We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite there yet...”
Review of Conrad Koh Samui

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Conrad Koh Samui
Ranked #23 of 317 Hotels in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 1, 2011

The previous review is spot on with everything with regards to the glorious views from the luxurious rooms, good restaurants, excellent limo service but the service at the resort though friendly is impersonal and inexperienced.
With less than 40 guests, you'd think they would at least address you by name by your 3rd visit to the restaurant. Even the operator is clueless - asking which room you are from when you call.
Main concierge Aom is great but the other girls manning the desks have consistently given wrong information - even about the hotel itself and requests were not properly relayed to respective departments.
Little touches by housekeeping to refresh the fruit basket and leaving sweet samples are nice but they don't quite add up to the luxury factor that personalized service brings. There is a difference between when a chef actually cares to find out if you enjoyed your meal versus it's a "duty" to stop by the table with a perfunctory greeting before rushing off and he does not say hello nor smile the next few times he sees you. I've had better service on a one night layover at a Hamilton Inn.
This one's not quite in the big leagues yet.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Elfonashelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear Elfonashelf,

Thank you for providing us your helpful feedback and I do apologize for the challenges you encountered with our services. I have addressed your comments with my team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Justin Phillips

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,222 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at CKS Sept 1-7. Prior to our stay, I communicated with CKS a number of times. CKS promptly and courteously answered al of my inquiries. This started things off on a god note.

We were the very first guests at this lovely resort. Inasmuch as we had pre-arranged for a Conrad airport pickup, we were swiftly greeted by the CKS representatives and taken directly to the hotel - about a 40 minute, or so, car ride. Upon arrival at the resort, we were very graciously greeted by various representatives of the resort and of Hilton/Conrad brands. Throughout our entire stay, all levels of management and staff were nothing but pelasant and helpful. In particular, we would like to extend our thanks to (hopefully I will get this correct- excuse me if I don’t!!) Justin (GM), Paul (Director of Operations), Roman (Food & Beverage Mgr), Konrad (Chef), Joe (Sous Chef), Alfred (Azure/Pool), and the many others who made our stay pleasant. A very extensive review has already been posted at Flyertalk by another guest who stayed at this hotel so I will not go into the depth on the same matters.

The one bedroom villas are quite nice. The living area is decent but not overwhelming – it has a small sitting area and a large TV (with internet) directed toward the sitting area couch but which can swivel to be seen from the bed or desk area. The bathroom is quite spacious and very pretty – separate shower and big round tub (with TV- though we used neither the tub nor the bathroom TV). The deck with pool over looks the Gulf of Thailand and the Five Islands – a spectacular setting for a sunset. The deck can be accessed from glass sliders in the bathroom, glass sliders in the living space or a glass door – essentially the wall of the villa facing the sea is substantially glass. On the deck there are 2 lounge chairs with umbrella, a couch with a table and chairs. The pool was quite decent size – larger than I was anticipating.

At breakfast, we ate at Zest at which you have a choice of eating indoors or outdoors. A very large assortment of food was offered both hot and cold. Along one of the interior walls of the restaurant is a “food library” – a novel concept whereby there are alcoved shelves in the wall displaying and keeping various foods chilled/refrigerated. We ate at Azure (very casual) – mostly for lunch near the pool. We had everything from salads to pizza (I do not remember the price of the pizza – somebody had inquired in a post) to sandwiches – all were good. A number of nights we ate at Zest which had a varied menu – we ate outdoors when the weather permitted (it rained a few nights but the days were very nice). Two of the evenings we had dinner at Jahn which is quite upscale and has a limited number of offerings but everything we had was quite good.

I suggest having a cocktail at Glow which is an outdoor cocktail area adjacent to Jahn. This setting provides a wonderful view of the sea and the Five Islands – especially at sunset.

A quick word about bugs – there were none to speak of. If there is an insect on an island it will find me; however, I came home without a single bite.

The pool area is very nice. The water temperature of the pool is warm so that you can walk right into it without hesitation – the same is true for the ocean. I found the lounge chairs surrounding the pool to be a tad hard after sitting on them for a while. Additionally, the lounge chairs which were set in the shallow portion of the pool look fabulous but did not have umbrellas. My feeling is that the resort, once truly underway, may well add cushions to the lounge chairs as well as adding a few more umbrellas. I tried a day bed on the second day and found it to be quite comfortable – could read a book all day and still be comfortable/not be stiff.

One note, this is not a place for the vertically challenged. The resort is built on the side of a very, very steep hill (almost more cliff like!). The resort provides golf cart shuttles if you so desire – it really depends upon your villa location as to what portions of the resort you can reasonably walk to/from w/o a golf cart ride. We stayed in #206 so walking to/from the pool as well as Zest was reasonable (we are 50 and relatively fit); however, a golf cart ride was necessary to Glow/Jahn, etc. all that being said once at the golf cart drop off location for the pool there were still 53 steps (I believe) between the drop location and the pool.

We did go snorkeling a few times from the resort. With you back to the resort (as a reference), the fish were virtually nonexistent to the right. To the left was a tad better but not up to par for snorkel enthusiasts. We snorkeled all the way down to the spa area (which was not open when we were there but looks spectacular from the water) – the snorkeling was a bit better down the spa end (though we were out in the water a distance.

We stayed at the resort virtually all the time. However, through CKS we did arrange a private boat trip (Samui Boat Charter company) for a day to tour Angthong Marine Park. This was a very good experience – the crew was polite and professional – and included a guided snorkel which was very good (though not the same as in the Seychelles or Maldives), as well as lunch at an island location.

At the time of our stay there were no water toys whatsoever. I believe CKS is planning on having sea kayaks. It may also have a boat from Samui Boat Charter at the resort. I am hoping that some additional non-motorized “water toys” will come into play as the resort evolves.

We had a wonderful stay and would return. Thanks to all who made our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank llfoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul L, General Manager at Conrad Koh Samui, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2011

Dear llfoster,

Many thanks for sharing your stay experience, and for your loyalty to us. I appreciate your kind comments and will share them with my team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best Regards

Justin Phillips
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Conrad Hotels & Resorts
Thank 102jihyec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jin-kyoung L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 528현영김
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
10.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,444 reviews
15.3 mi away
Six Senses Samui
Six Senses Samui
#30 of 185 in Bophut
940 reviews
10.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
W Koh Samui
W Koh Samui
#6 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,130 reviews
10.5 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
0 mi away
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
Conrad Koh Samui Residences
#4 of 7 in Taling Ngam
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Conrad Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Conrad Koh Samui

Address: 49/8-9 Moo 4, Hillcrest Road | Taling-Ngam, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly Conrad Koh Samui Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Samui
#18 Spa Hotel in Ko Samui
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Samui
#21 Luxury Hotel in Ko Samui
Price Range: $482 - $1,172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Conrad Koh Samui 5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conrad Koh Samui is a luxury pool villa resort located on the south western tip of the popular Thai island, designed to ensure each private pool villa enjoys glorious panoramic views of the Gulf of Thailand and its astonishing sunsets. Consisting of 81 private pool villas with one, two or three bedrooms, 3 innovative restaurants, 2 lounges and bars, a private wine cellar and destination dining, the resort provides the individualistic sense of luxury that Conrad has become known for. The award-wining Conrad Spa combines international treatments and Thai spa techniques with distinctive design accents and world-class facilities to delight all of the senses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Conrad Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Conrad Koh Samui Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing