We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice location and beach but every year more expensive then last year”
Review of O.P. Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
O.P. Bungalow
Ranked #143 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Reviewed January 11, 2013

nice location and beach but every year more expensive then year ago.
i dont know how they arrange prices go up every year,
i think in a few year room prices expensive than ibiza or mayorka
many dogs around kitchen its not good for healthy but chinese owner dont care.
restaurant price is good value , cold beers everytime. pay little bit more go better class hotel

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bodrumtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 109 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2013

Chaweng beach is a disgusting "slice of paradise" (rubbish all long the beach, hawkers trying to sell you rubbish every two seconds, massage services screeched at you from a million massage huts..) but the OP Bungalow is perfect for you if this is what you call paradise. Some ratty tables on the beachfront restaurant where people sit all day (still can't fathom why?). The rooms are very basic, highly mosquito infested, old dusty AC and the staff offer none of the lovely Thai service. The bungalows are in a lovely garden (which may be the source of the mosquito problem?) but don't get too excited because every once in a while, without notice, they kindly fumigate the entire property with a blanket of fumes so thick you cannot see your hand in front of your face. Rather go to Lamai beach if you have to do Samui as it hasn't been completely ruined completely yet.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TuaniD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights, everything was good, clean, the beach is just 5 minutes walk max, the nightlife also really close,The staff and security is also really nice, the one not so nice thing is the wifi, they turning off around 10-11...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GyongyiCsoban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

I didn't stay at OP bungalow so I can't comment on the accommodation. But the restaurant on the beach was great. Great food, great location right on the beach in Chaweng, cheap prices and large servings. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lailu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

OP Bungalow does not have amenities like a gym or pool. But, who comes to Samui to be indoors or sit at a pool, especially since OP Bungalow has direct access to the beach?? In my opinion, OP Bungalow has the best spot on the prettiest part of the beach in all of Samui. The sand is powdery soft and directly across there is a pretty island. Walking north from OP, the beach narrows and there's barely space for chairs, let alone towels. Even further north, the sand becomes course and rough. OP is in walking distance to all the best restaurants and night life Chaweng has to offer.

I didn't hear any planes from the hotel, as some other viewers noted.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

we love comming to op for breakfast or dinner just sit out side and watch the world go by.

we go there every time we are staying in koh samui ,love the food so inexpesive but good quality the fish is my pick deep fried sweet and sour sauce but so many and the beer is cold.

we have friends who live there go there every day for breakfast so inexpesive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 62david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Just basic beach bunaglows with hot shower, aircon, fridge, safe, tv its all you need to have a nice holiday

The OP has a nice garden to walk through the beach and the restaurant was nice situated at the beach where sometimes I had my lunchs
Is closed to the main road with lots of restaurants, shops, massage salons, seven eleven

Stay here 9 nights and it was fine :)

PS: you have to pay for the WIFI (I paid 150 BTH) -> the WIFI connection was not so good, did get better WIFI @ restaurants
You als have to pay deposit of 330 BTH for the lock of safe and at checking out the you will receive 300 BTH back

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss_M3005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.3 mi away
Suneast Bungalows
Suneast Bungalows
#171 of 185 in Bophut
37 reviews
0.2 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#71 of 185 in Bophut
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
Iyara Beach Hotel & Plaza
#57 of 104 in Chaweng
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lucky Mother Bungalow
Lucky Mother Bungalow
#135 of 313 in Ko Samui
117 reviews
0.0 mi away
Marine Bungalows
Marine Bungalows
#232 of 317 in Ko Samui
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O.P. Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O.P. Bungalow

Address: 111 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 463 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range: $23 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — O.P. Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your O.P. Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o.p. Bungalow Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing