We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Ocean View”
Review of Conrad Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Koh Samui
Ranked #20 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Ocean View”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel has an excellent location to face the ocean, away from crowded and very peaceful. The private pool in every villa is fantastic, both day and night, make people want leave their rooms. The bath tub open to the view is also very charming... The SPA has 270 degree view is definite a selling point. The interior take warm tune of natural wood and very comfortable. The building exterior, however, is very low key and giving stage to the nature surroundings.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Wenzhong S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    880
    173
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
216
669
38
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Conrad Koh Samui for 3 nights for my birthday, I must say this is by far the best hotel I have ever been, the location is perfect for a romantic getaway, with the most stunning sunset, even with 70% occupancy, the resort seemed quiet and tranquil, we only encountered few other couples and families during breakfast, far from crowded.

The resort is relatively new and well managed, staffs are really professional and helpful, on our first day of arrival we encountered some insect crisis, and they send a "team" to help us solve the problem, much appreciated!!! Buggy service is great, we never have to wait for more than 5 mins. Staff at the hotel also helped us with renting a car.

We tried all 3 restaurants, had our daily breakfast at Zest, had my birthday dinner at their fine dining restaurant Jahn, and also tried their poolside bar once. I personally find Zest and Jahn really impressive, food taste delicious, especially the Thai dishes, make sure you give the Thai egg Benedict a go, so yum!

Our stay at Conrad were so pleasant, we were so sad to leave...!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank juliejuliesmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

It's the second time we went to Koh Samui and we decided to try the relatively new Conrad Samui. Originally I had some reservation as it looks too modern and have a hotel feel rather than the usual Thai architecture. Having stayed there for 3 nights, I would have no hesitation to recommend it to others, esp if you prefer a quiet get away, nice, functional and big pool in the villa, looking for a very nice sunset that you can enjoy in your villa next to the pool with your favourite drink/ book/ music.

The best memory we had was the sunset that we can enjoy in our room the sunset (see pictures I have taken). The room is very modern , big and clean. It came with an ipad and nice amenities. The pool is very big for villa of this size and price. It's an infinity pool that give you a very nice feeling as you relax in it.

The other thing I enjoyed very much is the breakfast, esp if you can get an outdoor table. The selection of food is good. But it's very relaxing as there aren't too many people there and you can enjoy the weather. Mosquito was not a problem at all when we stayed there.

We tried all the 3 restaurants there including the Thai fusion fine dining. The setting in that restaurant is nice though it only opened at night and you cannot see anything by then when it's dark. It's also expensive Thai food. Generally, you don't expect very vibrant night life in the hotel but if you are looking for quiet time, it's good.

We had used the spa on two days. We found it very nice and with a very good sea view.

There isn't much space to go around in the hotel and it's on steep hills so you need to call a buggy.

I would also recommend taking the complimentary boat from the hotel to a nearby island. The 10 to 15 boat trip is nice in itself. I would recommend you get the earliest boat, I think around 10 or 11am. you can get back in one or two hours time. The beach we went to was quite nice but it got a bit crowded after noon time.

We also enjoyed a walk to the jetty at dawn and during sunset. It's very beautiful and you can see a lot of small fish.

The hotel is at the south western end of Samui and is far away from the airport which is on the north eastern end. It takes at least 35 minutes between hotel and airport. I would recommend you allow at least 1 hour travelling time to get to the airport as there could be traffic jam along the way.

We did not go out of the property and we don't believe there is much to do in the neighbourhood.

I understand that the property is a JV between a HK fund and a Thai partner. It's well managed. As to pricing, it is very reasonable comparing with other pool villa offered.

Overall, it's a very relaxing place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izzyhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel really is amazing! One of the best i have stayed in!

First of all the location! Truly remarkable, and has one of the best views in koh samui! All villas have stunning views of the ocean. The hotel itself it situated on top of a hill overlooking the ocean and in the direction of the sunset! And what a sunset! Beautiful and Breathtaking.

The service? Excellent! Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and truly make you feel at home! staff working in the restaurants only understand a little bit of english however no major difficulties or problems were faced! The villa was cleaned everyday and considering it's two floors we were surprised of how quickly they were done! The beds were turned down every night with delicious biscuits/cookies left on the bed. The different flavours/types every night left me anticipating for what the next one would be!

The villa. We stayed in the two bedroom villa. The view in the living area (situated on the top floor) was simply amazing. Everything was provided in the villa from cutlery to wine glass sets to appliances and even insect repellent which came handy. Something i also found amusing was the fact that there was a pillow menu too; simple luxury. The rooms were also stunning and both had access to the infinity pool. We were slightly disappointed that our pool view was a little bit blocked by trees/bushes however some might prefer this as it gave a little bit of privacy. It is advisable to keep food/cream and oil products indoors because of insects though! The master bathroom was also amazing! I'll let the pictures speak for themselves though.

Location. The hotel is in a remote location. Now some people might find this as a con however it suited our family just fine because we rarely wandered off of the hotel. The airport is about an hour away and other popular restaurants about 30 minutes/45 minutes away. However we opted to dine in the hotel for most days.

Dining.
Breakfast: The selection isn't as big as other hotels but the quality of food was exceptional. Fresh fruit, baked goods, honey, juices and dairy products were found in the buffet. The milk was also the freshet i have had in years! A corner for thai breakfast was included that served noodles, dumplings, curry and rice. The chef was also situated in a corner cooking and serving eggs and waffles to your request.
-Jahn Restaurant: The whole family enjoyed this innovative thai restaurant. Beautiful decor, amazing view and delicious food. The steak was very very good. Complimentary dishes were served with each of our 3 courses which was a nice touch. One of the best restaurants we dined in during our trip to thailand.
-Zest Restaurant: More relaxed as opposed to Jahn restaurant. The food was good, the view was beautiful.
-Azure Bar/Grill: Situated right by the pool. Perfect for a quick afternoon snack/lunch. The burger was delicious so were the nachos. All fresh food.
-Private Beach Dining: We noticed tables were set up on the beach with fresh seafood ready for a bbq. Perfect for a romantic dinner for 2.

Spa- Very good with professional catering to your needs. I had the hair treatment done along with the massage which was really good. Other members of the family enjoyed their treatments as well.

Out of the three 5 star hotels we've stayed in during our trip to thailand this was the best. A memorable experience in itself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mjayyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

You know that feeling you get when, upon arriving at the hotel you've been imaging and anticipating, you feel slightly let down? Not here. Conrad KS surpassed anything my imagination could conjure up, and will be my benchmark of fabulousness from now on.
From the moment you arrive at Reception, perched high above the rest of the hotel, you know you're in for a treat. It's all about personal service delivered with charm.
The hotel is perched up a hillside, with buggies taking you up and down the hillside to rooms, bars, waterfront & main pool.
What made the hotel for me was that each villa has its own private lap pool, which is actually long enough to do laps, and veranda fitted out with loungers and outdoor table. We really didn't need much more than this, but did mange to drag ourselves out to explore Samui. We recommend trying out the strip of local restaurants a couple of miles away to get an authentic taste of Thailand.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TwoPomsSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was our second visit to Samui and we have made a right decision to stay at Conrad. Although the location is quite remote and up the slope, the resort is new and well managed. We stayed at the 1 bedroom pool villa, the view is fantastic and especially good for sunset. The pool is big and have high privacy, it is also a good idea to enjoy chanpagne by the pool at night time. We are also impressed by the fine dining restaurant - Jahn, the tasting menu we have tried is good and worth of money.The staffs there are all friendly and helpful as well.
Zest - the restaurant we have breakfast every day is good. We also have lunch and dinner there.
Azure - restaurant by the public pool served America fast food seems not very attrative so we didn't try.
The only problem here is the toilet flush not working well.

Room Tip: We rented a car to go downtown on the second day, the advice is book a SUV/MPV instead of a small c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Henri Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

At this hotel - about a year break between the 2 stays. The first was very close to its opening and we were thoroughly impressed with location, the views and the rooms. What was amiss was the limited F&B choices available which were remedied during our 2nd visit. I must add that the breakfast was spectacular during our first stay and that we noticed the quality of the offering and number of choices decline in our second. Overall, for larger hotels, the views and amenities in the villa are excellent. What they could improve on is the quality of the restaurants and the food. Its understandable that given the variability of the capacity, F&B is hard to manage but given the price of the hotel, I would expect quality of the food to be equivalent. We also tried the spa - excellent.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank detang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
10.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,371 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
15.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#20 of 186 in Bophut
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
12.1 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,021 reviews
11.8 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Koh Samui

Property: Conrad Koh Samui
Address: 49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Koh Samui is a luxury pool villa resort located on the south western tip of the popular Thai island, designed to ensure each private pool villa enjoys glorious panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and its astonishing sunsets. Consisting of 81 private pool villas with one, two or three bedrooms, 3 innovative restaurants, 2 lounges and bars, a private wine cellar and destination dining, the resort provides the individualistic sense of luxury that Conrad has become known for. The award-wining Conrad Spa combines international treatments and Thai spa techniques with distinctive design accents and world-class facilities to delight all of the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Conrad Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Conrad Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing