We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food with a smile”

Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #255 of 1,343 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We also have three bungalows at the back of the restaurant at 799(2pp) +a beautifull bungalow on the bangpor beach ask for all details check the web site and talk to patrick,thank you, 20% on all food with pre 0rder in the morning same day
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Normally wouldn't bother with western food when away went in here for a drink the other evening and ended up staying for food and many more drinks. Patrick the French chef has spent the last 10 years working in some of Ireland 's top restaurants his last job was at Michael flatleys country manor so if he's good enough for Michael he's good enough for me. Food of the highest standard and large portions. Wine was nice and not too dear. Patrick has picked up a lot of the blarney from his time in Ireland and makes a wonderful host. Can't recommend Frenchy's enough wonderful place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickW W, Owner at Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

hi
i remember you, not him ha!!
hope to see u again

frenchy's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

112 - 116 of 166 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We ate at Frenchy's quite a few times during our stay in Bangrak. The breakfast is great value and set us up for the rest of the day, but if you don't want the full Irish every day chef Patrick will make anything you want.

The evening meals were also great, especially the fish for two that was huge and tasted wonderful. We ate at many of the restaurants in Bangrak but would truly recommend Frenchy's for the quality and value.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ValRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickW W, Owner at Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

we hope to see you soon and have a great year
frenchy's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We were recommended to Frenchy’s by a chef, which is always a good indication. We would generally always eat the local food when on holiday, but the recommendation, warmth of the welcome and superb quality of the food here tempted us away on a number of occasions.

We came back for the great value Irish breakfast most days, although we had it for lunch as it is served till 3pm. It might sound an odd choice in this climate, but it was beautifully cooked with fresh ingredients and not too heavy so set us up for the day.

One lunchtime we tried the pate and Cheese for a change. The pate was fresh, homemade and wonderful; the Cheese selection was just stunning. I have no idea where Chef Patrick sources his ingredients, but the cheeses were better than anything I have seen in good restaurants in the UK. It wasn’t cheap, but the quality made it great value; one pate and a cheese platter between two of us left us so full we just wanted to snooze the afternoon away.

We also had dinner at Frenchy’s on a few occasions and again the food was simple, freshly cooked and used amazing ingredients. The steak was superb and the fish was incredible.

The food in Koh Samui was great wherever we ate, Frenchy’s is a little more expensive than the local places but the nice touches like the muse bouche and Chef Patrick coming to chat made this a great dining experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Culys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickW W, Owner at Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

thank you very much from the all team
see you soon
frenchy's

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stopped to have dinner at Frenchy's and were most surprised to find ourselves having a gourmet evening. Chef Patrick surprised us with his culinary cuisine of Seafood Hotpot with aioli served in a delightful claypot. My husband had a Thai green vegetable curry served in a tender coconut shell. Our friends each had superbly cooked steaks. The food was out of this world. It's what we have when visiting a fine dining restaurant in Edinburgh. It took us totally by surprise. I loved the complementary vichysoisse soup (welcomingly warm as it was a rainy night) served in a quaint little glasses. Well done Chef. You totally surprised us. I would highly recomment this French/Thai fusion restaurant for a treat to your senses and palate!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickW W, Owner at Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

thank you for your review and the all team say (see you soon)
patrick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Found this charming little bistro today by chance as our local was shut again! Glad it was because we found an alternative great spot to have breakfast. The pleasant chef owner served us and the Irish breakfast was very well presented, filling, tasty and very good value. Coffee was OK, but I'm very fussy. I shall be going back to try his other breakfast options in the near future.

I especially enjoyed the breakfast experience today as the background music was just the right tempo, the fans were all ( and there were loads of them!) blasting away and the decor is really quaint, there's definitely a bohemian touch in there, lots of wood, artisan lamps and such, very nice and I would imagine the place really comes into its own in the evening.

Looking forward to my next visit............................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BillyJoelThailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickW W, Owner at Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

merci beaucoup
and we will keep the good work
frenchy/s

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Mae Nam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Frenchy's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing