We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great course but a little pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Samui Golf and Country Club

Royal Samui Golf and Country Club
Ranked #86 of 162 Outdoor Activities in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great course but a little pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I played 9 holes yesterday and the course is in a great location with amazing views

I had to hire clubs as hadnt planned on playing which cost 500 baht, this would be ok but the clubs were very old with my 7 iron a blade club and my putter rusty
I also had to rent a buggy for 500 and then buy balls n tees so for 9 holes it all came to 2100 baht

The course itself wasn't in great condition, imagine an average council course in the uk and you get the idea, you pay for the views more than anything which are great and it's definitely worth it if you can afford it just to say you played but I feel they would have been busier with prices a little cheaper

Great to say I played though

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Joshlee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    19
    8
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Wyndham Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Not your average golf course”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Set in the hills of Koh Samui, this is a tight and challenging golf course. If you are an average golfer, your woods will need to stay in the bag, as the course has been set up so that you need to think your way around rather than getting a long drive off the tee. Views are spectacular, but for the cost of a round here, plus club hire, and the 4wd to get there( it was almost 3000thb), I'm sure that you would prefer to sit on the beach and have a few beers. But if you really like a challenge, then this is a great challenging course to play.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hotel90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a stunning course. We played here with a fairly large group and had an amazing time, none of us are serious golfers but we hacked our way through the course and were blown away by the beauty of the course and the stunning views of the island. The holes are fairly short but quite challenging, the course is quite well maintained and fun to drive around. They also provided us with some eskys on the golf buggies to keep our beer cold which was much appreciated! If you're a serious player I can understand that you might have some complaints about the course but if you're a casual player looking to have a fun hit-around then you won't be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“alan wales”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

If you are a serious golfer do not bother to play this course. Driver or long woods cannot be used. Blind holes and its badly designed to make it a frustrating day. All the golfers at our hotel had the same view. Cannot beleive the reviews must be connected to the club. My advise avoid at all costs.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank Jovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Drought Stricken but Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

The course was dry due to the weather, but it was great fun. Very tight and short and a bit rough around the edges, but carved from the jungle. Views were spectactular on several holes.Fun and very reasonably priced for 9 holes

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyO2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Samui Golf and Country Club also viewed

 

Been to Royal Samui Golf and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing