We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Barracuda”
Review of Sunset

Sunset
Ranked #1,033 of 1,283 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Price range: $1 - $24
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Thai
Restaurant details
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Try the Barracuda”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We came here a couple of times on our holiday. Delicious food, generous portions and amazingly priced! The chargrilled barracuda was an absolute favourite!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    24
    20
    25
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Dreamy restaurant”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Awesome place at night...looks like a fairytale...great mad friendly service with yummy cocktails..all and all great vibe.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 19890907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
2 reviews
“Terrible.”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Would never set foot in there again, slow service, different times when being served main course. One member of our group had finished the main course before our starters arrived. Staff could not care less
I thought it was a set up on Candid camera it was that poor. We left before all the order was served, after one and a half hours !

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marco_pBudapest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor food, poor staff, better available just metres away”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The warning signs were there - with a menu that huge there's no way they can cook everything in there to a high standard.
Food was the worst meal we had in a 2 week holiday in Thailand.
Overcharged us and then shortchanged us, then shouted at me when I tried to get the correct money back!
There are superb food night markets 100metres away where the food is far better, the same view is on offer, and you won't have to suffer this "tourist trap".

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2Fast4Love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Time for a visit from Gordon Ramsey.”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Located at the southern end of the Nathon beach road, this is a restaurant in a great location for early evening, sunset drinks and food. The restaurant has been well established by picking up custom from the constant stream of traffic and tourists who stop to see the beautiful sunsets over Ang Thong Marine Park. It is an ideal spot for a photo-call.
It is quite a large restaurant, with the majority of the seating outside in the shady, garden over-looking the beach. the staff here are friendly, although not overly attentive. The menu is very large offering Thai and Western and they do make some tasty fruit shakes and soups but I found the food we ordered was rather a disappointment. Classic dishes should bearing some resemblance to their original, I feel. A Carbonara is not tagliatelli with scrambled eggs and tinned mushrooms sprinkled on top.
Overall, I just got the feeling that it was all very jaded and that custom was just something they expect to get without making any effort to keep. There will always be more tourists along tomorrow.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset also viewed

Ang Thong, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing