We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice elephant ride but not what we thought it'd be.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Na Muang Waterfall

Na Muang Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.33*
and up
Koh Samui Island Half-Day Tour
Ranked #44 of 140 things to do in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice elephant ride but not what we thought it'd be.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

We decided not to book with our hotel or tour people and just jumped in a taxi straight there (400 baht each way too and from from Lamai). This was a great decision as it was very quiet (around 9am) we got there before all the tours turned up.

The place was nice, and pretty much what I expected. The elephants seemed well looked after and our guide seemed to have a really good bond with our elephant which was lovely, we fed her bananas and even got to ride her up front, I wouldn't have done this if I felt the animals were mistreated. The only issue we had which is why I wouldn't give this more ratings is we thought we'd be trekking through the jungle, we basically slightly entered the jungle and a nice little lake/pond bit which the elephant went in but essentially we just looped around the zoo they have there, the views of barbed wire zoo fences weren't great. Our guide took my camera and photographed us while we were going round (for a small tip at the end) which was good. Even at 9am the sun is strong here in March so in heinsight we wish we would of done the 30min tour not the 60min one, by the end we were drained by the sun and heat. As mentioned we thought we'd be in the jungle sheltered by the trees etc.

This trip was ok but I can see it wouldn't be for everyone and it could be a lot better. I wouldn't do it again.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    232
    264
    106
    107
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“disgusting and cruel”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

When arriving at the attraction there was a baby elephant chained to a tree with no water or shade. The chain was too tight and cutting into its foot. It was surrounded by its own waste and was shaking and rocking its self clearly in distress. There were two other elephants that turned up some time later that had been carrying tourists around and again they looked unhealthy and stressed. When booking to go on this trip we had been advised that it was just to see the waterfall, the waterfall its self was beautiful but after seeing how poorly the elephants were treated and how they were being exploited it took away from the waterfall and surrounding area. I would not recommend this attraction under any circumstances.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank hannah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

To arrive on this excursion and the first thing to witness is a baby elephant chained by the foot pacing from one foot to another is quite disturbing. The baby elephant was alone and looking very unhappy and distressed. The trek itself looked very lame and the big elephants didn't look very healthy or happy either, the Thais riding on the elephants had a big stick with a hook on. We paid for the trip in advance but declined to ride the elephant. I have never seen anything so disgusting and disturbing. If you are an animal lover please avoid this place. I love ko samui and have nothing but praise for the island and the people, but this elephant trekking organisation really disappoints me. It is very sad. Save your money and do something else.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Dee T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterfall”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

This is a very busy place but big enough to cope with everyone there.

There are some nice places to pick up a drink and souvenirs but more importantly when you get to the waterfall, as it's surrounded by jungle it's a beautiful place to visit.

If you bring your trunks you can take a dive in the pool at the bottom.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Relax at the top by the natural pools”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

If you're driving yourself, you can easily avoid the hubbub at the bottom. There's ample parking in the lot, then a 10 minute walk on the road to the entrance (the fee is 50 BHT).
If you're going all the way up, this is where your hike starts. Yes folks, it's steep, so wear appropriate shoes. Although I saw people do it in flip flops, now how the heck? And no whining that it can get slippery please (hmmm, waterfall, rocks, who woulda thought...) There are ropes strung in places to help you over the rough spots. Even so, the path is not super clearly marked, so just follow the rushing sound.

There are lovely swimming holes at or near the top, and very few people. Plenty of water at the beginning of February. Excellent for chilling out.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Nora A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Muang Waterfall also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Na Muang Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing