We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sailing in the islands”

Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Sailing and yacht charters on Koh Samui in Thailand, island tours to Koh Phangan, Koh Tao, National Marine Park with Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter Co. Ltd.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Great sailing in the islands”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My third trip on the wonderful catamaran, Dreamcatcher -- an overnighter to Koh Tao as well as Koh Phangan. The sailing, the boat and the crew never fail to impress.

This time we managed to fit in some snorkeling as well, at some of the best sites around Koh Tao, and how good was that! A profusion of reef fish, and some good coral in some of the clearest water you will ever snorkel in.

Sailing in the waters near Koh Samui is the best way to take in the beauty of this area -- far superior to rushing around on a speed boat or one of the shared charters of larger motor vessels. And the winds seem to be exceptionally reliable for sailing

The facilities on Dreamcatcher would be hard to improve, and she sails fast and comfortably. Thanks again to Kunta and the crew for such a memorable couple of days

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank venividivice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    10
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Crazy horse - Koh Samui”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Here is a copy of the letter we sent to the company - it was the best day - we can't recommend this tour highly enough. Go to www.sailing-in-samui.com. The owner Kunta and the boys speak English and this made us feel very comfortable as we knew what was happening thought the day.

___________________________

Hi Kunta

We just wanted to let you know we had an awesome day today. Ray and Pa were such good sports.  You were brave sending them with seven middle aged women! We laughed and played like kids today and it felt great.

When you told us we were being picked up by the crew from the beach outside of our hotel we were surprised and delighted. Being picked up and dropped off via the beach made us feel very special.  Also the restaurant that we had lunch at was in a lovely spot and the food was great.

We have  already highly recommended this tour to everyone at our resort at Baan Samui and told them all what a fun day we had and that we had fabulous service from your company. The day was made for us by Ray and Pa - we received service like we have not experienced with other tour operators or guides in Koh Samui.

Thanks for a great day with lots of laughter and fun memories.

Xoxox

Kelly, Rhonda, Debbie, Glynis, Sharon, and Marie

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss on The Dreamcatcher”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I sailed from Koh Samui to Koh Pha Ngan for our anniversary on The Dreamcatcher, a 33 ft. catamaran. Kunta and Stu took us out on the boat and provided one of the best days of our lives.

There was plenty of fresh Thai fruit, beer, and laughs to go around. The boat was great, the views were amazing, but most of all -- the service and company was the best.

Kunta and Stu took us to a wonderful oceanside restaurant for lunch where we noshed on fresh fish, salad, pad thai, and white wine. We stopped at secluded beaches, enjoyed dives into the ocean, and swam in the crystal clear waters.

It was by far our best day in Samui. We were having so much fun, we wanted to extend our trip!

I only wish we could have stayed longer and done an overnight trip with Kunta and Stu. If I could do it again, I would definitely book a 3+ day tour on Dreamcatcher.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RunCocoRun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We fell in love with sailing!”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Me and my husband just came back from a 3 day sleep-aboard sailing safari with the Dreamcatcher catamaran. We went from Koh Samui to Koh Tao and Koh Phangan and had the most amazing time! The boat is lovely and very confortable, the service excelent, the nature fantastic! Even the music on board is great :) Kunta, our Skipper, and his assistant Pa, made our trip a memorable experience! We actually fell in love with sailing so hard, that we already made arrangements to go to a sailing school and try getting certified as skippers :) Thank you Kunta!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Treatsandstreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a please to come back!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is the 3rd time I came back to Samui and the 3rd time I booked a sailing trip with Skipper Kunta and his crew, and every time it was absolutely worth it.

We booked a two-day tour around Koh Phangan, including watching a mind-blowing sunset on the boat, staying overnight in a lovely little hut on Koh Maa an doing some snorkeling.

Looking forward to our next visit!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ericschaetzlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter also viewed

 

Been to Samui Ocean Sports & Yacht Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing