We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food & Drinks by the sea side”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Happy Elephant

Happy Elephant
Ranked #166 of 1,238 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood, Asian, Thai, Soups, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food & Drinks by the sea side”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Here's what we had.
- Pineapple Fried Rice - quite good
- Pork Fried Rice - so so but considering the. price, it was ok
- Pad Thai Noodles - wife had it... She said it was nice
- Mixed Fried Vege - rather disappointing
- Green Curry with chicken - quite good but I've had better
- Lemon Juice - wife said it tasted kinda fake
- Coconut Juice - kinda old coconut without any meat

Recommended for families as they have a kids menu.
Great view for outdoor seating
Friendly staff but not as friendly as other restaurants or like your typical Thai establishment

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Azxel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    379
    198
    87
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Delicious and good service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We ate barracuda here for the first time and it was delicious. Our kids enjoyed the chocolate milkshakes and I had a delicious Pineapple, coconut and banana shake while my husband had a Singah Beer. The servers loved to smile at our young children and were very attentive, clearing plates quickly after they were emptied, etc. The chicken satay was also quite yummy, as were the spring rolls. The view of the beach and sea were another definite plus to this restaurant, as well as it's location at the heart of Bophut.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SueB173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Another typical beach front restaurant.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

My husband has a view about restaurants - the better the location, the worst the food, and he is invaraiably right. And sadly, on this occasion, this prooved to be the case too

I was attracted by the display of fresh fish outside and the BBQ, upon which fish were being cooked. I'm also a sucker for the beach front location enjoyed by this old established restaurant. Eventually, after passing it on several evenings, ny husband gave in, and we went in. Big mistake!

It was a bit like one of those restaurants you find in theme parks - seemingly authentic, but not quite right. It was noisy (not helped by a couple of small children screaming in tandem) and frenetic. When the wine arrived It was warm and needed ice. The food was mixed - the Red Snapper was good, but ridiculously over priced at 500 bt; the Penang curry was the worst I have ever had in any restaurant. We were glad to get out, and the whole meal probably took more than 40 minutes from start to end.

There are better restaurants in Bophut for this sort of money and The Hut is infinitely better for a lot less.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mags M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Overall pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Good location and decor is lovely. The food was ok, the Pad Thai was very different to others we had in Thailand it wasn't bad persee just different. Reasonbly priced.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kofbrisvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“lobster”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

we ate here for the sole reason of having good lobster and we wasnt disspaointed!!!, not the cheapest place to eat but very very good food and service!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank phatpheasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Happy Elephant also viewed

Bophut, Ko Samui
 
Bophut, Ko Samui
 

Been to Happy Elephant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing