thailand a lot about 12-15 times and have stayed in all sorts of places 1* shacks to 5+ star resorts but all have charged accordingly. Here we paid about 2000BHt a night for a room worth at tops 10000BHt. It feels the western owner just gets what he can to pay for his speed boat and not worry too much about the important things.

On arriving we were shown to our room put the air con on after a long journey only to find it blowing hot air. I asked one of the staff to check and he did and said he would call the engineer. After a short call he said all was fine. It clearly wasn't as it was still just a fan blowing hot air out. They clearly did not want to spend money on this as I guess the call was to the western owner.

Service in bar and restaurant was very slow although food was good although quite expensive.

The sun beds have no sponge and are just wood, you are not allowed to take room towels and they have the nerve to charge 50BHt a day for a beach towel, travelling its one thing we don't carry with us.

The room although had perfect location was very tired, patio doors very hard to open, bed sheets stained, bathroom mouldy and has toilet paper stuffed in gaps in the wall.

Although a nice location next door bar has decided to play music until about 11am so if like us you just wanted an early night forget it.

At about 9-9.30 we were told that the kitchen was closed yes there are plenty of places to go but sometimes you just want to go close.

I would suggest that you either: don't stay here unless price drops, or stay in one of the cheaper rooms set back (although these are still over priced)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank -Travel-80s-Guy-
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Wondeful setting on a really nice beach. Room clean and spacious.. No bedside light or kettle which would have made it even better.I tried to load a picture but unable to? Rented bike and organised taxi through the hotel - all very helpful.

Room Tip: We had AC bungelow 3 on the beach and preferred to number 1 which is right by the water but not very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Good points;
Great location
Villas were fab
Nice and quiet yet not too far away from chaweng( 10 mins in car)
Great atmosphere
Clean and peaceful

Bad points
No service with a smile
Food average ( go to Zanzibar next door, WAY better)
Customer service was below average, you won't feel very welcome. Weird mafia like atmosphere in the bar and service area
Don't stay after 11.30 in the bar as they turn all the lights off with no warning.

In all tho a great location and awesome time, just go elsewhere for service with a smile and good food.

Oh and the dog is super cute and friendly

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank graemewilsonnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.2 mi away
The Hammock Samui Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
The Moonrakers
The Moonrakers
#10 of 56 in Mae Nam
26 reviews
0.9 mi away
Shangri-La Bungalows
Shangri-La Bungalows
#14 of 56 in Mae Nam
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ampha Place Hotel
Ampha Place Hotel
#1 of 35 in Mae Nam
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palm Point Village
Palm Point Village
#4 of 35 in Mae Nam
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Beach Resort
Hacienda Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Moonhut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moonhut Bungalows

Address: 67/2 Moo1 | Maenam Beach, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 462 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range: $17 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Moonhut Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moonhut Bungalows is an idyllic Thai / European family operated resort with twenty two bungalows & three houses, built in the traditional style of a Samui beach resort. All rooms have private balconies with views across the sea towards the neighboring island Koh Phangan and all have their own, clean, western style bathroom with shower. Personal safety boxes are installed in all rooms. Guests have a choice of air-conditioned bungalows or standard rooms with fan. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Moonhut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moonhut Bungalows Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing