We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Antica Locanda

Antica Locanda
Ranked #217 of 1,238 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The pizzeria boasts genuine Italian ingredients shipped all thousand miles to Samui. And the restaurant owner, a 20-year resident of the island, and with a supportive Thai wife in tow, makes sure that their guests experience memorable dining moments. Antica Locanda offers huge portions, efficient service, friendly staff. THE KITCHEN OPEN EVERY DAY 13:10 TO 22:30
Koege, Denmark
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Italian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Been twice within the last month. Enjoyed Italian food as if it was made i Italy and not on Koh Samui. Absolute favorit dish will be "Penne All'arrabiata" a good spice Classic Italian dish, which is not seen many Places outside of Italy. It has a fantastic taste and in Antica Locanda this is absolute thruth. Close Your eyes - taste - and You will think You are in a tiny Little local ristorante in Italy, absolute fantastic food. Rest of the dishes also taste good and prices are not at a unfamiliar level. Well worth a visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    66
    12
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Italian food at reasonable prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

The restaurant is run by an Italian expat now based in Koh Samui. We crossed the place several times during our recent stay in Koh Samui. It was closed as the owner had gone home during the off season. However, we were lucky that it opened towards the end of our stay. We decided to eat here on our last evening on the island. We did not feel like eating much that evening and just shared a ham and mushroom pizza between the two of us. The pizza was of a decent size and was freshly made in a wood-fired oven. However, the quantity of the topping was not entirely satisfactory. We also had chocolate fondant for dessert. The prices were reasonable considering the standard of the place. The owner was friendly and came to our table a couple of times to enquire if we everything was OK. Eating here could be a good change if one gets tired of eating Thai food day in and day out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IshwinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I live on Samui,have done for many years been using this place for 12 years and have to say IMO it is the best Italian Restaurant on the island,as I write this I noticed today they are doing building work to update it hope it is as good after they finish the work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 232Jimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
111 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good alternative to Thai cuisine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

My Truly Beloved was getting a bit pissed off with my search for the perfect fish and wanted a break from spicy Thai so we went to this place on the recommendation of friends who live here.
Good starters and the pasta, pork and lemon and the lamb shanks were very good. Wine in always expensive but the house carafes were pretty good.
Service very good but it was not busy so can't comment on this properly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Super!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Excellent Italian restaurant with service to match Pizzas are highly recommended and are genuinely thin and crispy from a proper pizza oven.Very affordable and good house wine also sold by the carafe.Situated in Bang Rak between Choeng Mon and Bophut.Reservations would be a good idea at the weekend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimhuttonBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Antica Locanda also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Antica Locanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing