We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best italian restaurant we had out of Italy”
Review of La Lanterna

La Lanterna
Ranked #38 of 1,280 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The new Italian restaurant Pizzeria "La Lanterna", opened in 2013, was founded by the enthusiasm and passion for good food of the two owners Gianni and Giuseppe. The restaurant "La Lanterna" is the ideal place for lunch, dinner and relax during your vacation in Thailand. Located in Chaweng Noi, in the beautiful scenery of the island of Koh Samui, the restaurant "La Lanterna" offers the opportunity to taste typical dishes of the "Bel Paese" . At the restaurant "La Lanterna ", the best of local raw materials blends with the renowned Italian import products to offer the flavors and scents of the Mediterranean. A staff friendly and professional, meets the needs of even the most demanding customers, preparing and offering the best with modern amenities and the best Italian cuisine. The environment and informal care, the right quality/price ratio make the restaurant "La Lanterna" a comfortable place where you can spend pleasant moments of taste and conviviality.
Bangkok
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The best italian restaurant we had out of Italy”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We have been to this restaurant because it was very close to our hotel and we have not been disappointed at all. The food was great and it was even one of the best italian restaurant we have been to. They serve real italian food for a good price.
Do not go there for the view at it is on the edge of the road, the service as the tenants may not come to welcome you but just for the food which was in our opinion excellent !

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank PandanouBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    85
    23
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Israel
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Best Tiramusu I've Ever Had ”
Reviewed December 24, 2013 via mobile

... And everything else was great too: The pastas, the seafood, the appetizers, the wine. The 4 cheese gnocchi was perfect.
Prices are fair, service is friendly and impeccable at the same time, atmosphere is very laid back. Really good energy.
Owners are Italian and super nice.
We left there fat :-) but smiling.

Helpful?
Thank DaBeNa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Now it wasn't bad but it wasn't great also and maybe we had high expectations. The best was the local waiter however the wine was off smelling like vinegar , the bread was stale and the pasta was not great. Quite a remote location and we wouldn't go back. Not true italian but it des full your stomach.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Expat-kiwis1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Small and cosy”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Our family visited this place twice during our stay on Samui.

The staff is very helpful, caring and polite. The Thai waiter had a very good command of English to Thai standard. Australian beef, salmon and tuna steaks were simply great, especially the latter. We liked fettuccine carbonara a lot as well. Their thin crust pizza was similar to the one you may find somewhere in Italy baked in a coal oven. It does tend to be a bit shy on toppings though to my taste. My brother is a fan of wines and he highly rated their house wine.

Cons:
1) no fresh juices were available during our visit (on Samui it is a crime!);
2) they do not have kids' chairs.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sergeten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of the most authentic Italian Meals I've had”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The owner Bruno is a very knowledgeable person on Italian food and had chosen some quintessential dishes for me to savour. I must say they are delicious and authentic.

The location is great, the food is great and the service impeccable. BTW, it is great value too!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aristocrat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Lanterna also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing