We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day”

Lomprayah High Speed Catamaran
Ranked #54 of 136 things to do in Ko Samui
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Lomprayah High Speed Catamarans connect you to Bangkok, Hua Hin, Chumphon, Koh Nangyuan, Koh Tao, Koh Phangan, Koh Samui, Donsak Suratthani, Suratthani City and Airport, Krabi, Ao Nang, Koh Phi Phi, Nakhon Si Thammarrat Airport, Hat Yai, Khao Sok, Khao Lak, Koh Lanta and Phuket when traveling by catamaran/bus combination.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Day”
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

I did a day of snorkelling from Koh Samui to Koh Nghuan to Koh Tao and it was such a fun day.
First stop was Koh Nghuan beach where we could snorkel or do a trek up the mountain. We had a buffet to eat for lunch. Although I am vegetarian and there was only one hot vego meal and it was covered in chilli so I passed and loaded up on delicious banana bread.
We then had more time to do whatever we want. I had a delicious - and strong - cocktail at the bar there.
We got back on the boat to stop at some open water with beautiful coral at koh Tao.
The boat ride back was so much fun. If you like adrenalin. The boat was going fast over waves and it felt like a roller coaster... Which I love. Everyone was screaming with laughter except one sick lady who I did feel sorry for.
If you get sea sick or travel sick dont do this tour. I was fine there and back.
The staff are hilarious and friendly. You meet really lovely people from all over the world too. Great place to make friends :-)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kkelseylouisee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,053 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    274
    160
    104
    304
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
“Cheap and quick to get from Samui to Ko Phangnan / Angthong National Marine Park trip was average”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We used Lomprayah to travel from Samui to Ko Phangnan (return) and for the Angthong National Marine Park trip.

Samui to Ko Phangnan (return) - punctual pick-ups. Reasonable ferry port with intermittent wifi, shop and waiting area in Samui. The catamaran was an hour late but once you are on it is very quick. Coming back to Samui we were able to pre-book a mini-bus transfer to our next guest house. I thought it was all quite reasonable and organized.

Angthong National Marine Park - Our pick-up was punctual. Arriving at the ferry-port was a bit chaotic with many people going on different trips. The promised "light breakfast" consisted of a banana, dry crackers and lukewarm tea/coffee. We then got on the high-speed catamaran, which was "fully" booked so children had to squash up between two adults.

Our guides were very professional, friendly and funny but the crossing was very rough and many people got sick. The guides are experienced and are there with the sick-bags in seconds. But some passengers got very ill and very distressed and were begging to be taken back. In fairness there were some pretty terrifying moments when we bounced off the top of huge waves at an angle.

It takes about an hour to get to the first stop for snorkeling. There were many other boats there and it was quite crowded. And there was very little marine life to see. As one person said "I've seen more fish in my aquarium".

After this, we went by catamaran to the next beach for Kayaking. Again, very very crowded and a lot of the paddles are cracked and broken. The "kayak tour" is basically a 20-30 minute return kayak across roughish seas to the next beach and back. The beach you kayak to is full of litter. It's quite upsetting. Our guide told us that this was because the beaches they normally use were closed for cleaning but I don't know for sure.

When we got back from kayaking, we queued up for a sloppy, rationed lunch (no vegetarian option and many people complaining about portion size!!) with inadequate seating so hanging around with plates of food waiting for a space.

Finally we went to the Emerald Lake which is truly beautiful and really a highlight. But be warned, when you are told you will be "hiking to the Emerald lake" in fact you will be climbing and descending a sequence of steep ladders in a convoy of tourists. You will still get a beautiful view of the pristine lake but it's not exactly what you expect

Basically, if you book with Lomprayah, it is mass-market and a bit impersonal but well-organised. pick-ups and drop-offs were very well-coordinated and punctual. And, to be honest, from what we saw it wouldn't be too different with any other company.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank la_viajera_constanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Avoid, or take plenty of seasickness pills!”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We took the Lomprayah ferry from Chumpon to Koh Tao and back again the next day. They were the worst boat-rides of my life - everyone seemed to be seasick. I've been on boats all my life and I've never been seasick before this trip. It was awful. I don't know if it was the type of boat used or the route taken from Chumpon to Koh Tao (instead of from Surat Thani) but I'm sure there are better options with less seasickness involved (Seatran, perhaps?).
Also the boat left an hour late every time but that's to be expected in Thailand!

For anyone getting the train+ferry connection from Bangkok - beware that the train will probably arrive 3 hours late and you will miss the connecting ferry. This happened to us. Thankfully there was another ferry scheduled to leave 6 hours later and we spent a nice day at the bar by the ferry pier!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cfle816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Shameful service by Lomprayah Ferry”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Our group comprising 7 adults and 1 infant spent about five days in Koh Tao and to get there we had to take Lomprayah Catamaran recently to get from Koh Samui to Koh Tao and vice versa. Our experience was to say the least, unpleasant.

First of all there are no porterage services at the piers of arrival and departure and we had to haul everything including our heavy dive bags, on our own i.e. from the vehicle all the way to the end of the pier where the ferry was berthed and into the ferry and vice versa. Caution should be exercised in particular with the poorly maintained wooden pier in Koh Tao where they are just wooden planks held together in some fashion and there were already some large holes in the walkway.

The system of loading and unloading of passengers were handled differently by different crews and seen to be rather chaotic. Today upon arrival at Koh Samui, there was an announcement for the passengers to disembark from the back of the ferry and later this was changed to the front as well as the back of the ferry and then changed again to the back of the ferry again. Luggage was thrown and arranged haphazardly in large piles on the front deck, back deck and also immediately in front of the first row in the passenger seating area. This morning while the ferry was on motion, some of the bags in the passenger seating area became dislodged and nearly crushed some passengers in the first row. Selected luggage unloaded by the crew is set aside precariously on the side of the narrow pier which is already so crammed with passengers looking for their luggage.

Hence there are a number of areas which compromise the safety of the passengers.

The staff of the Lomprayah company are largely disinterested group of people. Most of them are unhelpful and some are outright rude, when we sought their help.

Although the ride itself was alright, the poor support services and staff are a disgrace to the company.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HKChong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Seatran is the way forward!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

We took a boat from the mainland to Koh Tao which took over an hour but it seemed like a life time... With half of the boat being Ill in the first 10 minutes as we only saw sea and then sky on a calm day at sea.... I can safely say that I would never book with them again!! As others have mentioned... It's over crowded, the air con doesn't work properly... Because the boat goes so fast over the waves it's very bumpy, hard to head to the toilet at the back of the boat to be ill! And the staff didn't start handing out bags until mid way through our journey!! They were laughing with each other and didn't offer any help or warn us! If you do choose to go on this boat to make your trip faster - pick up a few loads of travel sickness tablets before hand... It might make the trip more bearable!! Good luck!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Carliesammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lomprayah High Speed Catamaran also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
Don Sak, Surat Thani Province
 
Don Sak, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Lomprayah High Speed Catamaran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing