We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class French”
Review of The Boudoir

The Boudoir
Ranked #2 of 1,303 Restaurants in Ko Samui
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First class French”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Having read a review that said how hard the restaurant was to find .. We struggled a little to find the Boudoir sign on the main road ( it's off a side road next to the Family Mart ) it was hysterical to thereafter see how wonderfully signposted Le Boudoir was thereafter. It's low season here and most restaurants are empty but Le Boudoir was busy and having eaten there last night I would say with very good reason . I spoke initially in school girl French but the owners Florence and. Patrice could not have been more attentive , polite and helpful in their best English . The menu ( in French and English) is very French . I had salade du chèvre aver miel , Sir had salade foie gras . Both were huge servings and perfect , with a large very well dressed salad - probably we should have shared . We both had rib eye steaks with Carmague salt which again were first class. The vin rouge of the house was wonderful in a Thai otherwise relative wine desert. The setting is beautiful - and romantic . highly recommend

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graziaprego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    590
    46
    9
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Still a little gem”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We haven't been for a while, so this was the first visit since the new owners Patrice and Magali took over Boudoir. We were a little apprehensive as we had always enjoyed our visits, happily it was great. The food was fabulous, we shared a goats cheese salad to start and I had duck with figs and my husband steak with cognac sauce. Both were beautifully cooked and the meat was excellent quality. We had a lovely bottle of Provencal rose and a complimentary digestive from Patrice. There are more signs up now so easier to find and definitely worth a visit for that special occasion. Surprisingly the prices are very reasonable, I think something like 300bht for the duck and the steak was certainly a lot cheaper than the offerings at The Shack in FV. Do phone to book though.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NoelDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A ne pas bouder”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The perfect place to go after a busy day to relax and enjoy what is probably the best French food in Samui. While the menu is very limited - synonymous with freshness and quality - chosing is hard. The tuna tartar with avocado was simply delicious. So was the duck magret. The husband is in the kitchen and his wife is behind the bar. They are passionate about food and they ensure you feel just like at home.
Thank you for being authentic and all the best to your French food heaven in Samui!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sashami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the number one”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

only for people who appreciate the succulent french cuisine. the owners are very friendly and do the best to satisfy the customers, the service is very good and the food delicious, you eat in a charming and intimate space.
for us, it was the best restaurant that we do in koh samui.
a special hello to blackie, the dog that the owners adopted.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jean pierre p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koh Samui
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's not worth it”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I'm very sorry but this restaurant is not worth the visit. The owners are very polite and the food is nice arranged on the plates but this is the only positiv at this place. Dogs are barking all the time and running around, very difficult to find (you need at least 30 minutes) and the food mediocre.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tzena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boudoir also viewed

Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to The Boudoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing