We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food, Super Slow Service”

Addy Siam Cooking Class and Restaurant
Ranked #441 of 1,283 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This is a Thai restaurant that we discovered on our stay in Bophut. It is situated right across from Anantara Bohput. It offers surprisingly awesome Thai food.
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
1,352 reviews
937 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 656 helpful votes
“Good Food, Super Slow Service”
Reviewed April 9, 2014 via mobile

We ordered two salads for lunch at 1.05pm yesterday and got them at 1.55pm!

Fair enough they were good but the restaurant wasn't over busy and that a ridiculous time to wait for something so simple. Add into it the fact there were loads of flies, the free internet didn't work and the beer wasn't cold, we left disappointed and won't be returning.

That's a shame as the food was authentic Thai and reasonably priced too.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Off their P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    14
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food and enjoyable and comprehensive cooking school”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been to Addy's cooking school twice with friends who have visited Koh Samui (we live here at the moment) and were impressed by Addy's knowledge and enthusiasm. We eat at Addy's restaurant on a weekly basis and although sometimes have a bit of a wait for the food, it is always hot, fresh and excellently cooked. Mainly salas for 4 people and good background music. Addy's wife and the other staff are very friendly and this is a great place to enjoy a few beers with friends and some home cooked authentic Thai food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda_B53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Simply amazing”
Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We popped into Addy's restaurant after walking by and seeing him cooking some amazing stir fry right next to the street.
The restaurant itself is ok for Thai standards, they've obviously been doing a bit of work but still have more to do, but at the end of the day who cares, it doesn't get in the way.
The staff are very friendly and smily, nothing was too much trouble, the menu is extensive and varied with lots of tantalising dishes... Then there is the food - wow is all I can say!
We had crap cakes and prawn spring rolls to start, loads of both and really fresh and vibrant. My partner had a curry and I had prawn wonton soup, we also shared a chicken rice, all were good quality and delicious, the soup was the best I've ever eaten, it was that good.
I can't fault the place, friendly atmosphere and brilliant food - avoid fisherman's market and it's overpriced tourist rubbish and come here to sample real quality thai food!

Helpful?
Thank Mooky9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“If you want to cook great Thai food go here!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

My husband and I were keen for an authentic, reasonably-priced Thai cooking class on our honeymoon, so were excited to discover Addy Siam, with great reviews, quite close to our hotel. We would never have picked this place, which looks like scores of others around it (simple, tidy, bamboo furniture and colourful decorations) as special - but it is. The experience and food was a highlight of our 8 days in Samui!

The class ran at 4pm for two hours, for 1,200 THB. They like bookings the afternoon before, so we phoned to book in, at which time they invited requests for three dishes we'd like to cook (good idea to have a think about your favourites before you call).

We were excited that it was just the two of us doing the class, with our own ingredients, implements and cooking stations. It was personalised, interactive, well-paced and just challenging enough for us (frequent cooks). With incredibly fresh seafood, chicken, local veggies and lots of spices and sauces we made fragrant and mouth-watering Tom Yum soup and two excellent stir-fries. Addy was relaxed and a great instructor, and his assistants took some great photos (emailed through to us quickly afterwards) and kept our cooking stations spotless and well-equipped.

The whole experience was fantastic - great value for money, a fun and relaxing way to spend a few hours and delicious, memorable food! Highly recommend!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HelenMMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Proper Thai Food!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We tried quite a few of the restaurants in Fisherman's Village and found them expensive and westernised - pad Thai and chips...! But we ended up eating here three times and had really good food.

The giant prawns with garlic were wonderful. Unpretentious home cooking and very reasonable. Do try it!

Helpful?
Thank molly3915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Addy Siam Cooking Class and Restaurant also viewed

 
Plai Laem, Ko Samui
 

Been to Addy Siam Cooking Class and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing