We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Hospitality”

Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant
Ranked #219 of 1,255 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Indian Hospitality”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great Indian food and lovely owners, we ate here twice on our holiday in August and can say that it is the best Indian food outside Glasgow. Will return when we are back visiting the island.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Susi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    15
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Good Indian food”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We almost never eat Indian food when we are on vacation away from India! However, during our recent stay at the Imperial Boat House, my wife had a longing to eat Indian food. After checking the reviews of the nearby Indian restaurant- Akbar on Tripadvisor, we decided to have dinner there one evening. The restaurant is right in the middle of Choeng Mon village and the friendly owner is usually at the entrance to welcome you.
We followed the advice on TA to go for the set meals. They have several set meal options to choose from and the owner even allowed us to exchange one set meal item if we paid the price difference on the menu. Before our meal arrived, we were given a basket of papads as an appetiser. The first item of our set meal was Garlic chicken tikka which was truly outstanding. It is difficult to get something like this in India too! The other items in the set meal-Karahi chicken and Dal Makhni were decent but not outstanding. We ordered a naan and a Parantha. along with our mains. The food was a nice change from the usual Thai food which we had been having for the last few days. They have a couple of options like rice pudding and gulab jamun for sweet dish but be skipped having the same.
We also interacted with the owner and he told us how he came about opening a restaurant on the island.
The set meal was excellent value for money but the other items on the menu appeared to be reasonably priced too! Certainly a must-visit if you are in the area and want to have Indian food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IshwinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hi guys”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

It is really delicious food there .. Waw I enjoyed a lot .. The guys there very polit and smiling all the time and they are helping you as they can .
Thank you guys I will be back .

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohamed G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Indian curries to make your mouth water”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We always make a 'bee line' to Akbars, its easily the best curry eating house around. Our favourite, the mutton dishes. Why they give you a knife is a mystery as the meat, imported from India, is so tender that it melts in your mouth, mmm. The restaurant may not be big in size but the food is very big in taste.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MansfieldTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Indian on the island - a must for halal food”
Reviewed December 5, 2012 via mobile

We discovered this restaurant looking for somewhere that served halal meat. We returned a few times during our 3 week stay. Each time the service was fantastic and the food was great. Authentic Indian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Boodleboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Akbar Indian and Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing