We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice”
Review of Na Muang Waterfall

Na Muang Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$31.64*
and up
Koh Samui Island Half-Day Tour
Ranked #44 of 135 things to do in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here with Mr Ung's tour and it was quite nice, had been raining that day so couldn't climb to the top but is still nice to look at from the bottom

Helpful?
Thank Mikey1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    242
    270
    109
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Please dont bother..”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

The waterfall was soo lame, the hike up soo dangerous and the tourists too many with their behinds facing every single pic we took,,(My request, if you do go up please do not SIT in the waterfall and have your butt in every tourists pic)..Anyhow, the place before the waterfall was stunning and we saw some elephants but after shelling out 400 Bhatt for a 4x4 drive up the mountain I was hoping to jump off and see the waterfall however, we ended up walking about 15 mins on scary makedo bridges, steep inclines and slippery rocks. The waterfall at the top was indeed disappointing and lack lustre. We just clicked 2-3 pics and were off. Also we took our 3 year old along which we regretted immensely..do not take kids here..not safe.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cl3opatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't go!”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

The waterfall is a pathetic drizzle and a steep climb. We took a 4x4 vehicle standing next to a mud trail for 100 baht each on the understanding that they were taking us to the waterfall. However, they just took us back to the car park we had walked from and then about 100m up a side road ( a public road) to the bottom of the waterfall. We could have ridden the motorbike we had hired straight there for free!! Don' t get caught out like us.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Scooby117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
694 reviews
311 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 798 helpful votes
“The Scam, the Elephant ride and the Accident on the Rocks”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

There are two waterfalls in this park… No. 1 and No.2.
To get to No. 2 you have a 15 minute walk. Alternatively you can hire a 4X4 with driver (not sure of the cost). We arrived about 4.45, and everything was closing up, so we left and came back the next morning.

This time we turned up the road to waterfall No.1 , and were directed by a man standing on the road, to park on the side of a cabin, and told we could not proceed in our own vehicle and had and to hire a guide. On further questioning we decided it was a scam, and continued down the road in our car to where the elephants were waiting. It was a short walk from here to the waterfall, but we opted for the elephant ride. I tried to bargain but couldn’t get the price below BT600 each for 30minutes. I saw another guy pay BT700.

The elephant ride was a lot of fun. The mahout allowed me to sit on the elephants head (see photos), and he took photos for us from the ground. I made the mistake of buying bananas for our elephant, and she continued to hassle me for more bananas, even after they were finished. She is a character..lol

We returned to the waterfall after the elephant ride. There are restaurants, food trolleys, souvenirs etc., and good toilet facilities. We decided not to swim as the water looked murky, but proceeded down to get some pictures. My friend slipped on the rocks and landed a big gash in his leg. I drove him to hospital where they stitched him up, but it will be some time before his leg is healed, necessitating him to postpone his flight home. Be careful!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Kanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go up”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Don't stay at the bottom!
We had almost no rain, so the Waterfall wasn't really a "water"fall.
But unlike the tourists we decided to go as far up the mountain as possible.
There are small ways that are absolutely walkable except for flip-flops.
Once you made your way through the jungle you get an amazing view over the jungle, the waterfall and you can see the sea.
Also there is a perfect "swimming pool" at the top where you can jump from the rocks in the water with a view over the island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Muang Waterfall also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Na Muang Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing