We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok falls, if you skip- you wont miss much”
Review of Na Muang Waterfall

Na Muang Waterfall
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.43*
and up
Koh Samui Island Half-Day Tour
More Info
$53.86*
and up
Eco-Jungle Safari Tour around Koh Samui Including Lunch
More Info
$29.65*
and up
Koh Samui Round Island Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #44 of 137 things to do in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Jaipur
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
“Ok falls, if you skip- you wont miss much”
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We went to Na-Muang Waterfall 2, so all comments are reserved for Na-Muang 2. I cant say about Na-muang 1 but 2 was just about Ok.

We had a rental car, so driving from our hotel at lamai did not take much time.On reaching, we parked at the base and then walked up to this place where they have the info office. The complex consists of a safari park where apart from the waterfalls you can do an elephant safari, watch a monkey show and a few more animal related activities which children can really enjoy. For couples, I dont see much of appeal to this place.

So after we finished asking questions, we bought tickets for a topless pick up sort of truck that dropped us to the hiking trail. The climb to na-muang is pretty steep. Pls ensure you wear the right shoes. Its very muddy and slippery and rocky so wrong shoes can lead to a mean accident. Its also very hot (April) and i recommend hats, water and sunscreen. The falls are just about ok. The water wasnt very clean and the place was way too crowded.

But it was a good cardio to climb up and down. if you are short on time, give this a miss!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank anuroopabanerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    271
    283
    114
    126
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Neatly packed”
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The entry has elephant trekking and elephant and monkey shows. There's also the sky fox canopy zip lines ride (a must try). The waterfall is neat and small. Roads leading up are poorly done (maintaining the original style) so can be so taxing to go up and down. Too many people are crowded at the waterfall and it affects the view one can capture on the camera. I've seen much bigger and grand waterfalls but since this is a small island, I guess this would make do.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ms_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Waterfall was OK, Baby Tigers Were Cool”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Had the feel of being overly touristy. Had giant parking lot, cafe's, waterslide, elephants, and even a jeep tour for those too lazy to hike 10 minutes up the hill to the actual waterfall. They did have a large tiger, a baby tiger, and a large leopard you could hold and pose with. That was cool. On the other side of the island, but worth a stop on your way around. Highly recommend getting a scooter and and doing the loop, stopping as you go.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Unless you have never seen a waterfall before, save yourself the time and energy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank JennieofGeelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Samui's Biggest Rip Off”
Reviewed April 26, 2012 via mobile

Took taxi to the waterfalls. Jeep tour was supposed to be off road adventure to the falls. The jeep drove up the side of the hill, which you could have walked up the paved road. The cost was 300BT for a 3 minute ride. When you get to the top, there is a walkway made of lashed together bamboo, with no railings, the steps to the falls are crumbling and unsafe. Save your money!

Helpful?
Thank cavernab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Muang Waterfall also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Na Muang Waterfall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing