We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samui Hideaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront
Ranked #211 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Brisbane
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Samui Hideaway”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

This visit to Koh Samui was a quick 5-day trip for two girlfriends having a mini-break, so we needed either twin accommodation or two bedrooms. Out of season Punnpreeda was excellent value, and we had a seaview villa which was blissful. One of the reasons we chose this property was it's proximity to the "Fisherman's Village" - a 15 minute walk away and offering a wide range of restaurants, bars and shopping as well as the Friday night spectacular of "Walking Street".

The villa was clean and very spacious and the staff were wonderful, with daily breakfast served in the villa and a mini-bar included*.

The private pool is a plunge pool, with a shallow area with sun loungers adding a level of holiday decadence.

For families sharing, one bathroom has a shower, the other a spa-bath with a hand-held shower hose. The bath is a little pointless in Thailand, (personal opinion) as it takes ages to fill and the weather is so warm anyway. It was difficult not having 2 showers available and the wooden blinds in the bathrooms need replacing, plastic ones would be more practical. Lighting in the bathrooms was not that good, but both bedrooms had concertina windows to the living area which let in loads more light.

Upside: good location, good value, beautiful property. Breakfast and mini-bar included. Umbrellas, robes, slippers and pool towels supplied. Transport available including airport transfers (there is a charge). Security on site, very helpful and friendly staff. Quick and reasonable room service is available. Sister property Punnpreeda Hip Resort has a restaurant and larger pool, and guests can use these with a free transfer shuttle at certain times of the day.

Downside: Punnpreeda is on a main road and they are currently building additional villas and a new reception area in the front, which caused a little inconvenience, although this will be finished in a few months. A large construction project across the road caused some dirt and disturbance at the entry, although you don't hear the traffic from villas on the seafront and again I imagine this will be complete in 6-9 months. There were a lot of mosquitos but insect cream and mozzie coils were supplied. The beach is not really suitable for use - rocky and dirty with a lot of rubbish although there are other beaches in the vicinity that the staff can direct you to.

*Mini-bar includes snacks (peanuts and cookies), 2 x large bottles water, red wine, Singha beer, local whiskey and some soft drinks

Room Tip: Best beach-front villas are 901, 902 and 903.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisbanegirl22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    28
    11
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed in a Studio Seaview for 7 nights on July. Pre-arranged transport was waiting at the airport.
Villa was well appointed and spacious. Bed comfortable with good linen. Beautiful white flagstone tiles- beware when wet they are treacherous. Air-con worked well.Some water views over the roof of beachfront villas.
Included minibar was great. Breakfast was delicious with adequate selection. Usually arrived at chosen time and varying from just warm to hot. Room service was tasty enough- would have been better served hot. Ate at Punpreeda Hip Resort several times and found their food better in quality and was delicious.
Plunge pool was just that- good to sit in or a quick dip to cool off. Water had evaporated after 3 days water became foul without any maintenance- once brought to Housekeeping staff's attention they arranged for it to be serviced. Filled with water, chlorinated and filtered- all good again. Housekeeping were efficient and the villa was kept immaculate. Initially they would arrive mid-later afternoon until I started phoning for morning servicing.
All staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading from the entry level villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mynatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaweng, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Lived at punpreeda pool for 12 nights. At first we got a small villa with only one bedroom and poor sea view (we ordered with sea view). We upgraded to a villa with 2 bedroms for 1500 bhat extra. This was so much nicer. Would reccomend a villa near the beach. A little bit traffic outside the hotel, but no problem. The staff is incredible nice and helpfull. Best service I have experienced on a hotel. Very friendly and quick to help out with questions. Good english skils! The location is a little bitt outside chaweng, about 20 min with taxi. Very nice and private villa's so it's perfect for couples that wants privacy. Good food and meal order. Free breakfast delivered to room and also free minibar. Cheap driving service! We will come back :-)

Room Tip: 2 rooms villa are nicer! Get one close to the beach to reduce the noise from road. Nice standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012 via mobile

Overall our stay was delightful, the grounds and apartments were well maintained and newly renovated.
The location is a ten minute stroll from the french influenced fishermans village and a 300 baht taxi ride from the main drag.
The property has no restaurant only room service and the beach front is rocky however less than a 200m along the beach and it's one of the best beaches on the island.

There is a dissapointingly large communication barrier, we had organized airport transfers and were not picked up, they had forgotten. A customer service rep for the hotel chain offers to take you on a brief island tour however ends up heckling you to buy time shares in the resort and constantly contacts you from this point until the end of your stay. We had organized late check out however at 10am we received a call to check out as the next guests had arrived to check in, they allowed us to continue on until midday and then proceeded to charge us for late check out and the airport transfer which was forgotten. Dissapointing customer service for the price - would stay somewhere else if I go back

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Desirae O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PunnpreedaPoolVilla, General Manager at Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
We're terribly sorry about the pick up and the late check out that caused you inconvenience. As we discussed of what happened with these cases, there were some misunderstanding which were not intended. However, we will train our staffs on better communication skill and service.
Thank you for your valuable comments.
Best regards,
Punnpreeda Pool Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We had 5 days at Punnpreeda In a Pool Villa. The villa was spacious and comfortable and the plunge pool was great place to cool off. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good parking available and a short distance by car to Bophut Fishermans Village.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank congrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The rooms are all villas with semi-private pools. The two bedroom villa I stayed in was clean, comfortable and had decent plasma tvs in each room. The complimentary juice, water, beer, wine and whiskey along with chips and cookies were a nice touch.

If the beach is not so important and you don't mind driving up the road a bit for some nice sand, then this is a good choice. Ask for the rooms "on the rocks" or overlooking the bay.

Room Tip: They have a driver service if needed and breakfast is included and brought to your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeaducedByTheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

My friends and I, a group of 4, decided it would be best to stay at a pool villa for our trip, as we didn't want to be in seperate rooms (possibly far away from each other) in a hotel. With our budget, there weren't a lot of choices (most others were way too expensive), and we went with Punnpreeda. We originally booked 'On the Rocks', but was immediately upgraded to 'Beachfront' upon arrival. After walking to our villa, we were really glad we didn't get our original rooms as some of the rooms did not have a lot of privacy. The villa was well furnished with great sound system, full kitchen with utensils (no scissors, but reception will kindly provide a pair if needed), TV in both rooms and living room, and a chioce of shower or bath for each of the rooms.

Before arriving to Koh Samui, we came onto TripAdvisor to see people's comments and were expecting all the bad things people wrote about. The pool was not as dirty and grungy as some wrote it to be, perhaps because we had the newly refurnished rooms (with sunchair in the pool). There were mouldy spots in the bath curtains, but because we expected even worse, it wasn't too off putting. The water was not hot, but warm enough for it to not be a problem. Some other people also complained that the water flow wasn't enough and it took them an hour just to shower, I assure you that it's not as bad as some may have felt. For my friends and I, a 10-15mins shower was quite adequate!

For sun lovers, this hotel might not be the best option, but upon request, the staff are able to drive you over to Q Signature hotel, where there's a really nice pool to swim at. To head back to the hotel, just have reception to call Punnpreeda and they'll pick you up within 15mins! The whole of Koh Samui is full of mosquitos, not just Punnpreeda, so I would suggest to go to 711 (for the cheapest) mosquito incense, and light it near you whenever you are in the villa.

My favourite parts of this trip were the staff, they were honest and lovely people, and the sunrise I got to see every morning. I say this because we forgot to lock our safe one day, and they took a picture of what was inside, informed reception and asked us to make sure nothing was stolen in and outside of the safe. None of our money/valuables/clothings (inside luggages) were touched, and we were very grateful. Honey and the staff, including the men in the parking lot, were all really nice and polite. Hone was very personable and helpful as well. She'll answer as many questions/problems about Koh Samui as possible, and even directed us to local restaurants that she frequently goes to.

Without vehicles, Punnpreeda will provide a few drop offs in and out of town daily (2 each way), so it might be best to rent a car or moped, tuk tuk/taxi back is generally around 300baht, a little more expensive if it's after 12am.

Room Tip: Even though it says beachfront, don't think of it as a sandy beach, it's more of a rocky bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drummagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
1.8 mi away
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
Deva Samui Resort & Spa
#5 of 10 in Choeng Mon
696 reviews
2.6 mi away
Montien House
Montien House
#72 of 185 in Bophut
496 reviews
4.2 mi away
Saree Samui
Saree Samui
#2 of 454 in Ko Samui
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
Punnpreeda Beach Resort
#70 of 185 in Bophut
367 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tango Luxe Beach Villa
Tango Luxe Beach Villa
#60 of 185 in Bophut
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Replay Residence and Pool Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront

Property: Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront
Address: 199 Moo1 Bang Rak Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #211 of 454 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punnpreeda Pool Villa Beachfront Hotel Koh Samui

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing