We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place”
Review of Conrad Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Conrad Koh Samui
Ranked #22 of 316 Hotels in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Just stayed here with my wife. I must say that this is by far the best hotel in Thailand.
Amazing views from every villa. Amazing rooms with all the features. Only hotel in Asia with apple tv with movies on demand etc and also apple computer with wireless keyboard on the flat screen. The pool in the villa is amazing and a very impressive size. Yes it's a bit remote and a it expensive but very much in line with what is being offered. A true five star hotel and one I can safely say is the best hotel I have ever stayed in with the most impressive room I have ever stayed in.. The service is great and the staff are the most polite, friendly people who want to do whatever you want.
Beach is average but the idea is not really to spend all day at the beach.
Best sunsets in all of samui.
Without doubt I will be returning and will highly recommend to anyone.
P.s I think the people whinging about service expect to much. I don,t go to Hotels to expect staff to always address me by my name. It's not the end of the world if they don't .in my opinion the service was amazing and not over the top in your face..

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
6  Thank Londonsagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Londonsagga ,

Thank you very much for providing us your gracious feedback on your recent stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warmest regards

Justin Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,168)
There are newer reviews for Conrad Koh Samui
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

903 - 909 of 1,168 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2011

My wife and I spent 3 spectacular nights (OCT/6-OCT/9/2011) at the Conrad in Koh Samui Thailand and we were very pleased with the accommodations and the service. This level of accommodation and service comes with a price and I would have to say that it is a price worth paying. There is not a bad room or “villa” at the Conrad. The entire place was built on a steep mountain side providing each villa with an un obstructed view of the beautiful ocean and the surrounding islands. You would not even know that you have neighboring villas unless you swim to the edge of your own personal pool (every villa has its own personal infinity pool) and look down upon the rooftops of the other villas or up towards the lobby.
This resort is a unique experience from the moment you arrive in the open air lobby at top of the mountain to the Cliffside golf cart (or“Buggy”) ride to the front door of your own personal, freestanding villa. The pictures presented online do begin to explain the upscale amenities of this resort. The pool is large enough to swim laps in, the bathroom is unlike anything I have ever seen and it is as large as some hotel rooms I have stayed in). Upon arrival your “smart villa” is activated with your room key which you place in the special slot after using it to enter your villa. After inserting your key the villa comes alive illuminating your private pool, your large bedroom and your lavish bathroom with a Cereal bowl like granite bath tub. A welcome message displaying your name is displayed upon your 50” flat screen TV to the tune of tranquil soft music playing in the background. This place is especially magical around sunset as every villa is facing east and provides an unobstructed view of the horizon.
This place is brand new. It just opened in September 2011. You need to know this when you book this resort as there are still a few projects that are in progress at the resort. For example, the spa is not complete however spa services can be provided directly in your villa. Also, there are not any watersports or beach services provided at this time at the resort itself. The concierge is extremely helpful in working with your to book the activities elsewhere. They were in the process of building a 300ft pier while we were there. This will be a nice feature since currently you have to take a 45 minute car ride to the other side of the island to catch your tour.
If you are looking for a resort that is located in the heart of the city/nightlife/shopping the Conrad is probably not for you. Although the Conrad is probably the nicest resort on the island of Koh Samui, It is located a good 30-45 minutes away from all of the local attractions. Believe me, when I say that we could have spent an entire week at this resort without going anywhere so the drive to the local attractions was not a big deal for us. I would highly recommend this resort. I would estimate (based on what I saw while I was there) that this resort will have everything figured out (watersports/transportation/spa services) by December 2011. However, the infrastructure that they currently have in place is more enough to suit the needs of most luxury travelers.

Room Tip: There is not a bad room at this place.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Steve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Steve G,

Our team appreciates your kind comments, and looks forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Warmest regards

Justin Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

My wife and I just completed an impromptu three night award stay (currently on "pointsavers", an incredible bargain at 30,000 Hhonors points a night) at the Conrad. We had been planning to stay in Phuket, but the weather there was horrible, so we jumped a flight to Koh Samui.

The rooms are stunning. The private pool with loungers overlooking the ocean exceeded all of my expectations. The breakfast at Zest was very good, and included in our rate. We also ate dinner at Zest and enjoyed it. The shared pool area and bar is very nice, and we had extremely attentive service there (we were also the only ones there on the day we spent at the pool). Wine is expensive at all of the restaurants, the lowest priced bottle you will find is roughly $60 USD. Service was generally good, everyone went out of their way to say hi and see if we needed anything -- during our stay there appeared to be more employees working than guests staying at the hotel.

The resort is VERY remote, to the point that I felt somewhat trapped, and this appears to influence some of the pricing. I'm used to resort prices but I did feel it was taken a bit to the extreme at the Conrad. For example, we made a reservation for dinner 4km from the hotel, and the hotel arranged a car service to drop us and pick us back up at a cost of 1,500 baht (~$50 USD). While the service was excellent, the cost is extremely out of line with what local taxis would charge (probably $2-$3 each way). It is impossible to walk anywhere from the hotel -- you need a ride to the top of the hill in a club car followed by an actual vehicle at the top to bring you down the other side. On our last day I found that there is some negotiability on the car service -- I asked for a car to take us back to the airport and was quoted a price higher than for pick-up. Upon protesting this, I was offered a Toyota Highlander instead of a BMW SUV for half the price ($50 USD one-way). For future guests using this service, I would recommend inquiring into where there is a lower cost option unless you are a stickler for riding in a BMW or a Mercedes.

On our first night, we arrived late and due to some communications challenges with the front desk staff, were lead to believe that Jahn was the only restaurant open. My wife and I shared a meal (I was a bit shocked that it was appetizer sized when it arrived) and had a glass of wine each for a bill of roughly $150 USD (we then went back to our room and ordered a burger via roomservice). Ordering a glass of wine at Jahn was an incredible ordeal, there were five red wine options and the restaurant was out of the first two I asked for. I felt the service was awkward and contrived, but we were also the only people eating at this late hour. All in all, we were very unhappy with our meal experience at Jahn.

The hotel is still a work in progress. The path to the beach was still being built, as was the dock (which appeared to be finished on our last day). The beach is narrow and pretty unimpressive and does not have loungers.

As mentioned in a prior review, club cars are provided to get you around the resort, which is extremely steep. I am in my 30s and in good shape, and I would never have attempted to walk up to Jahn restaurant, or to the reception area. Other areas, such as Zest and the pool are walkable (depending on where your room is) if you are reasonably fit. The club cars were pretty prompt when called for.

If I stayed at the Conrad again, I would definitely look into renting a car to provide more flexibility. I would also recommend finding a grocery and picking up some beverages before you get to the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Seattle_member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Seattle_member,

Many thanks for sharing your experience at The Conrad Koh Samui and we have noted your comments for improvement regarding Jahn and your departure to the airport. Our entire team looks forward to another chance to welcome you back to Conrad Koh Samui in the very near future.

Warmest regards

Justin Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The previous review is spot on with everything with regards to the glorious views from the luxurious rooms, good restaurants, excellent limo service but the service at the resort though friendly is impersonal and inexperienced.
With less than 40 guests, you'd think they would at least address you by name by your 3rd visit to the restaurant. Even the operator is clueless - asking which room you are from when you call.
Main concierge Aom is great but the other girls manning the desks have consistently given wrong information - even about the hotel itself and requests were not properly relayed to respective departments.
Little touches by housekeeping to refresh the fruit basket and leaving sweet samples are nice but they don't quite add up to the luxury factor that personalized service brings. There is a difference between when a chef actually cares to find out if you enjoyed your meal versus it's a "duty" to stop by the table with a perfunctory greeting before rushing off and he does not say hello nor smile the next few times he sees you. I've had better service on a one night layover at a Hamilton Inn.
This one's not quite in the big leagues yet.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elfonashelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Elfonashelf,

Thank you for providing us your helpful feedback and I do apologize for the challenges you encountered with our services. I have addressed your comments with my team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Justin Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at CKS Sept 1-7. Prior to our stay, I communicated with CKS a number of times. CKS promptly and courteously answered al of my inquiries. This started things off on a god note.

We were the very first guests at this lovely resort. Inasmuch as we had pre-arranged for a Conrad airport pickup, we were swiftly greeted by the CKS representatives and taken directly to the hotel - about a 40 minute, or so, car ride. Upon arrival at the resort, we were very graciously greeted by various representatives of the resort and of Hilton/Conrad brands. Throughout our entire stay, all levels of management and staff were nothing but pelasant and helpful. In particular, we would like to extend our thanks to (hopefully I will get this correct- excuse me if I don’t!!) Justin (GM), Paul (Director of Operations), Roman (Food & Beverage Mgr), Konrad (Chef), Joe (Sous Chef), Alfred (Azure/Pool), and the many others who made our stay pleasant. A very extensive review has already been posted at Flyertalk by another guest who stayed at this hotel so I will not go into the depth on the same matters.

The one bedroom villas are quite nice. The living area is decent but not overwhelming – it has a small sitting area and a large TV (with internet) directed toward the sitting area couch but which can swivel to be seen from the bed or desk area. The bathroom is quite spacious and very pretty – separate shower and big round tub (with TV- though we used neither the tub nor the bathroom TV). The deck with pool over looks the Gulf of Thailand and the Five Islands – a spectacular setting for a sunset. The deck can be accessed from glass sliders in the bathroom, glass sliders in the living space or a glass door – essentially the wall of the villa facing the sea is substantially glass. On the deck there are 2 lounge chairs with umbrella, a couch with a table and chairs. The pool was quite decent size – larger than I was anticipating.

At breakfast, we ate at Zest at which you have a choice of eating indoors or outdoors. A very large assortment of food was offered both hot and cold. Along one of the interior walls of the restaurant is a “food library” – a novel concept whereby there are alcoved shelves in the wall displaying and keeping various foods chilled/refrigerated. We ate at Azure (very casual) – mostly for lunch near the pool. We had everything from salads to pizza (I do not remember the price of the pizza – somebody had inquired in a post) to sandwiches – all were good. A number of nights we ate at Zest which had a varied menu – we ate outdoors when the weather permitted (it rained a few nights but the days were very nice). Two of the evenings we had dinner at Jahn which is quite upscale and has a limited number of offerings but everything we had was quite good.

I suggest having a cocktail at Glow which is an outdoor cocktail area adjacent to Jahn. This setting provides a wonderful view of the sea and the Five Islands – especially at sunset.

A quick word about bugs – there were none to speak of. If there is an insect on an island it will find me; however, I came home without a single bite.

The pool area is very nice. The water temperature of the pool is warm so that you can walk right into it without hesitation – the same is true for the ocean. I found the lounge chairs surrounding the pool to be a tad hard after sitting on them for a while. Additionally, the lounge chairs which were set in the shallow portion of the pool look fabulous but did not have umbrellas. My feeling is that the resort, once truly underway, may well add cushions to the lounge chairs as well as adding a few more umbrellas. I tried a day bed on the second day and found it to be quite comfortable – could read a book all day and still be comfortable/not be stiff.

One note, this is not a place for the vertically challenged. The resort is built on the side of a very, very steep hill (almost more cliff like!). The resort provides golf cart shuttles if you so desire – it really depends upon your villa location as to what portions of the resort you can reasonably walk to/from w/o a golf cart ride. We stayed in #206 so walking to/from the pool as well as Zest was reasonable (we are 50 and relatively fit); however, a golf cart ride was necessary to Glow/Jahn, etc. all that being said once at the golf cart drop off location for the pool there were still 53 steps (I believe) between the drop location and the pool.

We did go snorkeling a few times from the resort. With you back to the resort (as a reference), the fish were virtually nonexistent to the right. To the left was a tad better but not up to par for snorkel enthusiasts. We snorkeled all the way down to the spa area (which was not open when we were there but looks spectacular from the water) – the snorkeling was a bit better down the spa end (though we were out in the water a distance.

We stayed at the resort virtually all the time. However, through CKS we did arrange a private boat trip (Samui Boat Charter company) for a day to tour Angthong Marine Park. This was a very good experience – the crew was polite and professional – and included a guided snorkel which was very good (though not the same as in the Seychelles or Maldives), as well as lunch at an island location.

At the time of our stay there were no water toys whatsoever. I believe CKS is planning on having sea kayaks. It may also have a boat from Samui Boat Charter at the resort. I am hoping that some additional non-motorized “water toys” will come into play as the resort evolves.

We had a wonderful stay and would return. Thanks to all who made our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank llfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear llfoster,

Many thanks for sharing your stay experience, and for your loyalty to us. I appreciate your kind comments and will share them with my team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Justin Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ctduce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank chitatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
10.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,404 reviews
10.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
15.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#18 of 184 in Bophut
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
12.1 mi away
W Retreat Koh Samui
W Retreat Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,072 reviews
10.2 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Koh Samui

Address: 49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#18 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#20 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range: $463 - $1,096 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Koh Samui is a luxury pool villa resort located on the south western tip of the popular Thai island, designed to ensure each private pool villa enjoys glorious panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and its astonishing sunsets. Consisting of 81 private pool villas with one, two or three bedrooms, 3 innovative restaurants, 2 lounges and bars, a private wine cellar and destination dining, the resort provides the individualistic sense of luxury that Conrad has become known for. The award-wining Conrad Spa combines international treatments and Thai spa techniques with distinctive design accents and world-class facilities to delight all of the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Conrad Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing