We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, great ambience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emerald Bar and Restaurant

Emerald Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #457 of 1,188 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Bangkok
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service, great ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We were happen to be at Emerald on Songkran night as other shops around were all closed. Surprisingly, we love everything there. Choices of drinks, great serving portion of tasty food with noises of waves. Most importantly staff were all friendly but highly efficient.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ericinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    15
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Emerald bar has the best service ever,I've not eaten here but the service for drinks is super quick mad they are very friendly

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiwichick73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
282 reviews
206 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“I wish I had eaten here...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

I did not eat here but I did drink there and I have to chime in, just a wee bit. First, beautiful location looking out over the sea. Service is spot on without exception. Friendly, on top of their game, get it right the first time and very quick. Obviously well trained. They have Kilkeny's on tap. That's it. I need nothing more. My guess is their food is better than passable as well. To the manager, owner, whatever...the ladies you have working in your pub are some of the best I have encountered in Asia, period. Very well done.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mainereale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Pub and Great Craic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Been here a few times, great place to hang out, sometimes they have great live music. If you go with family or friends it is perfectly suited for both. Food is wonderful and very home made. Don't miss it if your in this part of the world. Well done to George, Jimmy and the team.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ConorOLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Bar With Superb Accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I visited Koh Samui for Xmas and New Year with my Sister and my Daughter and stayed in one of the appartments located above the Emerald Bar. The two bedroom/two bathroom accommodation was ultra modern with stunning veiws from the balcony which took one's breath away. The bar below is very friendly and enjoyed by tourists and locals alike with reasonably priced good food and drinks. The manager Jim and his staff could not do enough for us and at the end of our stay we did not want to leave. The musical entertainment was provided by an Irish band who really had the place buzzing. Will be visiting again and would highly recommend to prospective holidaymakers.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ALEX_HOLMES701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emerald Bar and Restaurant also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Plai Laem, Ko Samui
 

Been to Emerald Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing