We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Tongson Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tongson Villas
Ranked #193 of 466 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Tongson Villas is in a perfect location - away from the hustle and bustle however close enough to access different areas on Koh Samui. Our hosts Dean and Irit were great - nothing was too much trouble. The views from the villa were lovely.Sunrises and sunsets were a joy to see and photograph. Tongson villas is definately a place we would recommend to those who would like to try an alternative to your resort style holiday. Friendly locals who are only too willing to assist you with anything you require. A great introduction to Koh Samui.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mickazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 16 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2013

We were totally spoilt to have Dean & Irit being the perfect guides in a tropical paradise. Accommodation was top class with in-ground pool, spa pool and views to die for. Dean & Irit showed us the best places to eat, shop and see the sights. We recommend Tongson Villas to anyone wanting to get away from hotel/motel/resort holidays.
Thanks again Dean & Irit for a great holiday!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Brian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuitongson, Owner at Tongson Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

thanks Brian and Jan for the review
it was great to meet you guys and show you around Samui
hope you enjoyed it [especially the massages] and you are welcome back anytime
cheers
Dean and Irit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Staying at Tongson Villa's was just pefect, away from the main streets tucked up on a ridge where the view was just what I imagined Thailand would be. The villa had everything we needed and anything we required Dean & Irit were there to assist. The pool was so relaxing after the day touring with Dean mixing the drinks to top it off. The personal touch by our hosts made our holiday so enjoyable we are planning to go back next year. The attention and help in where to go for good Thai food, to the little places to shop was advice that you would find hard to beat. For a break from the hussle and bussle this would rate the best holiday yet. THANKS DEAN AND IRIT for an amazing experience!

Room Tip: The Villa's are great fo couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank joymp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuitongson, Owner at Tongson Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

hi guys
glad you enjoyed your stay , cant wait to meet up soon, next time longer please , 7 days you didnt get enough massages, cheers
Dean and Irit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Stayed for 2 weeks in March 13. due to building work at the front of the mango villa we were up graded to the main villa which is huge on two floors and has stunning views of sunrise and sunset from the balcony that surrounds the top floor. If staying in the smaller villas the sunset view is just as spectacular and to be honest the building being carried out would probably not of bothered us.
A great villa that we used as a base while travelling the beautiful Koh Samui, so we were not in the villa much, however when we were it is very well presented and comfortable. The hosts Dean and Irit are very helpful with lots of advice etc for day trips and restaurants. A vehicle is essential and a jeep was arranged for us by Dean at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jokervdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuitongson, Owner at Tongson Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

hi guys
thanks for the review and much appreciated
was great having you here , let us know when your are planning a return visit
cheers
Dean and irit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Comfortable, clean accommodation - stunning views -within 15mins walk of white sandy beach just like the ones in the ads! best bit hot tub on the balcony - fabulous for sunrise and sunset and star gazing with a glass of wine - and relaxed conversations putting the world to rights...
Slow paced, friendly, laid back and smiley locals - wonderful fresh meat, fish and veg markets - nothing like supermarket plastic mass produced rubbish food. Eating out incredibly cheap - green thai curry to die for! Sticky rice and mango for pud - fresh coconut milk to drink. Hired a moped to explore - easy to get around.
Thanks to Dean and Irit - great hosts, very helpful and thoughtful - Def on my WOULD LIKE TO VISIT AGAIN List!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MICHELE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuitongson, Owner at Tongson Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

thanks guys for the great review
was happy to have you stay and explore samui ,and get some realaxation in as well
hopefully will see you soon
take care
dean and Irit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We rented the whole villa complex (1 big house with 3 rooms + 2 smaller houses which ) for our family reunion with 4 couples and 6 kids from 0 - 10 years. Stayed 10 days in early February and had overall a great experience. The views from the villa are truly amazing with the ocean, rocks and beaches. We would definitely stay here again and after looking around on the island this is really the best place to stay.

Transportation/location: Dean helped us to rent to a pickup truck on arrival which could seat 5 people in the cabin and rest of the family on the back. Great value compared to other offers and the 4WD was very helpful when we explored the islands waterfall and jungle. Having a car is very useful as the villa is a bit isolated (which is not bad as that makes it very calm and quiet).

Shopping: In walking distance there is really no shopping, 10 minutes drive take you to the nearest 7/11 and family mart but these are small and not really suitable for shopping for a self-catering villa with large family, 15 minutes drive will get you to the local fresh food market and with 30 minutes drive you can get to big super market with all you need.

Food: Villa was rented as self-catering. There was one excellent take away option already provided, we tried it a number of times always with a great result. Nearby also had a small restaurant open most evenings which could also deliver; great inexpensive thai food (country bar). In walking distance there was also a few resort restaurants (O2 beach club), but we didn't try those. One night the cleaning lady made a great thai dinner for all of us. She made so much food that we had enough for 3 dinners ! Didn't cost much. There is one big table at the pool side which can seat 10-12 people, and another smaller table on the 1st floor in the main house which seats 6-8 people (if you are many people, maybe you can ask Dean to extend this table a bit so that you can also sit here as that is quite convenient next to the kitchen).

Internet and communications: The Villa had a wireless 3G-Wifi router which could be moved around. It worked ok but as it could only connect 5 devices, with big internet hungry family, it was at times overloaded. Consider getting your own 3G SIM card which can be bought inexpensively everywhere and then you can also use it for cheap local calls and internet on the road. There is no fixed phone in the villa so local sim card is also handy for calling take away, the host etc. Villa had satellite tv with all the channels you could wish.

Kids: The website said that the villa wasn't suitable for kids. We found that it worked out fine. Kids loved the pool, which most of the time was in shadow. On the other hand if you are very concerned with children security you may not find this place ideal as its not adapted to high children security.

Beach: The villa is not "beach front". There are two beaches within walking distance (both appx 15 min walk, rather steep). One to the south with Melati resort. The walking path is a bit difficult as you need to cross some rocks before you get to the beach but its ok. You can also drive to the beach and park there next to a small beach front Thai restaurant which is very nice. To drive there you need to take a different and longer way than the walking path. For the north beach its together with O2 beach club and here you are free to use also the swimming pool and beach beds (melati don't allow that). Overall we liked the south beach more. Else we recommend the Choeng Mon beach which is 15 min drive away. Its also sheltered from prevailing western winds and not too crowded, go through the Sala Samui resort to get there.

Tours: The hosts helped us to join a full day organized tour to Anthong Marine Park. We had a great trip and recommend it to others.

Noise: The villa is in general very calm and suitable for relaxing, neighbors are other villas also most for renting and it doesn't seem too busy/noisy. Villa is not to far away from airport but there is really no airplane noise so don't worry about that. The area where the villa is located still has some land available for construction and while we were there some construction was ongoing, we weren't bothered by that though. Dean is very careful to inform about this so it shouldn't be a problem.

Electricity: If you don't plan to use 24 hours air conditioning, ask to pay electricity separately that comes out less expensive. Our electricity bill was 3000 Baht.

Mosquito: At sun set and sun rise there are some mosquitoes out. Bring proper insect repellant to avoid bites and try to close bedrooms off before sunset to avoid mosquitoes inside. Most rooms have mosquito net over the bed so you can sleep in peace.

Finally a huge thank you to the the hosts Dean and Irit. They are really the ones which makes the stay exceptional. Dean and Irit really went out of their way to help us as much as possible. Very natural and sincere and their advice was always very helpful and lead us to discover the island in best way possible. Thanks for everything and hope to make it back to your fantastic villa in the future.

Room Tip: For couples you can take one of the smaller villas, for big families you can rent the whole villa co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarsMan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
samuitongson, Owner at Tongson Villas, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

hi guys
thanks so much for your review and comments
we loved having you stay with us , you guys take care ,and hopefully will see you again in the future
cheers from your hosts
Dean and Irit Cleeton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

When they opened the front door to our Villa we both just laughed and said WOW. What a view, you could not find a better one. Sea, Sky and a little beach cove jutting out.

On our first night we sat in the hot tub for an hour and just kept saying how lucky we were to have found this Villa.

The villa was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was as good as any retreat resort would offer.

Dean organised anything we wanted and the breakfast we were provided just kick started the day perfectly.

You cannot go wrong here, just book it and enjoy. I doubt if any of the 5 star retreats will offer anything more except more cost. We spent a day in a hired jeep looking at the 5 star resorts beaches and can tell you that you wont find a better location than here.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Samui hotels
0.8 mi away
The Tongsai Bay
The Tongsai Bay
#5 of 185 in Bophut
1,932 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melati Beach Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Code
Code
#2 of 30 in Mae Nam
1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.8 mi away
InterContinental Samui Baan Taling Ngam Resort
10.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
11.2 mi away
Nikki Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongson Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongson Villas

Address: Plai Laem soi 7 | Choeng Mon Beach, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #193 of 466 Specialty Lodging in Ko Samui
Price Range: $101 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tongson Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongson Villas is your most affordable 4 bedroom property in a secluded location from the crowds but only steps away from some of samuis finest beachs we have 2 individual villas within the property for a safe and secure holiday experience our private jacuzzi villa is perfect for a honeymoon stay or just a couple while large groups/family[up to 10] can rent the complete 4 bedroom package our property is in a sought after location between 6 senses resort and spa and Melati spa minutes away from 3 of samuis finest beachs Tongson villas can cater for all your holiday needs with a private pool and well stocked bar , you Koh Samui holiday starts here . Relaxing in the private spa tub jacuzzi with a glass of champagne and ordering in some fabulous food seems to be our guests favorite past time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Orbitz so you can book your Tongson Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing