We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience!”

Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sailing and yacht charters on Koh Samui in Thailand, island tours to Koh Phangan, Koh Tao, National Marine Park with Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter Co. Ltd.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

After a disastrous stay in a hotel in Koh Samui, we decided to check out and either check in to another hotel or go on a two day boat trip. Luckily we rang Kunta who at very short notice arranged for us to take out one of his catamarans. We were picked up the next morning and brought to the beach where we met our skipper Kim (or KT). Kunta and Kim hauled our ton of luggage and all three of us on board and off we sailed into the morning sun. Kim, to our delight, gave us a basic course in sailing and we wholeheartedly became his crew. He was our travel guide, our entertainment manager, our food and beverage manager and our skipper! We breakfasted, lunched and dined together and swapped tales of the countries that we had visited. He introduced us to a Thailand we probably never would have known, and for that we will always be very grateful.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank YLQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    9
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“WoW - Perfect day”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

During our stay in Samui we wanted to find something different besides the classic boat tour or speed boat. The concierge at our hotel, recommended us this trip by catamaran for a day.

They came to pick up us in front of our hotel and from that moment by seeing the catamaran "crazy horse" I knew that this will be a great day, all the team were perfect, and attentive, beautiful day to share with friends.

The price is really reasonable comparing with other company.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank casastyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I booked a private charter aboard the 'crazy horse' catamaran for a day trip to koh phangan. Both crew members were exceptionally friendly and helpful and took us to some beautiful spots for snorkelling. Lunch was at a little restaurant perched on a rocky cliff overlooking the ocean and was the best Thai food I have ever had. The whole day was relaxing, fun and exciting discovering so many breathtaking landscapes. I would say this is a 'must do' in koh samui.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank midwife83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
135 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Its all about money - DONT TRY”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Today we went on the sailing boat. We booked it for 2 people. 8000THB. Pick up at the Hotel, than drop pff on the beach and the driver said just walk to that boat and tell them your Hotel. there were 2 Boats there. So we were confused. The skipper though was really nice and tried to do everything and make us feel comfy. After 15 min we left the island the wind was a bit strong for our feeling and the boat was turning sidewards so much that w got scared. We were thinking should we go to Koh Pahngan or not. We decided to go back cause beeing scared and not enjoying is not the point. Fine. After we called the owner, German guy, his first reaction was: If you cancell you can not punish us for your decission and we have to charge you full price. There is no other way. So his point was to get his money and not his clients to have fun or feel comfy. Anyway we arrived back in the pier. He told us again: The boat is really safe you know. we have good skippers and there is no point to worry. Where is the voucher of your Hotel? I told him they didnt give us a voucher. But how you pay he asked? Did you make a deposit? After all this questions about money i told him: Sir, there is a difference between enjoying an activity or not. Even if you say the boat is safe if we are not having fun and feel scared, nomatter if its safe or not, you should understand. Yes but we still have to charge you full! The titanic was also safe but sank at the end.

My point was not that we had to pay. My point was that he didnt care about his customers if they enjoy or not. So all in all i reccomend you try another company who appriciate more your business than money fixed people. The boat was damn dirty inside and the skipper was appologizing that he hadnt had time to clean.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Worldtraveller1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuntakosamui, Manager at Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
the day this occured was a good day to go sailing as we had all our boats in action and returned with happy customers accept this client! the skipper and myself as the manager were very surprised that the clients wanted to return after a short while because they were scared beeing on a sailing yacht which by nature tipps to one side when the wind blows into the sails.
The skipper as myself tryed repeatadly to explain that this is normal on a sailing yacht as its part of the sport and that there is nothing to worry about. The clients still decided to brake up the day and it is our duty to explain first hand on the spot to explain that we respect his decition but have to charge for the day so no complications accure afterwords about payment!
we are sorry if this clients read this as a sign of "money talk" , we just have to be clear that the clients understand the conditions and consequences involved! If weather conditions would be too heavy to go out we always give people the opertunity to pospone to another day or return there payment!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
1 review
“A FANTASTIC SAILING TOUR”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

In February I visited friends at Koh Samui. In that occation we went on a two days sailing trip on a beutiful catamaran with Konta (the owner) and Bobbi (crew).
We were a big group with very differnt ages.
They both gave us a relaxted and safe time on the boat, sailing on the calm waves on a fantastic colourful sea. We were served cold drinks and tasteful fruits and were very well taken care off.

We stayed overnighat at Koh Pangang, in cosy huts, and had a lovely dinner on the beach into the sunset.

We were swimming in the warm sea and we were also offered masks for snorkling.

The sailing tour back to Koh Samui the day after, was at least as good as the day before.

I do give this company my best recomandation, here you have safty and comfort.

I will be back, thanks from Kari

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kari K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter also viewed

 

Been to Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing