We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value for money, but not lots to see” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui Island Tour

Samui Island Tour
Ranked #52 of 154 Tours in Ko Samui
Attraction details
Gloucester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Value for money, but not lots to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Trip was value for money but you weren't at the stops for long; The Big Buddha, Temples, The Mummified Monk, View Point, Nathong, The Waterfall. You get some nice pictures but it didn't amaze us this trip - sorry.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bex011085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    32
    23
    9
    17
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A day trip we would recommend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Four of us did this day trip and we would definitely recommend it to others. The day was well organized from start to finish and the staff were efficient and friendly. Special mention should be made of Liam who added to the enjoyment of our day! The catering was more than adequate for a trip of this nature and, overall, the trip was very good value. Our party included one older person of 73 years and she was very well looked after. We saw speed boats from other operators and they were absolutely crammed with guests. We were happy to be on our boat! A tip ... purchase your ticket without the kayaking option and you can pay for it as an extra if the weather conditions are to your liking on the day. Also, don't forget your camera as there are beautiful photo opportunities.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonT342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Average Island tour boat”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

My son and I went for the day trip over to the Marine Park. The crew were friendly and knowledgeable and spoke pretty good English. The boat was well laid out with a top deck for sunbathing, the main deck for eating and and enjoying the ride and a lower deck with toilets and access to the water. The trip was not the greatest due to some poor weather. We only got to see a small beach and one other beach with the Park Ranger. The beach with the caves we wanted to explore was closed. The trip includes kayaking, although it is only for about 30 mins to an hour so I didn't spend the extra money. The snorkeling was also included, but visibility was terrible so a waste of time. The highlight was viewing a protected salt water lagoon after a steep stair climb over a small hill. The breakfast on board was bananas, croissants, and coffee. Lunch was not that good with a decent Thai curry (not spicy), chicken, veg, and fruit. Soda, coffee, and water were free and available all day. Overall, it was not the best experience and I would not recommend it. It takes about 90 minutes each way to get to and return from the Marine Park islands, so out of 7 hours, we spent over 4 hours just driving the boat. I would recommend taking the more expensive speed boats to the Marine Park if I were to do it again.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigD_the_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Tour boat was big, service not too friendly, but worth the sights!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

We took the tour boat option due to my in-laws not big snorkelers and having bad backs. The food served was sub-par at best. Kayaking was fun as as lagoon hike and beach time. Snorkeling at beach was poor and worst part was the unfriendly staff on the boat. Otherwise, a fun time seeing Ang Thong!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Intlnabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OVERPRICED CRAP”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

The one day trip which cost about $60 per person, it's an absolute waste of time and money

The van on the way there was cramped and not was seat was empty, meaning you were squished between people and/or separated from the person/people you are traveling with, this wouldn't be
So bad but it was a very long ride, about 45 minutes from lamai

On arrival you enter a very basic boat whih is also packed with 80 people or so which leaves little room, the kayaking was average, you go through a cave ect, nothing mind blowing, the walk up to the lagoon is VERY steep and I can imagine very hard for older people, that's not tr tours fault however it's the infrastructure that has been built a warning for the oldies would have been nice to see as
I noticed many struggling, some not even making it to the lagoon. the beach you head to is dirty and don't even bother with snorkeling the water is extremely murky

I couldn't beleive the other reviews were mentioning how great the lunch was, the dried chicken was cold, everything else was some of the worst Thai food I've had, while the instructors were eating different/better looking food

I WOULD NOT RECOMENT THIS TOUR TO ANYBODY

The lagoon itself is underwhelming, don't waste your time.

Helpful?
Thank NirkQuirlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Samui Island Tour also viewed

 

Been to Samui Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing