We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting, wonderful food, cheap beer - what more can you ask?”
Review of Beryl Bar

Beryl Bar
Ranked #248 of 1,303 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Leicester
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Stunning setting, wonderful food, cheap beer - what more can you ask?”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We have just been staying at Mai Samui and came across this place on TA while looking for food options in the area; and what a find! This little ramshackle restaurant is located in what amounts to almost a private bay overlooking the sea with a huge headland cutting you off from the rest of the island.

When you arrive it doesn't look great but it is! The food is cooked fresh to order which can mean you wait a while but it's worth it. The curries are divine and so generous of portion while you can get a huge plate of shrimp for three quid!

I can't recommend this place strongly enough for an authentic experience with great food at amazing prices. A typical meal with beer was 500 baht and that was more food then we could handle!

The day time is a great time to come - when we tried here for lunch they even gave us a platter of exotic fruits for free.

All in all the great place and a must for visitors to Mai Samui and the Passage.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DKN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    33
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent price, excellent location!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

If you're staying at the Mai Samui hotel this place is just a short stroll down the track and very much worth the effort. The food is truly beautiful, true Thai flavours with authentic sauces and blends. Try the deep fried sea bass (with the fish sauce & diced chilli) it's probably the best fish dish you'll ever eat (yes, it's that good!)
Get there before the sun sets for a perfect back drop to your dinner. Service is great and even better when you can add a few Thai phrases to show your appreciation to your hosts. If you want to compliment the food use the term 'A Roy maa maa' which quite simply means 'very very delicious' followed by 'kobh Kuhn maa' thank you very much.
Give this place a go and be sure to leave a generous tip if you enjoy the food. The family just about survive by the few tourists that manage to pop by.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyJay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“SImple Thai food - but exceptional flavours”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just follow the track approx 500m further on from Mai Saui, and you come across a ramshackle collection of tables and chairs on a small promontory. Very little English is spoken, so ordering is done by pointing. Dishes arrive when cooked, not necessarily together, or when you want them. However - the BEST coconut milk soup I had in 16 days in Thailand, and the biggest grilled prawns I have EVER seen! - OK, so some were a little over-cooked, but this is rustic cooking so flow with it.
At the (tiny) prices they charge, you can afford to leave a very big tip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!!”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I had read a few reviews about this place and was keen to try it was we were staying at Mai Samui resort up the road. After a bit of searching we found it. It is a 5min walking up the dirt road past our resort. On first glace it does look a bit dodgie and run down but we were greeted by a lovely man with fairly good english. The food we got was amazing so authentic best we had on our trip!!! I highly recommend this place even if you for a few drinks and to watch the sunset just don't forget insect spray it is our in the bush on the edge of the ocean :)

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubyrae007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyogle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We got a tip off from another couple at our resort to go visit this bar so we did last night.

It's a dusty old bar at the end of a dirt road but well worth a visit. Beryl is a man , who welcomed us to his place warmly. As we waited for our food the family sat chatting in the middle of the restaurant which added to the atmosphere.

We ordered beers and the sour yellow curry and squid in garlic and pepper sauce. We could here the grinding of the mortar and pestle which is always a good sign.

The food was served extremely quickly and very good size portions. The tastes were amazing. The sour curry hot, sour with an amazing smoky flavour. Again a really authentic Thai experience.

The place looks a little dusty and run down but you go to these places for the food and to see a real slice of Thailand.

Well worth a visit and our bill with 2 beers each and steamed rice just over 600 baht.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MHJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beryl Bar also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ang Thong, Ko Samui
 

Been to Beryl Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing