We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fantastic day's fishing”

Mr Ung's Magical Safari
Ranked #36 of 147 Outdoor Activities in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Are you ready for adventure, sport, culture and action? Join Mr. Ung's Magical Safari on a mountain safari tour with elephant trekking or on a game fishing excursion on the Gulf of Thailand and make your Koh Samui Thailand holiday...an unforgettable fun experience... Koh Samui Thailand tours with Mr. Ung Magical Safari Tours.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“fantastic day's fishing”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We chartered a boat to fish for the day around the five islands to the south of Samui. The conditions weren't great bit the two guys from Mr Ung's were pretty open about our chances and it was nice to be out at sea anyway. The boat was clean and well equipped and as we only caught some small grouper and snapper they added some shrimp to our catch to make a tasty lunch which they bbq'd over the side of the boat. The staff were lovely with a good sense of humour, picking us up from a difficult location on the island.

However. I had not appreciated that their business was associated with the elephant tours and would probably not have booked with them out of principle. ELEPHANT TREKS ARE ANIMAL CRUELTY. end of.

However make your own choice. The fishing was great.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Smitch83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    73
    28
    27
    19
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, QLD
2 reviews
“Wild 4WDing! So fun!”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

My friend and I did the full day trip which included a lot of activities; waterfall swim, Buddha gardens, mummified monk, photo with tiger, elephants, monkeys, 4WDing, markets and much more.

Take money with you on the full day tour as there are a lot of opportunities to buy clothes, souvenirs, food and drink. Lunch was provided but was pretty late (around 2.30pm) so we had to buy a snack in the meantime. The food was delicious but most of the dishes were hot (as in spicy hot), so if you're not a fan of hot food, stick to the rice, spring rolls and vegetarian dish. The drivers provide bottled water/coke from an esky in each jeep.

The tour started getting a bit tedious/long at some points but was well worth the wait for the 4WDing at the end! So much fun - hold on! Can get quite scary when driving beside a sheer cliff but at no point did I feel unsafe. If you're a daredevil make sure you sit on the roof, it's crazy fun! You also get to see a lot of the island that you usually wouldn't see. I was surprised to see some fairly big luxurious houses around out of town.

The drivers are great and all seemed to be having a great time. Their enthusiasm and sense of fun is contagious which is great!

The half day tour might be easier to manage for some (full day does make for a long day!) but I'd definitely recommend to go with this crew. Great fun!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank seeyouallthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Mr Ung's offer full and half day tours, we did the full day, with pick up from your hotel. Payment can be made and paid for online on their website. Tour was a lot of fun especially the 4wheel driving part. The lunch provided would have to be some of the best Thai food we ate on our trip to Thailand.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ricaaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Poor treatment of elephants”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

The poor treatment of the elephants is what lowered my rating the most. They are paraded around with sharp bull hooks and one handler also carried a large nail when working with the baby elephants to prod him in the right direction for the stunts during the show. Spend even five minutes reading online about cruelty to elephants and everything you read is true here at the "magical safari".

The full day trip for us started an hour and fifteen minutes late so when the driver finally arrived we were taken straight to the safari site and skipped the first landmark (grandmother and grandfather rocks). At the safari site you could take a photo with a tiger, watch the baby elephant show, ride adult elephants, and watch a monkey show (which was a joke because the monkey only climbed one tree and the they spent the time showing guests about coconut milk). Then we boarded large jeeps which held eight to ten people inside plus two could ride on top. We went to Waterfall 2, a view point restaurant (not sure of the name but it was on top of a mountain). Then we went off-roading which was scary. The hills were steep and the roads were dirt roads. I'm glad it didn't rain during the day because it was muddy enough as it was an the mud splashed up several times. I was very terrified during this part of the day because it felt like there was little regard to safety and we were on the edge of a mountain all the way so I was terrified of something going wrong. One of the three jeeps even got stuck and our vehicle had to ram it from the back to get it unstuck.

We also saw Big Buddha Beach, some rubber trees and the Magical Garden. Most of what we saw was not that great. Between being scared during the off-roading and feeling terrible about the treatment of the elephants, I definitely would not do this again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brittney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner did the full day tour without elephant trekking.
Was awesome fun and our guide Mok although didn't seem to speak English well was very funny and made the day more interesting, the zoo wasn't great as it seems cruel but all the other stops and the 4WDing were great!!

Helpful?
Thank Mikey1st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr Ung's Magical Safari also viewed

 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Mr Ung's Magical Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing