We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unforgettable dinner at Samui !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant

Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant
Ranked #33 of 1,157 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
HKG
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable dinner at Samui !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We are family of 7 incl. 3 kids from HKG. Great dinner setting, very homy, quiet area. The food is excellent. Tom yang gong soup is the best ! Tiger prawn and fish are good. Definitely a restaurant to come again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LeeFamilyHKG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    305
    57
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taoyuan, Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Value and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is far from EVERYTHING but if you can make it, this restaurant is pretty good.
Aside from seeing a few lizards crawling around, the restaurant's ambiance was OK.
The owner chatted with us, and seemed like a pretty nice guy.
The food was very good and for a very good price. Lots of people seem to come from very far to eat there.
Good Value!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lot of hype”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I hate reviewing places negatively - note I have only a few reviews, all others 5/5 (usually because I thought the place deserved more business). We were the only diners around 6 PM after getting a ride from the Conrad up the hill. This was our third week in Thailand and we have eaten the gamut from food carts, streetside "restaurants" and a Thai fine dining restaurant in Jahn. After all the gushing reviews about Green Talay we decided to try it. The service was friendly, but after attempting to order 3 different drinks with no luck in supply (iced coffee, mojito, thai-style iced tea), I just stuck with bottled water. I know we are in the low season, but given the prices of the restaurant (2-3x what we've paid for thai food in thailand), I expected them to have at least one of these options. The food menu was quite extensive for a Thai place. I had a duck green curry, which was on par with most green curries I've had in Thailand, but at 220 baht, nearly double the duck red curry had on the other side of the island (equally good). My wife ordered duck and asparagus, which literally ended up being stir fried duck and asparagus with maybe a small amount of fish sauce. Very limited flavor. She said she'd had a more flavored version before in the US, but regardless this was very average. When we asked for the typical Thai spice cart - dried chili, vinegar, sugar, pepper sauce - or some variant, the only thing brought was fish sauce with chili. Not bad, but just seemed strange to us in that usually in Thailand we were given the accessory spices without even asking or they were sitting at the table when we arrived. All said, maybe this was an off night. Complaining about the prices is a little tedious when it's only $2-5 US different, but frankly it's irritating knowing we've gotten consistently equal or better Thai food for much cheaper in Bangkok, Chiang Mai, Koh Samui and Koh Tao.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevo75_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved it, loved it, loved it. I would highly recommend the duck with stir fry fry greens and the ginger chicken with glass noodles. A lovely little restaurant with lovely staff and fantastic food. Not a place to go if you're in a hurry, the staff like to take their to ensure the food is perfect but if you're in a hurry in Koh Samui you're probably in the wrong place anyway. Some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Top quality local food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I ate here twice during our 10 night stay, once with a friend who happened to be in town for a few days. Her fiance recommended we stop by at Green Ta'lay.

The food here really is very good indeed - amongst the best we ate on the island. Stand out dishes for us were the baby cabbage (ordered both nights) and the tamarind fish - but it was all of such decent quality it seems almost absurb to highlight one or two dishes.

The owner appears to be an American guy and his Thai wife. He spends his time front of house whilst she organises the kitchen. It works very well - front of house service is impeccable and friendly without being overpowering as is often the case in ex-pat run Thai restaurants, and the food (the reason you'd come back and back) is genuinely superb.

During Song Kram a lot of the island seems to close down however the Green Ta'lay kept opening and serving which was much appreciated.

Organising a taxi pickup from the Intercontinental proved a harrowing experience; however the American owner badgered them on his phone until they arrived. Great service.

Long may the Green Ta'lay open it's doors. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant also viewed

Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing