We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Fantastic”

Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant
Ranked #86 of 1,280 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Katoomba, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply Fantastic”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Loved it, loved it, loved it. I would highly recommend the duck with stir fry fry greens and the ginger chicken with glass noodles. A lovely little restaurant with lovely staff and fantastic food. Not a place to go if you're in a hurry, the staff like to take their to ensure the food is perfect but if you're in a hurry in Koh Samui you're probably in the wrong place anyway. Some of the best Thai food I have ever eaten.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    63
    16
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Top quality local food”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

My wife and I ate here twice during our 10 night stay, once with a friend who happened to be in town for a few days. Her fiance recommended we stop by at Green Ta'lay.

The food here really is very good indeed - amongst the best we ate on the island. Stand out dishes for us were the baby cabbage (ordered both nights) and the tamarind fish - but it was all of such decent quality it seems almost absurb to highlight one or two dishes.

The owner appears to be an American guy and his Thai wife. He spends his time front of house whilst she organises the kitchen. It works very well - front of house service is impeccable and friendly without being overpowering as is often the case in ex-pat run Thai restaurants, and the food (the reason you'd come back and back) is genuinely superb.

During Song Kram a lot of the island seems to close down however the Green Ta'lay kept opening and serving which was much appreciated.

Organising a taxi pickup from the Intercontinental proved a harrowing experience; however the American owner badgered them on his phone until they arrived. Great service.

Long may the Green Ta'lay open it's doors. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Worldworn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delicious Authentic Thai Food”
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

After hearing many good things about Green Ta'lay, I was looking forward to seeing what the place had to offer. I was not disappointed. The food does all the talking, it's lovely. The green curry and the pa nang curry are delicious, and the coconut ice cream is a must. The staff are really friendly and the atmosphere is nice and relaxed. Would highly recommend this restaurant for anyone looking for good authentic Thai food in Samui.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SillyRabbit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ask the boss”
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

I like most food types so this place was wonderful. An owner prepared to help you choose, if that was your wish. Most places just come and take your order and don't even know what is in a dish or how it is cooked. His recommendations were delicious. You must try the cabbage, it was heaven, and the prawn rice was a meal in itself. Great, real Thai food, cooked by a Thai family. By the way, the owner's English is excellent :-)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BigMushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We had a look on trip advirors... and we just had to try.. and we was not disappointed.. fantastic food and servicers.. ok maybe a ltittle more expensive... but you get what you pay for at the end of the day!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank midlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant also viewed

Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
Taling Ngam, Ko Samui
 

Been to Nuch's Green Ta'lay Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing