We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (30)
Filter reviews
30 results
Traveler rating
6
12
4
3
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
6
12
4
3
5
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 30 reviews
Reviewed April 30, 2012

I have to say that I was drawn to this place solely based on the name, the view and concept of this place. The rabbit room (link it back to moon) and their usage of rabbit is very nice. Sadly like alot of resorts in Thailand, once the ID guy left, the owners start to put their own personal touches to it and kinda spolit it for me for eg: that horrible coconut hut in front of the restaurant or those flower pots

Pros
- the view is breathtaking esp from the restaurant
- the beers are cheap, food not very cheap even by other hotel's standard but thankfully taste good
- rooms are clean and decent
- WIFI available everywhere and free

Cons
- too many steps, understand that the resort is situated on the clift and they can't do anything about it - so be warned esp climbing back up could be a hassle
- too dark at night - alot of lights are off and with ten thousand steps and after a night drinking at Chaweng, it is not ideal
- the pool is dirty - understand that its hard to clean off all the leaves as the area is very green and has lots of tree but it shld at least be done once a day. The leaves have been rotting there for ages
- lack of upkeep, again understand that the rain and sea can destroy almost anything but this place needs to be upkeep to maintain its beauty - the railing that stop you from falling into the clift is rotting and shaky. Accident waiting to happen. Alot of things are rotting, chairs and tables

Room tip: Get rooms that are on the top of the clift instead of the bottom - the steps are many and very difficult to climb up and down after awhile esp if you are not very fit/young
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wawachichi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stayed at Villa La Moon for 2 nights in Koh Samui. Staff were super, helped us book a day trip to Ang Thong National Park and the ferry to Koh Phangan. When we arrived we were told that our room had been upgraded for free - not sure why but hey no complaints! Even though the accommodation is located between Lamai it is a short taxi ride. The first night we were stood outside to flag a taxi and we were there for less then 5 minutes before the staff offered to drive us there for free! Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lunny83
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here the week leading up yo Xmas!!...we arrived 2 hours before to 2pm check in time, but the room was ready and we were taken straight there :)......it was villa no 11 very close to the top of the cliff where the villas are dotted from top to bottom! So the walk was not a problem :) from entering the villa we were very impressed!! It was gorgeous!! Large lounge area with tv and DVDs and stocked fridge (payable mini bar) then 2 double bedrooms and 2 dressing rooms in separate areas leading to the large bathroom with double shower!! The swimming pool was great and only 2sets of steps down from the villa! Our villa directly overlooked the pool :).....I would reckon end this hotel to anyone.....only thing is it is out of the way if you like to party! But still worth a visit as tuk tuk take you for around 200baht to chewang if that is what you like!! It is a great place for honeymoon :) we were there with our friend and 9 year old little girl as we passed through backpacking! Was perfect for us and would go back!! .......the staff were lovely too and even drove us to the other side of the island on checkout to our next hotel free of charge :) !! Don't miss out I'd your looking for a mountain retreat :)

Date of stay: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JodieC1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Me and a friend stayed at the Villa La Moon over the new year period and stayed in Villa 1 which was amazing with a view to match!! The staff were fantastic, friendly and more than happy to help with what ever questions we had on the island and things to do.
Nang (think she is the assistant manager) was very helpful and invited us to the staff new years party which was on the 2nd and we helped out getting everything ready which was good fun, then went for a drink in Lamai!
If you after a friendly relaxed hotel with fantastic views then this is the hotel for you!

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcnic17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We are currently staying at villa la moon in room 10 and are extremely happy with the resort. The view is 10/10 and the villas are dotted down the cliff, no lifts only stairs but room 10 is at the top so wasn't a big deal for us. A lot of resorts have similar views along this Cliff top but I think the service that we have received here is nothing short of world class. The staff have been nothing but helpful to make our stay enjoyable. That included driving me down to the local shops and buying a fishing rod (at their expense) as I wanted to fish off the rocks. The villa is spit up into a living room with toilet and a bedroom with ensuite. Bit confusing as there is no door way between the rooms you walk out onto your private balcony to get between the 2 rooms. At first was a bit annoying but not really an issue at all. The food. The food has been excellent and we have dined in the restruant a lot. Also great sea food place next door! Highly recommend villa la moon, we have had a great time only down side has been the weather

Date of stay: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weiry13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews