We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the reviews!”
Review of Khun Ying

Khun Ying
Ranked #781 of 1,244 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Even better than the reviews!”
Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

AMAZING food!!!! We read reviews on trip advisor and decided to rent scooters and see if we could find this place, and boy are we glad we did! We stuffed ourselves on the most delicious local food and beer for 4 guys for a grand total of $50 aus. And it was all good! Recommend letting the owner pick for you too, such a great idea.

Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Ensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    6
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
115 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“One of the best Thai I've had.”
Reviewed June 2, 2012

Everything we've tried is delicious. Portions are generous too. The curry was full of chicken... A dish as simple as stir-fried morning glory was so tasty I couldn't get enough of it. At these prices, it's probably the best value you can find for such quality food.

It's popular with locals and that is always a good indication.

A simple set-up, as others have mentioned but we're there for the good clean food and friendly service.

We've been there a few times and will be returning for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank YellowCombi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Definitely one of the best thai meals we have had here. We have been a few times and havent seen any thais eating there, but mainly resident expats. Anyway the food is great and is relaxed atmosphere. Dont come here if youd like royal thai cuisine (prices). Best dishes include: kale wiht crispy pork, fried snapper in soy, fried calamari, pad thai. Perhaps the only downside which is why its not getting excellent is the big boy pushes the pricier stuff which included the prawns in tamarind and ribs... which unfortunately despite being told they were specials were a little average compared to the mainstays. Aside from that is all good!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodney_Farva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
66 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Thai food restaurant that the locals patronise”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

We were looking for authentic Thai food and we knew that we had found the right place when we saw many locals eating at this place. This local seafood restaurant is no frills, reasonably priced and the boss is warm and accommodating. He kept checking with us whether we liked the chef's cooking. And of course, we did, so much so that we had gone there to dine consecutively. The fried white snapper was fresh and tasty, the tom yum goong had plenty of squid and shrimp and was spicy & sour to our liking. Their fried squids were the best we had so far. This restaurant is highly recommended for those who seek authentic Thai local fare and are care less about its simple ambience.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank DWELSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Tasty, Delectable, True Thai Cuisine”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Exquisite Thai food for food lovers searching for an authentic Thai food experience. Let the burly owner do the recommendation as we did, unless you are looking for something specific and we weren't disappointed on both occasion when we had our dinner there.
From mouthwatering thai salads, soups (of course we had the Tom Yam Kung) to scrumptious Thai curries (Red, Green, Jungle etc) to titillating desserts all cooked by the owners's wife herself.
The restaurant is situated on the main road (Big Buddah Beach Road), I would describe it as "quaint" , perhaps some people might say "shack" but one does not go there for the atmosphere, you go there for the food and food only and I promise you, you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shamrock_queen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khun Ying also viewed

 

Been to Khun Ying? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing