We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best vacations ever”
Review of Conrad Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Conrad Koh Samui
Ranked #21 of 318 Hotels in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of the best vacations ever”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My family (wife, 11 year old and 6 year old boys) stayed at the hotel in December. Car service from airport was ontime and helpful. Upon arrival at hotel property was greated with drinks and quickly registered for the room. Was upgarded to a two bedroom, two story villa that was nicer than any hotel or villa I have stayed in (previous night was at the St. Regis in Bangkok). The staff was amazing and always willing to help. Did the cooking class onsite and the chef picked us up and took us to the garden and then back to the kitchen for the cooking. They took pictures with their own camera and provided a memory stick of the photos. Next day the hotel driver took us all over Koh Samui and translated when needed. Breakfast, lunch and dinner on the property was fantastic. At the end of the four days we didn't want to leave however after departing and getting back to Bangkok for our flight home we realized we forgot a couple of items. The staff quickly located them and got them to Fedex to be sent back to our home in Dubai.
In short - the location is awesome and just beautiful. The staff could not have been nicer as they were always willing to do what ever they could to ensure your stay was great. If I could remember all their names I would call them out each individually and make sure they get the recongnition they need. The food was excellent and all other scheduling and services (including the spa) was the best I have had to experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbarnwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    856
    168
    49
    18
    8
See reviews for
210
650
37
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We had a two-room villa where we stayed, along with my mother in the second room. The villa was expansive and had every amenity you would want, including an infinity edge pool with fantastic views of the sea and the five islands just off the coast. You did need have them pick you up and drive by golf cart anywhere you wanted to go as the resort "spills" down the side of a cliff - but if you know this coming in, and plan for it, it is just fine, and it gives you chances to see just how attentive and friendly the staff is. We ate at each of the restaurants through our five day stay - Zest for breakfast every day and once for dinner (food was good, but service at dinner was slow - but shared this with the service manager and she really appreciated the feedback); Jahn, the high-end Thai fusion restaurant for a very nice dinner one night; in our villa a couple of times; and at Azure, the pool side bar/grill a couple of days for lunch and once for dinner. All the food was very good, and pretty well priced (for a resort). The cocktails were reasonably priced as well. However, the wines and champagnes were very, very expensive. The best way to have some good wines at a reasonable rate is to get the tasting menu with wine pairing at Jahn's.

The hotel is not centrally located - in fact it is far away from everything else on the island - situated on the SW tip, whereas most other resorts are on the N or E sides of the island. But if you want to escape, and still be able to get to the various tours (albeit with a bit of a drive, but almost always included in the price of the tour), it is a great location.

During the stay, we had a few small complaints, but those were accepted graciously, always addressed immediately, and we usually were offered something for it (e.g., two glasses of sparkling wine at breakfast when there was an issue with one of our meals).

All in all a fabulous and beautiful resort - a place we would definitely return to again.

Room Tip: 100 numbered villas are on the beach; 200 numbered ones are a bit closer to the restaurants; 300 num...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sump6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

My wife and I went there on our honeymoon March 10-17, which we planned almost entirely using tripadvisor and blogs, none of them prepared us for the amazing experience we had at the Conrad (and there are a ton of good reviews). We are both diamond members and stayed using points for 7 nights, which was about right, although a few more would have been just fine. The insland of Koh Samui is awesome, it has a ton to offer all travelers, mountains, beaches, partying and quiet. As others have said the Conrad is on the quiet South end of the island but its not that big of a hassel to leave the property as others have said. To leave the property you pretty much have to use their transportation which runs 750-1250 baht anywhere on the island, but getting back you can negotiate with any cab driver and save a few bucks.

The property itself is simply breathtaking, far better than the pictures or words, if there is a more beautiful hilton property anywhere in the world I'd like to see it to compare. I could not get over the view from the check in area and from every other facility on property. The rooms are very large, lots of space, huge bathroom. Finish out of the villas is amazing, they are absolutely decked out to the max, lighting is the best I've ever seen. The bed is awesome, best hotel bed I've ever slept in, also the best nights sleep in a hotel I've ever had, probably helps that there are no attached walls or floors above or below.

The beach has been downplayed by most, and it is true that the beach isn't perfect but if you wish to swim simply just walk to the end of the pier and the water is gorgeous. One thing the resort did not have was snorkle gear, there are lots of spots right in front of the Conrad that would be perfect for snorkling. Tons of fish right there and coral and rocks to view while swimming, be careful not swim past the the pier as the current is pretty strong. To fill your beach cravings take a day and go to Chaweng Beach or Lamai, the other resorts are happy to have you at their beach drinking their drinks and either beach is more of a traditional beach setting. Also while at those beaches take advantage of the massage places lining the beaches, for 200 bhat ($6) you can get a great Thai massage or foot massage. The massages at the Conrad are good and the setting amazing but they run about $80-$100 for basically the same thing you can get on the beaches or in towns.

Plan at least a few tours of visits to other villages, we went on the Koh Tao snorking trip and the jungle safari trip arranged by the Conrad. Both of them were great and allow you to see a lot more of the island but are in big group settings. We wanted more of a private beach adventure so we also hired the boat that docks at the Conrad everyday, Samui boat charters. Their initial price per hour was outrageous but they will negotiate and if you can find another couple or hotel guests to split the cost they will alllow you to split it. I'm not sure Conrad is promoting this option enough, if you want to see some perfect beach settings this boat can deliver you to the islands just across from the resort, and they are just amazing. Before you book the Koh Tao trip, discuss this option with the conceirge, a 20 minute boat ride will take you to absolute paradise, but again the initial price makes it sound undoable. Also visit Lamai Beach or Chaweng, especially late afternoon when the beaches clear off and you can have it to yourself, then do dinner in either town or shop as the night markets open. Dinner off sight is something to do to, the Green Ta'lay which others mentioned was the best meal we had on our 10 day trip to Thailand and with drinks, mulitple dishes, desert and tip it cost 1800 bhat (60 bucks), its very close to the Conrad.

The management team and all of the associates there were just amazing, never had service anywhere even close to as friendly and competent as this property. It's just first class all the way around and made for the most memorable trip I could've ever imagined. Everyone speaks English and has a wonderful attitude, everyone.

I opened a trip advisor account just to write this review and encourage others to visit this place, it was a close to perfect as I can imagine. It's a must see and even though it took us 4 flights and 35 hours travel time to get there I would do it again tomorrow to be back there. Safe travels!

Room Tip: rooms in the 200 level will allow you to walk to breakfast and the pool
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ATXryan81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

On arrival we were greeted by name and with great courtesy invited to sit comfortly to complete check in. This was done with efficiency while we were refreshed by cold towels and a chilled lime juice.The rooms are even better than they appear on the hotel website.You will never tire of the views of the Five Islands.Step from your room into a beautiful pool large enough for a decent swim.
We ate in all three restaurants.Jahn is expensive but in line with what one would expect from a restaurant of this quality.Breakfast at Zest is superb in terms of quality ,variety and freshness.
Zest and Azure offer casual dining throughout the day and evening.Of course you can eat well outside the resort at more simple restaurants much more cheaply but for a luxury hotel with such high standards of surroundings and service the prices are reasonable.My advice would be to split dining between the hotel options and outside restaurants.Hotel staff are knowledgeable about other restaurants and happy to offer advice.Consider hiring acar for at least part of your stay .There are many interesting sights,restaurants and beaches nearby.Driving in Koh Samui is less daunting than it might seem--just stay alert for mopeds and drive slowly--you are on holiday.
Staff------every member of staf treated us with great courtesy and kindness they seemed proud of their hotel and so anxious to ensure a happy holiday for us

Room Tip: All rooms have great views and swift buggy transport to other parts of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pulawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Conrad Koh Samui is an outstanding property. The views from the room are simply stunning. What impressed me the most is the extent they go to make you comfortable - I had a small complaint around food one day and the F&B manager personally went through extraordinary lengths to make sure I had no issue again. The rooms are phenomenal and this has to vie with the Conrad Maldives for one of the top properties in the Hilton Group.

The rooms are far away and you need a buggy to get you around. If you want to be close to the restaurant (Zest) so you have a short walk for breakfast ask for a room on the 2nd level. Also do rent a car when you are there as the hotel is far from the main city.

Room Tip: I recommend the 2nd level (as it is a short walk to the restaurant, spa and the gymn). the 3 main fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Right from the time you reach the reception lobby, you know that you made the right choice. Simply stunning views especially from every room (we stayed at Villa 211). The resort is away from the main town and if that is what you looking for then look no further. The bathrooms are easily the feature of the villa and the private pool is good enough with stunning views of the sunset. Staff are very hospitable but we found many to be wanting in terms of their communication skills ( read as English). The other draw back is the lack of a private beach if that's high on your list of resort "must-have's"

The Elements boutique and spa is just about 3 Km from Conrad and they would pick you up and drop for nominal fee ( 100 Baht each way) in-case you wished to engage their massage services ( good and cheaper than Conrad).

Would definitely recommend Conrad Koh Samui if a relaxing vacation is what you are looking for.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swami2040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

I have just returned from a long weekend vacation for my wife's birthday. We selected the Conrad because I wanted to visit Koh Samui, and I am also a Hilton honors Diamond member which usually means you get a little bit better service when staying at their properties. When we arrived at the resort after a 1 hour journey from the airport, you realize that this place is in the middle of nowhere. We arrived around 9pm and checked in and were shown to our villa which was amazing!!! The rooms and infinity pools with the view are outstanding! The only benefit for a Hilton diamond member was a bottle of wine in the room.

You quickly understand that you cannot walk to many places in this resort, and every time you need to go somewhere you need to phone for a golf cart to come and get you. This is OK when the resort is only 10-20% occupied (at best), but I can imagine you would have some long waits if they ever get busy. Luckily we were in a villa next to one of the restaurants, so we went there for dinner (Zest). The food was very average and very overpriced, but you don't have much choice once you are inside the resort. Rather than go back there for breakfast, we decided to have breakfast in our villa, and completed the order form and hung it outside the door at 11.30pm. At 8am we expected to be eating breakfast on the patio by our pool, but the card had not been collected from the night before. The staff were apologetic and a somewhat cold breakfast was delivered 40 minutes later.

We had packed light and planned to buy sunblock at the resort. The boutique was due to open at 10am and despite 2 phone calls, we were still stood outside at 10.30am. Once inside they only had one type which was not suitable. We took a buggy to the top and had to pay 400 baht ($12) for a car to take us to the store which is 5 minutes away. The pool area is very nice and the staff very good, but there is no beach and the digger working next to the pool was too noisy for us to stay there. The toilet areas also had a bad smell which was off putting. There was no prior warning of any construction work being done.

We had lunch by the pool (digger had now stopped) and food was OK. Then relaxation before a 3 hour spa session with my wife. The spa is very nice and the treatments were great, but again overpriced. We then ate dinner in the best restaurant (Jahn) which is contemporary Thai food. Very nice food if a little elaborate, and dinner for two with a bottle of wine was over $350!!! This is THAILAND!!!

Next 2 days we ate breakfast in Zest. On both days we waited for 10 minutes for a cup of coffee which was cold when it came. Service for food was slow too, but some nice options and the lady on the reception was helpful, even if the rest of the staff were not. We took a trip out of the hotel on the 3rd day as there was nothing left to do in the resort that we had not already done. No other bar or restaurant to visit and the spa was done. We went on a boat trip from BhoPut which was the highlight of our trip. Had a great meal on the (real) beach and took a taxi back to the Conrad late. That whole day out with boat trip, 2 meals and all day drinks and taxi home was less than 65% of the cost of dinner at Jahn.

Check out time and no one asked us about our stay. My wife had used the beach bag the day before on our trip and then packed it in our case (full of sand and sun cream and a little bit dirty). When we got up to the arrivals level to be picked up, the lady asked us to return the bag as housekeeping told them it was missing. Both the umbrella and bath robes have signs saying they are available to purchase, but we assumed a canvas beach bag was complimentary so kept our sun cream in there and packed it inside the case. The lady made us unpack and give it back which was quite embarrassing. Her name is Anna and watch out for her as she seems to have a terrible temper, slamming doors and arguing with other members of staff in front of us as we waited to leave.

The resort is beautiful and as long as you are prepared to deal with the difficulties of getting around. It is a nice place to relax for a few days. The view cannot be beaten. Take the other reviews advice and hire a car otherwise you are stuck there, and there are not many options. Not even a casual bar when you can sit and have a drink and talk to other guests. I was glad to leave and will not return. I have stayed in Hilton and Conrad hotels all over the world and the service at this one is not on a par with other locations. Not once did I feel like a valued Hilton group customer which is disappointing.

Room Tip: Ask to be close to the middle of the resort at a mid level (3)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank GRDorkings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
10.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
10.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
15.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#14 of 187 in Bophut
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
12.1 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#7 of 30 in Mae Nam
998 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Koh Samui

Property: Conrad Koh Samui
Address: 49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | overlooking Aow Thai Beach, Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#16 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#19 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Koh Samui is a luxury pool villa resort located on the south western tip of the popular Thai island, designed to ensure each private pool villa enjoys glorious panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and its astonishing sunsets. Consisting of 81 private pool villas with one, two or three bedrooms, 3 innovative restaurants, 2 lounges and bars, a private wine cellar and destination dining, the resort provides the individualistic sense of luxury that Conrad has become known for. The award-wining Conrad Spa combines international treatments and Thai spa techniques with distinctive design accents and world-class facilities to delight all of the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Conrad Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui
Conrad Koh Samui Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing