We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crystal Restaurant

Crystal Restaurant
Ranked #342 of 1,222 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Beijing
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Had originally planned to go to the Spirit House but got put off by their high prices and stumbled upon this place by chance. A gem of a place and excellent value for me. Word of warning - when ordering green curry and the server asks if you want it Thai style, say NO!! Wow, it was incredibly hot. Fab place. Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adrian71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    21
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Must go there!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by people who had been eating there for years. What a fabulous place. Clean. Fresh food. Delicious food. Amazingly cheap prices. In fact we ate there most nights. We went to The Spirit House one night which was a lovely experience but returned to Crystal enjoying it for what it was. The service is pleasant as well !! What a place. I hope it's there for many years to come under the same ownership.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Never to busy to go out of there way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife never stops talking about the place, the owners are wonderful people the food is to die for,always a free beach lounge and towle if needed when we stoped for lunch or just a drink. Jym the owner has always got time for a chat and will tell you what is in season so you can get the best the island has to offer. We will be back in October 2012 and can not wait for our first meal there for 2012 They also own the Crystal villa appartments so ask Jym to take you for a look ,im sure you will want to book your next stay there.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Alf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Chaweng”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I have been travelling to Chaweng, Koh Samui as regular visitors over the last 10 years and always eat at the Crystal Restaurant. We came upon it by accident as we were on our way to laem din market. It is situated just off Chaweng Beach Road just before the turn off to the market. Martins Bar, which I would also recommend, is just across the road from the Crystal.

The restaurant is bright and you can sit inside or at an outside table. There is a toilet.

The food is excellent value and the variety of dishes is good enough to cater for all palates. The size of the portions are also good. We had previously tried other restaurants and been served really small portions and had to buy food later on as we were still hungry, but at the Crystal the sizes are pretty decent. I would recommend their onion rings in batter or spring rolls for starters. The batter on the onion rings is really light and they serve them with sweet chilli dip. Their main courses are tasty too. I quite like the seafood dishes, including tempura prawns, which I have with fried rice. They serve large bottles of Singha beer for the price that some bars charge for a small bottle. At the end of the meal they give you a small plate with pineapple and watermelon on.

I recommed this place to everyone. The couple who own the place work really long hours and take pride in their restaurant and the food they serve. Whenever we go in we are greeted by the owners with smiles and their staff are really friendly. It is definitely worth trying and eating here will help you make your money go further as Chaweng is getting more expensive than it used to be.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MidgetgemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“One of those Jewels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2012

The Crystal Restaurant in Koh Samui was a wonderful suprise. Our first night in Koh Samui we had dinner across the street from our hotel at the Ninja Crepe Restaurant. The food was good, the servings small, the wait was long and the beer was expensive. As we left the hotel the next evening for dinner we asked the girls at the front desk where they would suggest.......... they all suggested the Crystal. Another star for our hotel - Buri Rasa Resort. So of we went our the front door turn left and down the street to the two way traffic barrier and turn right at the mini mart and there it is.
The food was excellent, great flavours, good size portions, great service, and reasonable priced beer. The following two nights we returned for dinner and were still impressed but we thought we should try another restaurant so we tried the Orchid.
Well I will sum up by saying that for the rest of our stay we ate at the Crystal every night and on our last night we said good bye to the owners and staff and it was like leaving old friends. This is a great restaurant and there seem to be a lot of people that feel the same as we saw many of the same people there each night and some were ending they stay and said there good byes and you could tell that everyone had the same feeling.
I am sure there are many fine restaurants in Chewang Beach, and I am sure we will find some of them on our next visit but we will return to the Crystal for at least half our meals.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brentwood-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing