We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of my favourite places on Samui” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Krua Chao Baan

Krua Chao Baan
Ranked #935 of 1,222 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Koh Samui
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favourite places on Samui”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

I go here often, usually with visitors who want a bit of a local experience outside the tourist areas.
Best to go late afternoon, say around 5-5.30pm to enjoy the lovely seaview while it's still light. The food is probably the best Thai food I've had on Samui, with Hor Mok (a chilli/coconut/curried mousse) being outstanding. Also love the Pla Tod Krob Nam Pla (whole deepfried fish). Service is a bit erratic at times, but the menu is in Thai and English, with photos, so not that much of a challenge.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    31
    17
    10
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food by the sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Went there with a group of friends, 14 of us altogether. Service was prompt & the tasty food was served quickly. Everything we ordered was good and reasonably priced. We had 2 types of tomyum, 2 different pork dishes, beef green curry, deep-fried battered squid, omelette, mixed vegetable stirfy & a host of other local dishes, all washed down nicely with Chang beer!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank doids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Very lovely dinner setting and great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

Located right on the beach, a well maintained clean seafood and thai food restaurant. We ordered Massaman Chicken, Thai omelette, a fish curry, fried pork with lime leaves and a prawn dish. All very quick to serve, nice garnish, good taste and fresh. Service staff are good, the place was busy with some large group tables, but no one was left waiting. Seem to be a well run place.
Menu is extensive and price is good. With such a large menu we will return.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank iwatan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

This was a great place to go for a larger group and we did this as per a previous recommendation on Trip Advisor. It was a very good recommendation. Great spot close to our accommodation. We loved the open air feeling and the fact it's right on the coast. Food was a great selection and of course we chose the cost effective Thai - loved it. Staff were attentive and friendly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worst. Don't do it. Just don't.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

It would be generous to call this week old cafeteria food. The kind that sits under a light and isn't refrigerated. All items appeared, and tasted, microwaved. Been here two weeks and this was the worst meal we've had. Including the crab and mayo sandy on thai airways.
The service, strange bordering on creepy. The staff stood over us and awkwardly stared until we felt we had to order just to get her to go away. Not once did any server speak a word to us or ask how the food was. In fact, they seemed put out that we were even there and dared to ask them to wait on us.
The atmosphere and location could be good to great, but the disaster that is the food and service made any positive characteristic disappear. We would never eat here again nor recommend it to anyone. We will also be alerting out hotel and urging them to cease recommending this restaurant. Thailand has great cuisine to offer seemingly on every corner and this dump is NOT included.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KCNichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Krua Chao Baan also viewed

 

Been to Krua Chao Baan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing