We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must!”
Review of The Red Baron

The Red Baron
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.68*
and up
Koh Samui Brunch and Snorkeling Cruise
More Info
$82.87*
and up
Koh Samui Sunset Dinner Cruise
More Info
$120.16*
and up
Ang Thong National Marine Park Cruise from Koh Samui
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Koh Samui Sailing and luxury yacht charter, island tours to Koh Phangan Ang Thong National Marine Park .The Red Baron is a traditional Junk for private Charter, Sunset Cruise, snorkeling trip, private party, wedding, Romantic dinner...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Must!”
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Simply awesome vessel for private charter. Truly a unique sailing experience,on a sailing junk with a spectacular history to her. When it comes to sailing in koh samui, it does not get better than the Red Baron and her hospitable captain and crew!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    28
    10
    5
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“10/10 Experience and fantastic service.”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We've been to Thailand before, and have done the speedboat "tours" of the marine park/around the island - but wanted something a bit different (and relaxing) this time. Having had our trip on "Naga" (boutiqueyachting.com) cancelled the night before we were due to go because of low numbers (and having since discovered they do this quite a lot) our hotel advised us to book a trip on the Red Baron instead.

From the moment we got to the pier, the owner was welcoming and great fun. He's lived around the island for decades, and has a lot of local and international knowledge to pass on during the cruise. The ship itself has its own unique story of how it came to be, and is built really well - but still remains a traditional Junk-Ship with all the authentic feel of a much older boat.

The second we left the pier, the red sail was put up and we were off to our first beach for swimming/snorkeling/sunbathing/whatever we wanted. Nothing felt rushed, and the 4 guys on board (with only 12 customers) did everything they could to make us happy and comfortable - I can't help thinking that absolutely nothing would have been too much to ask of these guys.
The breakfast was tasty and filling, with a good choice of local food provided for lunch after we'd been swimming around some of the most secluded spots of Koh Phangan - of course, for those who didn't want to swim, that was fine too and the top sun-deck is an fantastic place to grab a tan!
The journey back to Bophut was slightly more leisurely, giving everyone time to relax onboard, grab a beer, and sit and watch the islands go by.

Our complete disappointment at being let down by Naga with no warning the day before was transformed into a huge relief - we're so happy we ended up sailing on the Red Baron instead, and considering a private charter next :-)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Telekinesys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We recently experienced a day a on this boat that we would rather forget. We were advised prior to travel that we would be able to fish, snorkel & have a massage whilst at sea. However this was not the case. There were only 2 and reels and no rods to fish with, and no bait so had to use left over from lunch to fish. No snorkling equipment & no massause on board. The food hygeine levels were questionable including seeing the meat wrapped in foil on the BBq when we arrived and the chicken, prawns and other food item were below the deck on a shelf near the bathrooms. Both overflowed several times during the day and one becoming inoperatable. Would never think about going again.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lilyc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedBaronSamui, General Manager at The Red Baron, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Sorry if somebody before the cruise told you in a wrong way what you can expect on our Yacht.
It would have been very easy just to check the WEB- Page of "The Red Baron" what you get on board, and thats a lot!

1. We have 3 Fishing seats equipped with 5 fishing rods and 2 reels for fishing available.
All of them are in a perfect conditions as one of our Cpt has been a Cpt. of a big fishing boat.
Our guest get from him all the information how to handle the rods as well as the reels.
Of course we dont provide deep sea fishing but fun fishing as an entertainment.
Baits are always available in our kitchen as we prepare always shrimps for lunch.
The Cpt. reported that some of the Customers caught some small fishes while the reviewer
was unfortunately unlucky.
We have a daily check of the Yacht and one point is also the fishing equipment
2. Snorkeling equipment for 40 persons (also for kids) is always availabe onboard for guests
The equipment is in good condition and also subject of our checking list.
3. We dont provide massage onboard if not requested with the booking. (Additional charge).
We did not get any request for massage with the booking.
4. The kitchen is seperated from the restroom by a hall. The kitchen is closed to the hall by a
a door. The restrooms are closed and seperated from the hall by doors.
The lunch food is delivered just in time to our Yacht (if not freshly prepared) .
The guests arrived about 11am onboard and required immediate lunch.
The BBQ Items where wrapped in Aluminium Foil and inside a kitchenware bowl and
delivered to the Chef to the BBQ area where he was waiting to start BBQ. The BBQ Area is
on the main deck at the back part of the Yacht. The Thai food dishes where delivered and
wrapped in trays and taken to the upper deck to the buffet area.
We dont have any shelfs near the bathroom!

Our Chef an international experienced cook takes utmost care of all food as we are all fully aware of risks of bad food and the possible impact on our Cruises!

All the food was cosumed with great pleasure, also from the reviewer!
Everybody stated the incredible quality of the food and enjoyed it wtih a fre glas of sparkling wine.
See also food comments on Trip Advisor!

Hygenie is besides safety and service our main focus!

As a routine the kitchen will be cleaned permanently and desinfected daily.

5. Yes there were problems with the sewerage. But a flooding is simply impossible as a sensor
stops immediately flushing if there is high water level in the toilette bowl.
The Service called immediately our engineer who reported that the marcerator pump stopped
working . As we have a spare marcerator available we changed the marcerator in about ten
minutes, and all toilettes were working normally.

There was no inoperatable toilette!

All Toilettes have lockable doors a handwash bowl soap and paper towels and a sanitary bin.

The reason for the stuck marcerator was a sanitary tampon thrown into the toilette, instead into a provided sanitary bin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Fabulous day!”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was our first trip to Koh Samui, and I found the Red Baron while researching on Trip Advisor.
I sent an email to make a booking, which was confirmed immediatley with no request for payment. This could be done on board, the day of the tour.
We were picked up from our hotel and taken to the pier to board the Red Baron.
What a magnificent vessel, loving built by the owner & captain, Bernd who gave us a great run down on how the boat was built.
Breakfast was cooked fresh on board, as was our beautiful lunch. There were eskies full of cool drink & water, and wine/beer etc was available.
This was with out doubt one of the most scenic and relaxing tours we have ever done, with Bernd the ever gracious host.
There were only 6 adults and 3 children on ythe boat, plus staff.
It was great to be able to really enjoy the views from avery angle, and there was so much to see.
This is a whole day tour, and if you looking for something a little more luxurious than the normal tours, you can't go past The Red Baron. Fabulous.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, Maine
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great staff and boat”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

As a disclosure, I was a guest of a wedding party so I didn't pay anything for the trip. But I wanted to comment that the staff worked very hard to make the trip enjoyable for everyone and I can fully see that they deserve their first class rating on Trip Advisor. Food was great, service too. We felt safe at all times as the attentive staff watched over everyone during our jumps and dives into the sea and throughout the trip. Altogether a great experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Baron also viewed

 

Been to The Red Baron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing